We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, beautiful rooms, great food”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #92 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband booked us a room for our first anniversary, and the service was incomparable. He had to change our plans several times because our plane was late and we had to adjust the details of our trip, and the staff was responsive, friendly, and handled our requests and changes perfectly. I hate to gush, but this was the nicest hotel experience I've had.

When we arrived, our room was ready with the bouquet of flowers and fresh snacks my husband requested- along with a complimentary bottle of champagne. When we returned from our night on the town, the carpet with strewn with white rose petals in the shape of a heart, and another heart was arranged on the table, and the lights were dimmed with romantic music playing.

We got in too late to dine at the restaurant and ordered room service for both dinner and breakfast. Both were delicious. Every single staff member we had contact with was friendly and professional. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in at a hotel, and the bathroom was spacious and sparkling clean with a huge mirror and large glass-enclosed shower.

I usually don't like "modern" decor, but the rooms were appointed very tastefully, with a bit of a nostalgic deco feel and soft muted shades. I certainly hope to return for my second anniversary- I couldn't name a single aspect of the hotel I would improve upon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PrefersWindowSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and are honored you shared such a momentous occasion with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations with our responsive service prior to your arrival, the bottle of champagne and rose petal arrangement for your anniversary, and our tastefully appointed accommodations. We concur that the award-winning dining at Café Boulud makes for a most remarkable gastronomic experience, often even more delectable when enjoyed in the privacy of your guest accommodation.

We pride ourselves on intuitive and personalized service, and I am proud to learn that we were successful in making your celebration a memorable evening.

We hope to welcome you back for your next anniversary, making it a yearly tradition. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

We have stayed at the Surrey multiple times this year. The service is exceptional! The staff go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and every need is met. When travelling with an elderly relative a wheelchair was available to assist in her getting around. We love the corner rooms with a view of Central Park & 76th/Madison. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Corner room facing (west) Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful for your glowing recognition of exceptional service.

We were delighted that we exceeded your expectations with our thoughtful and genuine service. We pride ourselves on ensuring every guest's stay is tailored to their specific needs and preferences, and we appreciate your acknowledgement of our colleagues' intuition and foresight. Thank you also for your high recommendation of our guest accommodations overlooking Central Park; they do provide stunning vistas, especially at sunset.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at The Surrey and sincerely appreciate your continued patronage. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I booked 4 rooms at The Surrey for a family excursion to NYC & couldn't have been more pleased with the choice. The staff is delightful, charming, warm & gracious from reception to housekeeping to the room service staff. Management deserves kudos for hiring carefully & then taking the time to train their employees in customer service hospitality.

The location for me is ideal. I want quiet New York. The hubbub of Times Sq/Midtown is exciting the first time you experience it. After that it is just gives you a headache. I love the proximity to the Park and all the museums; perfect for quiet strolls and shopping along Madison, Park & Lexington.

Rooms are beautifully appointed & well maintained. Not everyone will have a great view so if this is an important consideration you should mention it when booking. Beds & bedding are excellent. Good lighting throughout, & layout of room was thoughtfully executed. Good work design team!

Two things I didn't like: The Internet access fee & the unadjustable rainfall shower head. I know they're trendy but I find them silly. Luckily there was a good hand held spray to mitigate my irritation.

My family thoroughly enjoyed their time here also which, of course, made me very happy. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pookala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stay at the Surrey quite often..once every few months.. They allow our French Bulldog actually with open arms.. it is very close to Central Park, which the family enjoys, especially Tito(the dog).. We were met by Rocky who is exceptionally warm and welcoming.. Check in was great but the suite I thought we had booked was somehow not available.. we were given a room which was not appropriate for our needs.. but in true Surrey form there is a knight in shiny armor to help.. in this case, Carlos Arenas, found the perfect room, our favorite (1509) .. i would love to thank the staff for all their attention.. really if I could live there i would.. stay there you will love it..

Room Tip: the upper floors are quieter... they are doing work to the building but that did not affect us at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dstiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Everything about the Surrey Hotel was top-notch! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we felt pampered. Located on a residential street, the Surrey has a luxurious boutique atmosphere. The room was very well appointed with an amoire, window seat, deluxe linens, and a wonderfully comfortable bed. The bathroom was quite nice with marble countertops and floor. The shower was especially amazing with plenty of hot water and pressure. After a day of walking, it was a most welcome luxury. To a person, the staff of the hotel was friendly and accommodating. We were always cheerfully greeted by everyone, and made to feel at home in their beautiful hotel. Housekeeping checked in with us in the late afternoon to see if we wanted turn-down service or water. The doormen were especially helpful in getting cabs to go into Times Square. Central Park is a block away, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art is a 5 minute walk. We appreciated the residential neighborhood, and it was an easy trip by cab or subway to wherever we wanted to go. Everything at the Surrey was perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Upscale rooms with a nice restaurant and bar. This hotel is close to shopping and sites. Beds are very comfortable and showers were great. Would definitely stay here again. The concierge was very helpful and the hotel limo took us to our restaurant reservations without asking! People remember your name here and the door men are very helpful also by loaning umbrellas and getting you a taxi if you need it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about this rather special hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are gorgeous. The location was perfect for us. We would wander through Central PArk before hitting 5th Avenue. The only thing to watch is the price of food and drinks; although the bar does have an excellent atmosphere every day of the week!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were elated to hear that our exceptional level of intuitive and customized service to tastefully appointed guest accommodation to our prime location exceeded your expectations and resulted in an extraordinary experience.

We concur that the contemporary libations at Bar Pleiades make for a most enjoyable start to any night out on the town and it is a favorite amongst our guests and the local community.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#61 of 471 in New York City
775 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#295 of 471 in New York City
826 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#38 of 471 in New York City
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#205 of 471 in New York City
712 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 471 in New York City
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £285 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926 as a residence hotel, the original Surrey was home to many of New York's most eccentric celebrities. JFK, Bette Davis, Claudette Colbert, and other famous faces who recognized the allure of exceptional, discreet service. In re-creating The Surrey, we collaborated with acclaimed interior designer Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio—to maintain the integrity of The Surrey’s history while modernizing New York's most intimate address. Rottet's inspiration was a New York City townhouse passed down through the generations. The Surrey is New York City’s only Relais & Chateaux boutique hotel, where discreet service allows guests to retreat from the public—and keep a low profile in an otherwise high profile lifestyle. The Surrey is a residential haven and luxury Upper East Side hotel getaway where guests access and revel in what makes New York City special—without compromising calm personal space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing