We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend in the Big Apple!”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Wonderful weekend in the Big Apple!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Surrey is a 5-star hotel in every way. The staff is attentive, the rooms are elegant, and the service is outstanding! The beds are incredibly comfortable, the bathroom accessories are luxurious, and the decor is calming and restful. We enjoyed the rooftop garden, loved to walk to Central Park and Museum Mile. The Surrey is classy, quiet, understated, and refined--a lovely, romantic place to enjoy the Upper East Side and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    288
    102
    45
    36
See reviews for
374
833
125
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If I could move in here I would! The Surrey is a luxury hotel on the upper East Side, one block from Central Park with quick access to the major museums.
My family loved everything about this hotel from the professional staff to the great rooms. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter because of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aztraveler443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Aztraveler443,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback from your stay with us.

We are pleased that our idyllic Upper East Side with close proximity to Central Park and quick access to the major museums was convenient for you and your family.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized and intuitive service which is why we are especially delighted to learn that our team was successful at making you and your family feel comfortable in your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at The Surrey many times over, it's the reason I stay upper East when i'm in town. The size of rooms is what gets me there and the comfort of the beds. Never gets old. Really great. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank errikinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Errikinky,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback from your stay with us. We are honored to be a hotel you return to on the idyllic Upper East Side, when you come visit New York City.

We are pleased that our spacious guest accommodations and custom Duxiana bedding exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Absolutely loved The Surrey. We were pampered from the start- upgraded our room, sent us a bottle of Prosecco to celebrate our anniversary. All staff pleasant and accommodating. The room was plush and spacious. Loved it all but the rooftop bar is not to be missed. Such a special place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mrmrs Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have recommended the Surrey to a number of friends because we feel it offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel -- staff who recognize you, quiet hallways, upscale furnishings, with the amenities of a larger hotel -- exceptional restaurant, well-appointed gym, and a fantastic spa. I've never been so consistently pleased with a hotel's service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mgjl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is not a spot for the budget conscious, but those who really prefer the East Side of Manhattan, the elite fascination of Fifth Avenue and the parade of shops along Madison. It's a very nice place located on East 66th Street, or thereabouts. All the chic details of the moderne boutique hotel are here - luxury linens, English bath items, soothing but contemporary color combinations. It is not a big bustling place. But it is cordial, and sleek; the lobby is chic indeed.
The New York City sun reflects in a most fabulous, gilded way from the assorted balconies; the nearby Hotel Carlyle looks like a magic Deco monument just across the way at sunset.
For the timid walker, it is an ideal hub. You simply can't get TOO lost here, venturing to see Central Park or the residences where $5 million may get one a studio apartment. An interesting excursion for the cosmetics fan can be found at Clydes on Madison Apothocary and Pharmacy just a few blocks away. There's lots to look at on the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I highly recommend the Surrey Hotel. The hotel, restaurant are all first class. The location is close to Central Park with lots of high end shopping within walking distance. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Paul P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your gracious feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that our idyllic Upper East Side with close proximity to Central Park and famed Madison Avenue shopping was convenient and exciting for you.

We are also happy that you enjoyed the culinary delights offered at Michelin starred Café Boulud.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new home away from home and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 467 in New York City
719 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#255 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 467 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#65 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing