We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite Hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I just returned from NYC and couldn't be happier about my stay at The Surrey. Everything from it's perfect location, friendly staff, impeccable service, sublime food, fabulous room, and their uber dog friendly policy has officially made this my hotel of choice. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ms. Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most gracious praises from your recent stay at The Surrey. We are truly honored to have become your choice hotel in New York City.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations in so many ways from our idyllic Upper East Side location to our warm, genuine and friendly service provided by our team members.

I concur that the culinary delights from Michelin starred Café Boulud are sublime.

We are proud to offer our Posh Pets Program providing special amenities for our four-legged guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,356
    281
    99
    43
    33
See reviews for
367
819
121
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

No doorman on arrival. No offer with luggage to room. Do not like this hotel. The food was fairly good. Never stay there again!!!
Not very welcoming for such a high priced hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback from your recent stay with us.

I would like to personally extend my most heartfelt apologies for the service lapses you experienced and I am truly disappointed that we fell short with your arrival experience. Rest assured this is not indicative of the service levels we pride ourselves on.

I attempted to contact you via the phone this afternoon and would welcome the opportunity to speak personally with you.

Please feel free to call on me at 646.358.3605 as I hope to further discuss your experience to restore your faith and trust in us.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great place to stay while you're in NYC! It's a respite of peace and beauty with wonderful staff to make you feel at home. The beds are so comfy and the bathroom facilities were lovely and ideal. I've found my home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ms. Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback from your recent stay with us. We are truly honored that you felt at home whist at The Surrey.

I am so delighted that you enjoyed our custom Duxiana bedding and that our bathrooms featuring oversized glass enclosed showers, Italian Carrara marble and Mitchell and Peach amenities exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on the personalized and intuitive service provided by our team members and I am thrilled to learn that we achieved this with you.

I concur that The Surrey provides a therapeutic and intimate respite in New York City.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is very well located, close to the major museums and Central Park. It has very courteous and helpful staff, and is very quiet. The facilities are impeccable. It is a splendid oasis in the middle of New York City.

Room Tip: We had an excellent room on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarelCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback from your recent stay at The Surrey. We are honored to be considered a splendid oasis in New York City.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location just steps from Central Park with close proximity to famed Madison Avenue shopping and museum mile.

We are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations from our inspiring Lauren Rottet design to the warm, genuine and caring service provided by our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I are spending two months in New York City traveling home on the weekends. We explored alternatives such as extended stay apartments and various hotels like the Mark and the Thompson. The staff at the Surrey make all the difference. They are professional, courteous and welcoming. The Hotel has everything-beautful appointments,great art,great rooms.,wonderful bar and restaurant. Instead of moving around we opted to spend the eight weeks at the Surrey and have been rewarded with upgrades when possible,wine and cookies at times but overall a personal and warm welcome. I highly recommend the hotel and have to friends,family and colleagues. The location is great but it is the staff that is exceptional from the front desk to the sales people and of course the bellmen. John and Kim Dingess

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Dingess,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback from your recent stays with us.

We pride ourselves on the personalized, caring and intuitive service delivery provided by our team members and I am thrilled that we continue to achieve this with you. Thank you especially for recognizing the Front Office, Bellmen and Sales teams for the exceptional service they have extended to you.

I am truly delighted that we continue to exceed your expectations from our spacious guest accommodations and inspiring Lauren Rottet design to our collection of art work.

I concur that the culinary delights of Michelin starred Café Boulud and the innovative libations in Coco Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades are truly exemplary.

We look forward to your continued time with us and I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to meet in person on one of your future stays.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Love -- never staying anywhere else. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location (right near Madison Ave. shopping and Central Park). Got to give it to the staff, though: They're the real game-changers. They are professional, knowledgeable, attentive, delightful people. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ms. Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your recent stay at The Surrey. We are sincerely honored to be your choice hotel in New York City.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyll Upper East Side location steps from Central Park with close proximity to famed Madison Avenue shopping.

Thank you especially for recognizing the warm, genuine and caring service provided by our team members. I have shared your feedback with our entire team who were thrilled by your most gracious praises.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Surrey is a boutique hotel in a first class location. The rooms are very large for New York. One block from Central Park and 100m form the cafes, restaurants and designer shops on Madison Avenue. The bar was excellent and reasonably priced considering the location. There are several diners close by for breakfast. We felt like we 'lived' in New York rather than being tourists. A much more relaxing and enjoyable stay than busy mid town and Times Square area.
Highly recommend this for fussy travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidiWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to learn that you felt home away from home in New York and enjoyed a most relaxing stay.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park, world renowned restaurants and famed Madison Avenue shopping.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#239 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing