We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exemplary service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exemplary service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I are spending two months in New York City traveling home on the weekends. We explored alternatives such as extended stay apartments and various hotels like the Mark and the Thompson. The staff at the Surrey make all the difference. They are professional, courteous and welcoming. The Hotel has everything-beautful appointments,great art,great rooms.,wonderful bar and restaurant. Instead of moving around we opted to spend the eight weeks at the Surrey and have been rewarded with upgrades when possible,wine and cookies at times but overall a personal and warm welcome. I highly recommend the hotel and have to friends,family and colleagues. The location is great but it is the staff that is exceptional from the front desk to the sales people and of course the bellmen. John and Kim Dingess

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Dingess,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback from your recent stays with us.

We pride ourselves on the personalized, caring and intuitive service delivery provided by our team members and I am thrilled that we continue to achieve this with you. Thank you especially for recognizing the Front Office, Bellmen and Sales teams for the exceptional service they have extended to you.

I am truly delighted that we continue to exceed your expectations from our spacious guest accommodations and inspiring Lauren Rottet design to our collection of art work.

I concur that the culinary delights of Michelin starred Café Boulud and the innovative libations in Coco Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades are truly exemplary.

We look forward to your continued time with us and I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to meet in person on one of your future stays.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    282
    99
    43
    33
See reviews for
367
820
121
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Love -- never staying anywhere else. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location (right near Madison Ave. shopping and Central Park). Got to give it to the staff, though: They're the real game-changers. They are professional, knowledgeable, attentive, delightful people. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ms. Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your recent stay at The Surrey. We are sincerely honored to be your choice hotel in New York City.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyll Upper East Side location steps from Central Park with close proximity to famed Madison Avenue shopping.

Thank you especially for recognizing the warm, genuine and caring service provided by our team members. I have shared your feedback with our entire team who were thrilled by your most gracious praises.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Surrey is a boutique hotel in a first class location. The rooms are very large for New York. One block from Central Park and 100m form the cafes, restaurants and designer shops on Madison Avenue. The bar was excellent and reasonably priced considering the location. There are several diners close by for breakfast. We felt like we 'lived' in New York rather than being tourists. A much more relaxing and enjoyable stay than busy mid town and Times Square area.
Highly recommend this for fussy travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidiWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to learn that you felt home away from home in New York and enjoyed a most relaxing stay.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park, world renowned restaurants and famed Madison Avenue shopping.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Surrey is a very welcoming place. My room was spacious, well appointed and had gorgeous views on Madison and 76th. Even if the decoration might be trying a bit too hard, this is a place where one can relax, work equally well. A stone's throw from the Park, Museums, great shopping.
One note: booze is readily available in the rooms, thanks; but one would appreciate the possibility of making hot water and brewing a cuppa, too!
The personnel is most helpful, courteous without being obsequious - kudos to Brian, Rocky and Koko!
Breakfast at Boulud is superlative: the best omelette I have had in a long time.
I would definitely recommend this place for your stay in New York!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am truly delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location, steps from Central Park with close proximity to museum mile and famed Madison Avenue shopping.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm, personalized and intuitive service delivery and I am thrilled that our entire team, most notably Mr Brian Conboy, Mr Rocky Marmara and Mr Koko Latt, our wonderful Doormen, were so successful in achieving this with you.

I concur that breakfast in Michelin star Café Bould is one of our most special attributes and the omelets are indeed exceptional.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations and that the views of Madison Avenue exceeded your expectations. We are pleased to offer our guests an extensive honor bar and also offer an in-room cocktail program where a Surrey mixologist will bring all the accoutrements required for four to five perfect drinks and prepare them for you.

It is our pleasure to provide Nespresso machines for our guests upon request. Please feel free to call on me at 646.358.3605 so we may update your profile with this preference.

We truly thank you for your continued advocacy of The Surrey and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Staying at The Surrey was such a pleasure. I was in town for an award show and Rachel Leyland and the rest of the hotel staff made me feel so special and taken care of. She was beyond thoughtful and sent us daily notes and treats, making sure we were enjoying our stay. The hotel was beautiful -- very modern and cool for the Upper East Side. And the service was the best I've ever had. I've stayed in a lot of New York hotels and I will absolutely come back to The Surrey on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback from your experience at The Surrey. We are truly humbled to be considered the best hotel in NYC.

We pride ourselves on the personalized and intuitive service provided by our entire team. Thank you especially for recognizing Ms Rachel Leyland, Guest Relations Manager, for the exceptional service extended to you. I have shared your feedback with our entire team who were thrilled by your high praises.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our inspiring Lauren Rottet design as I concur it is one of our most special features.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio De Janeiro-brazil
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

A beautiful hotel, friendly staff, excellent location, good prices.
You feel appreciated and cared for, and I did not take my dogs, but many guests did, it was lovely to see them so well treated and happy.
I recommend it for your stay in NYC.
And ALS

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Catarina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our idyllic Upper East Side location and inspiring Lauren Rottet design to the personalized and intuitive service delivery provided by our team members.

We are proud to offer the Posh Pets Program providing special amenities and services for our four-legged guests.

We thank you for your advocacy of The Surrey and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I've stayed at The Surrey for 6 nights during my recent visit to New York, first time during the winter. The hotel is absolutely amazing. The room are big and very well appointed. The hotel's decor is very modern, very New York! The staff is wonderful and the location on the upper east side is fantastic, right off Madison avenue, 5th avenue and central park. The hotel provides a calm heaven in the city. Café Boulud is amazing, serving delicious food for breakfast and dinner. My compliments to the Chef and all the staff, they really do a very good job. Room service also from Cafe Boulud is very amazing. The staff does all they can to accommodate our every wishes. It was an amazing stay and I will definitely be back very soon! Congratulations to all!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Cabecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your recent six night stay with us. We are truly humbled to be referred to as the best hotel in New York City.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized and intuitive service delivery and I am so pleased to learn that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations and inspiring Lauren Rottet design.

I concur that culinary delights by Michelin starred Café Boulud, both in the restaurant and through In-Room Dining, are exceptional.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing