We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel! A real gem!”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #89 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about this rather special hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are gorgeous. The location was perfect for us. We would wander through Central PArk before hitting 5th Avenue. The only thing to watch is the price of food and drinks; although the bar does have an excellent atmosphere every day of the week!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were elated to hear that our exceptional level of intuitive and customized service to tastefully appointed guest accommodation to our prime location exceeded your expectations and resulted in an extraordinary experience.

We concur that the contemporary libations at Bar Pleiades make for a most enjoyable start to any night out on the town and it is a favorite amongst our guests and the local community.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,281 - 1,287 of 1,916 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

To begin The Surrey has an excellent location. It's within walking distance to the Metropolitan Mluseum, Guggenheim and other 5th Ave. museums. Around the corner, on Madison Ave. the 3 Guys diner offers a resonable alternative to the upscale Cafe Bouloud located within the hotel. Many other dining choices abound either on Madison Ave. or nearby side streets. If arriving by auto (like I did) check in can be a challenge because town cars often block the hotel's entrance. I was able to pull in at a hydrant accross the street and the doorman provided excellent service by quickly coming over to take charge of my car and bags. My welcome at the check in desk was equally prompt and warm. Our room was large. I especially liked the double sinks in the bathroom. The towels were thick and the hot water endless. I found the shower to be of hurricane force and there was no way to adjust this. All our needs, such as a request for ice, were promptly answered. Likewise when it was time to check out a bellman appeared quickly. Our bill was calculated without error and checkout was easily done. A sore point the the charge for WiFi. In this day and age this is just an outrage. On the other hand we got a freeee NY Times each day. A plus for the room was its two comfy easy chairs. The large work desk with its comfortable easy chair was also a plus. The bed was comfortable too.

Room Tip: You may find it quieter to be on a high floor facing away from Madison Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickF59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent visit with us.

We were pleased to learn that our prime location, tastefully appointed and spacious guest accommodations, along with our custom designed double vanity and sumptuous terry surpassed your expectations. We were especially delighted that our team members were so successful in making you feel warm and welcome.

Rest assured we will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we periodically review our pricing strategy for internet services.

We thank you for your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night as our planned hotel had issues after the recent hurricane. Arrived having just made the booking, of which the reception staff had no knowledge but that was no problem. Made to feel welcome, especially nice since we arrived in the middle of the snow falling courtesy of the nor'easter passing through the area.

We stayed in room 513, which was a corner room at the back of the hotel. No issues in relation to the ongoing outside renovations. Bed was very large and very comfortable but the room and bathroom were quite small but probably quite standard in NYC.

Spent the evening in the bar, which was very cosy and good, attentive service.

Although just a block away from Central park and the 'Museum Mile' on Fifth Avenue, it is quite a distance to the other attractions of NYC. There are plenty of decent shopping nearby as well as coffee shops and restaurants.

Only minor issue with room is that there were scuff marks on the desk, making it a bit scruffy and not what I would have expected in this standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

While arrival was great and most (not all) employees friendly, there are a few comments that warrant mentioning:

At $500+ per night, they should not be nickel and diming guests with $15 per day to access the Internet. Further $6 for a cup of coffee downstairs (even take out) is ridiculous! They should have given it to me for free. The armoire that houses the TV looks like it belongs in my grandmothers house and the light with fabric draped over it reminds me of the Addams Family. HVAC controls left much to be desired. Finally water pressure in the shower is wasteful. While I enjoy high pressure, this was probably 8GPM and hugely wasteful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bostontraveler710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments on your warm and welcoming arrival experience.

We understand that design can be very personal to each individual’s taste. Ms. Lauren Rottet, our interior designer was inspired by The Surrey’s authentic bone structure and it’s being a part of the tapestry of the Upper East Side. She designed the hotel for the neighborhood, like a residential townhouse passed down from generation to generation and layered her vision with a modern perspective.

We sincerely apologize that you were not properly informed in respect to our lobby coffee service as we serve complimentary coffee and tea daily in the lobby from 5:30am – 8:30am.

I would welcome any additional feedback that you may have on our temperature controls so I may share with Mr Dave Stewart, our Director of Engineering. We continue to receive high praise for our water pressure and will monitor should guest comments should this trend not continue.

Rest assured we will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we periodically review our pricing strategy for internet services.

Kindly please call me personally at 646.358.3605 as I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith and confidence in us and have you return to The Surrey. I look forward to hearing from you and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Go to the Surrey!... On the upper east side, everything about this boutique hotel hits the nail on the head, from the warm reception by the doorman, to the cool place-to-hang bar..but especially the rooms. They are a great size for a few days stay in NY. They have a wonderful separate sitting area and the beds are as good as they get: down pillows, yummy comforter and pillows, and luxurious sheets. The location can't be beat : for Museums-The Whitney is around the corner and the Met an easy walk. Take a stroll in Central Park-also within walking distance, or go shopping on Madison. One of my favorite places is Morgane Le Fey, and Vince, right across the street. One can buy anything at Zitomars, and Clydes! This Hotel underwent a renovation a few years back and is the perfect place to stay in NY. We've stayed at lots of places over the years but this is the one we keep going back to! Ask for a high floor to get some fun views!

Room Tip: Higher floor=better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbsalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us and for the recognition of being a “your favorite hotel in New York City”.

We were delighted that our prime location and spacious guest accommodations exceeded your expectations and our custom Duxiana bedding and Sferra linens provided you with a luxurious sleep experience.

We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Service great ....ambience perfect ....yes it is expensive but worth every cent !! Michael who was the afternoon / night concierge was fantastic ...sent us to 5 different restaurants in location & style & was spot on 5 times out of 5. Location was great close to Central Park & upper East Side with all of it's attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our tranquil ambience and personalized service to our close proximity to Central Park, Museum Mile and the famed shopping on Madison Avenue.

We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of intuitive and personalized service and I am proud to learn that our team members, especially Michael Cerrato, Concierge were so successful in making your experience most memorable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel is beautifully appointed, warm and welcoming. But its other little charm was the roof terrace. Elegant, relatively small and quiet, with beautiful views of the city skyline. Last summer, during our stay at The Surrey, we spent a couple of evenings on the terrace sipping wine and cocktails and toasting to yet another beautiful New York sunset. We met a lovely local couple there too, nice to know it is appreciated locally as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank himmeldunst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations.

Our Roof Garden is reminiscent of an English garden and we were delighted that you were able to enjoy the breathtaking views seen from this private sanctuary. I was proud that you were most impressed with our exceptional level of gracious and intuitive service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#32 of 470 in New York City
758 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#300 of 470 in New York City
815 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#35 of 470 in New York City
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#197 of 470 in New York City
702 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £300 - £736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing