We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service, Room, and Location”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #72 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa Bay, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service, Room, and Location”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Fantastic hotel. I was there on business the third week of January, and was delighted with both the room and the service. Everyone was extremely friendly, and the facility itself was great. Will certainly return many more times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crooow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations and that the genuine, caring and personalized service provided by our entire team exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    286
    102
    43
    35
See reviews for
370
829
124
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent two nights here. I wish we had stayed longer. I like how The Surrey is discreet and unassuming, and yet quietly elegant. The staff were on hand at all times, and so professional and helpful. I love the location on the Upper East Side, a short walk from all the shops, and less than a block from Central Park. Our room, too, was lovely, and I really appreciated the bottled water we were offered every day. So many hotels do not offer this little necessity. I do believe however that WIFI should be free at 5-star hotels and do not understand how this basic necessity is not as prevalent here as it is in Europe. I highly recommend dinner at Bar Boulud in the Hotel. Excellent service there as well and the food was outstanding and good value. Breakfast was okay, but not worth just under $100 (not including tip). I feel this is overpriced for 2 hotel guests having 3 coffees between the two of them, eggs, toast and 2 fresh squeezed juices. Still, I highly recommend it because the staff and accommodation were exemplary.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrengirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that our discreet and unassuming elegance exceeded your expectations and that you felt at home while at The Surrey.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location just steps from Central Park with close proximity to famed Madison Avenue shopping.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine, personalized and intuitive service delivery and I am so pleased to hear that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your dinner in Michelin Starred Café Boulud. Depsite this, I would like to extend my most sincere apologies that breakfast did not provide you with the same experience. I have shared your feedback with Mr Gavin Kaysen, Culinary Director and Mr Dominique Paulin, General Manager and we will take your feedback into consideration as we periodically audit our pricing.

I am also disappointed to learn that our wireless internet fees caused an inconvenience for you. Please know that we offer complimentary wireless Internet in our lobby and our pricing is in keeping with the other luxury properties of the Upper East Side.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
216 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here the weekend before Christmas and thought it was a pretty nice hotel. The rooms were spacious for New York standards. Bed was comfortable, good layout. The location was okay, but for us, probably wasn't the best. Upper East Side not really the best place if you are looking for really great restaurants or a place to grab a drink, which is primarily what we do on vacation. Overall it's a nice hotel, but probably won't go back here simply because it's just a little too removed from the areas we enjoy most.

Room Tip: Internet was additional, somewhere around $15 a day. As with anything in NYC, incidentals are expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAZBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback from your recent experience with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the layout of The Surrey as well as our spacious guest accommodations featuring custom Duxiana bedding.

I am, however, disappointed to learn that our tranquil Upper East Side location was not convenient for your vacation to New York City. Rest assured that our neighborhood boasts many world-renowned restaurants and bars and our award winning Les Clefs D’Or Concierge team is always available to personally assist with recommendations and arrangements for the activities you most enjoy while on vacation.

Please feel free to contact me directly at 646.358.3605 the next time your travels bring you to New York and it will be my pleasure to personally assist in arranging your accommodations and curating a list of our favorite dining and bar options for you.

We most sincerely hope to welcome you back to The Surrey soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nice hotel, just do not think it is up to 5 star standards. Bar Pleides has arrogant bartenders and terrible table service. Had to wait for a server and then for our drinks. Bartender (called himself a mixologist) was ridiculous -- talking about his craft! Pouring gin over ice is not a craft! It's your job, so could you please do it without the attitude??

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs. Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such candid feedback from your recent experience at The Surrey.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the less than gracious service you experienced in Bar Pleiades. We pride ourselves on the caring and personalized service provided by our team members and I am most sincerely disappointed that your experience fell short of our standards.

Rest assured that your feedback has been taken in the spirit intended and I have shared your comments with Mr Gavin Kaysen, Culinary Director, and Mr Dominique Paulin, General Manager, in hopes of preventing future such occurrences.

We would love the opportunity to restore your trust and faith in us. Please feel free to call on me at 646.358.3605 should you wish to further discuss your recent experience.
In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

When the Surrey could not accommodate my request for a room with two queen beds upon checkin with my husband and 21 year old daughter they happily gave us an upgrade to a one bedroom suite and a connecting room. We were delighted to spend four nights in our "apartment" on the Upper East Side. The rooms were comfortable - especially the Duxiana beds - and the bathrooms were gorgeous. The bar (Pleiades) and restaurants downstairs (Cafe Boulud) are both wonderful. Overall, a lovely, calm respite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am truly delighted that you and your family were comfortable in a two-bedroom suite and that our custom Duxiana bedding exceeded your expectations.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location, which truly is a calm respite within New York City.

I concur that Coco Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades and Michelin starred Café Boulud are two of our most coveted attributes.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom ultra suite at The Surrey this past weekend and had an overall perfect experience. From check-in to checkout, everybody we came in contact with was helpful, kind and professional. The rooms were beautiful and the bathrooms were big, updated and beautiful. We had room service, used the concierge and valet parking - all were spot on. The location is great if you want to be near high-end shopping, lots of restaurants and a quick cab ride to anywhere you want to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high-up - we were on the 8th floor and there was some street noise - to be expected i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such gracious feedback from your recent experience with us.

I am delighted that our idyllic Upper East Side location was convenient for you with close proximity to famed Madison Avenue shopping and world-renowned restaurants.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm, gracious and personalized service delivery and I am so happy to learn that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.

I am thrilled that we furthermore exceeded your expectations in so many ways from our spacious suite accommodations and valet parking to the services provided by our wonderful Concierge team and In-Room Dining provided by Café Boulud.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harkness
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at the Surrey on Friday, Jan. 10 2014. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful, comfortable and inviting. Of course it's a bit expensive but I'm willing to pay for a nice room while in New York. The only negative about this hotel is the spa. WAY, WAY overpriced for what I considered to be mediocre services. The staff at the spa, again, were very helpful and nice but the actual services I had were nothing special. Would not go back to the spa. I ordered breakfast into my room on Sat. morning and that was quite expensive as well but very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank climbhigh420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your experience at The Surrey.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations from the warm and gracious service provided by our team members to the In-Room Dining breakfast provided by Café Boulud.

I am truly disappointed to learn that your experience in Cornelia Spa was not in sync with the service levels we provide ourselves on. Please know that your feedback has been taken in the spirit intended and I have shared your feedback with Ms Magdaleena Nikolov, Spa Director, in hopes of preventing future such occurrences.

Please feel free to call on me directly at 646.358.3605 as we would love the opportunity to restore your faith and trust in us and Cornelia Spa.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#32 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#243 of 468 in New York City
769 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#235 of 468 in New York City
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#51 of 468 in New York City
1,432 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 468 in New York City
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing