We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC's friendliest doormen ...”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NYC's friendliest doormen ...”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

... you find them at The Surrey on the Upper East Side. They are very patient and kind. Especially Brian & Rocky. I can only recommend you to stay in this wonderful hotel where I've now stayed two times.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Maria M,

Thank you for taking the time to share such generous feedback on TripAdvisor.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized, intuitive and gracious service delivery and I am thrilled that our entire team, most notably Mr Brian Conboy and Mr Rocky Marmara, our wonderful Doormen for the exceptional service they extended to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    285
    100
    43
    34
See reviews for
369
824
122
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Have stayed many times in this hotel, and last two trips service has definitely declined. Room service tray left for two days, cottonbuds not replaced, staff not coming when asked to pick up clothes for ironing, lost laundry are just some of the stuff that happened on my last trip. It is a bit of "Fawlty Towers" over this hotel, yet staff are charming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ms. Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ms. Anna B,

Thank you for sharing such candid feedback from your recent stays with us.

I was truly disappointed to learn that we feel short in exceeding your expectations in so many regards and I would like to extend my most heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences we caused to you. Rest assured that your experience is not in keeping with the service levels we pride ourselves on.

Please feel free to call on me at 646.358.3609 as we would love the opportunity to restore your faith and trust in us.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Beautiful accommodation, one of the best hotels we have stayed in, the hotel was so stunning we were impressed by every aspect of the design. We stayed here for our anniversary and we're upgraded to a suite and given a complimentary bottle of champagne which made our stay even better. Highly recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James 88 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear James 88 C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are honored to have been part of your special anniversary celebration.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations and that our inspiring Lauren Rottet design exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our 3 night stay at The Surrey was wonderful. The service was impeccable, the room was totally luxurious (especially the bed) and the rooftop patio bar provides the most incredible view of the NYC skyline glowing in the evening sunset. The Surrey manages to be both quaint (small enough that maneuvering around the hotel is easy - no wait for elevators, service is speedy, etc) and yet has an elegant, modern feel in all of the common areas and the rooms.
The biggest selling point for me is that the hotel is quiet (which is tough to find in NYC) and conveniently located just 1/2 block from Central Park and about 3 blocks from the subway. We were able to walk or take the subway every where.
Two nice extra touches that I was not expecting were courtesy umbrellas that were provided to us as we set out for dinner on a somewhat rainy evening (thanks to the very attentive doormen) and the availability of bottled which was provided each night during turn-down service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Julie V,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent three night stay with us.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations in so many regards from our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park and New York City’s transportation resources to our custom Duxiana bedding and personalized service provided by our team members.

I concur that our Private Roof Garden is one of our most special attributes and that the views are truly breathtaking.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here one rainy weekend in April. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and were very quick to offer an umbrella to brave the weather. The design of the rooms and the lobby are very elegant and I enjoyed our stay. Beware of the showers in the rooms - as they are so strong it nearly took a layer of skin off. Other than that we very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Tell them it is your first time in the hotel and they might upgrade you. This did this for the coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vancouver_Girl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Vancouver_Girl82,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our inspiring Lauren Rottet design and that the personalized and intuitive service provided by our team members exceeded your expectations.

I would like to extend my most sincere apologies that you did not enjoy our oversized glass enclosed showers on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the step out off the cab we received excellent service. Staff was always pleasant, eager and attentive. Room was charming and comfortable. Restaurant and bar were also top notch. Location was quiet yet could walk to many attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs. Sally Joan... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such gracious feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location and that our spacious guest accommodations exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm, caring and gracious service delivery and I am thrilled that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.

I concur that Coco Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades and Michelin starred Café Boulud are our most special attributes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

a great bed and a great shower and not having to go anywhere to get a great meal sure sounds like home to me. add that comings and goings are managed with a smile and an offer to help (with the ability to back it up) and you've got a great recipe for a great place to stay. the concierges staff stays on top of thier game and the doormen are the best we've ever had in the city. and don't forget that you're less than a block away from being able to walk around the best parts of central park, and short walks to most of the best museums in the city. our third trip to the surrey only confirmed for us that they get what it takes to keep us coming back, and we're doing just that in another month.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr. And Mrs. Er... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback from your recent stays with us. I am honored that you have become a fan of The Surrey.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park and Museum Mile and that our custom Duxiana bedding and oversized glass enclosed showers exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on the personalized and intuitive service delivery provided by our team members and I would like to thank you especially for recognizing our wonderful Concierge and Doormen for the exceptional service they extended to you.

We sincerely thank you for your continued patronage and advocacy for The Surrey and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing