We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a layover back from Paris the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was restful and relaxing! The breakfast at Bouloud was fantastic. All around it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrmrs Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    279
    95
    42
    31
See reviews for
362
810
119
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great Hotel in Upper East side (quiet area) very near to Central Park, Guggenheim & other museums, However, this by default means you are somewhat away from the centre of things and can't drop off all those shopping bags without lots of cab fares. Rooms very well appointed with comfortable beds. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Fabulous roof top bar (when you can get up there as it's only open from 5pm, or when Emma Watson hasn't privately hired it!!), and equally nice indoor bar. Only criticism is you can't get a coffee easily, as the cafe/restaurant closes after breakfast, and the bar doesn't open until 12, so you will have to find a drink somewhere else. We were advised that room service was available, but I don't want to sit in my room!
Overall a very good boutique hotel, and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The bathroom has two sinks and lots of room!! Beautiful hotel and you must go up to the rooftop and enjoy the view! Will be staying here again! The views from the rooms are beautiful and so close to Central Park. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is the most wonderful place, just a few steps away from Central Park, best area, rooms are amazing including view. Staff is extremely professional and helpful, will be back soon !!!
Karin Germany

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamousStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear FamousStyle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am thrilled that you enjoying our spacious guest accommodations and breathtaking views.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized, genuine and intuitive service delivery and I am thrilled that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at the Surrey for New Year celebrations, very cool hotel with very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us including getting tickets for a Broadway show, which was sold out. Bedrooms are excellent with lovely bathrooms also the bar was very relaxed but a bit pricy. The position of the hotel is great with Central Park at the end of the street and walking distance to the Met. Highly recommend this hotel and would return if travelling to New York

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Johnwhalley,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback from your stay with us. We are honored to have been part of your most memorable New Year’s Celebrations.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location just steps from Central Park and with convenient access to the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

I am thrilled that our team was able to exceed your expectations from the caring and gracious services extended by our Concierge to our spacious guest accommodations.

We truly appreciate your advocacy for The Surrey and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is THE place to stay. It's a little pricey and the staff aren't overly friendly, but sometimes you can find a "deal," and then it's worth every penny. It's elegant and understated (decor is black and white and the scent of the candles in the lobby is the same as the scent of the high-end toiletries in the rooms) and in an ideal location. It's one block from Central Park (near the boathouse) and in a very quiet, not-so-touristy neighborhood. And they allow dogs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guapagirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guapagirl17,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location just steps away from Central Park and that our spacious guest accommodations and inspiring Lauren Rottet design exceeded your expectations.

Thank you especially for highlighting the warm and gracious service extended to you by our entire team as I am so proud to learn that we were successful in curating a most enjoyable stay.

We are proud to offer the Posh Pets Program providing special amenities and services for our four-legged guests.

We are truly grateful for your continued advocacy of The Surrey and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If your looking for a nice Hotel uptown with extremely comfortable rooms these is the hotel. The rooms are great the service can improve, but not that whats there doesn't work. I would just like a little more option for room service and the bar to be open later. Even tho these is not an area where u find the 24 hour new york you still stay in a very nice place

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Alex M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you felt extremely comfortable in your home away from home.

Despite this highlight, I would like to extend my most heartfelt apologies that the service levels you experienced did not exceed your expectations. Your overall experience was truly not indicative of service levels we pride ourselves on. Rest assured your feedback has been taken in the spirit intended in hopes of preventing future such occurrences.

Please kindly know that our In-Room Dining provided by Michelin starred Café Boulud is available 24 hours.

I hope these events have not marred your overall impression of The Surrey and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing