We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Surrey
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,977)
Filter reviews
1,977 results
Traveller rating
1,455
309
120
53
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,455
309
120
53
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe bouludupper east sidecentral parkbar pleiadesgrand deluxe salonrelais chateauxmadison avenuerooftop gardennew yorkmuseum mileroom servicein room diningluxury hotelfavorite hotelbottle of champagnewonderful hotelturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
861 - 866 of 1,977 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The location of The Surrey is perfect for access to some of the finest restaurants in the world. The neighborhood includes some of the finest shopping in New York where all the "beautiful people" are seen and like to be seen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MyTravel2D8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We had a great stay. Very friendly, efficient staff, especially at the roof top bar, which was a lovely place to sit in the evening as the temperature in the city was very hot during our stay. We had a lovely room and the bed had to be the most comfortable I have slept in at a hotel. All in all a great hotel, would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Blondie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Our late August 2014 trip to New York City included our four year old son. We chose The Surrey because of its proximity to the park, its complimentary night with a purchase of a suite, and the quiet neighborhood that surrounds the hotel. We were greeted by Opal at the front desk- and she was lovely to us all through the trip- giving suggestions and being especially kind to our son.

I expected a certain level of luxury at The Surrey, given the price point, reviews, and reputation. The room was lovely upon first inspection, but as we looked closely, there were some minor issues with housekeeping. First of all, there were stains on the sheets, the coasters for the wine glasses and mugs were stained and old looking. Also, we had been told that the linens were Pratesi, but indeed the only thing Pratesi was the worn looking robes in our bathroom. The sheets were rough. The down duvet in the bedroom was so heavy and hot- not appropriate for late August in the city. The temperature in the rooms was not ideal either- too hot no matter what in the bedroom and too cold in the living room...and housekeeping only gave us one thin blanket for the pull-out sofa bed.

We loved the rooftop, but the price for a lemonade ($14+) was enough to make sure we did not go back there again. We loved breakfast at Cafe Boulud, but again, a very pricey venture for every morning. Luckily, there are enough groceries locally so we could make our own breakfast for the remainder of our trip.

Our room was "park-facing", but really, it was facing some lovely apartment buildings that had a little of the Park's trees poking out around them. Though, it was very very quiet and a refuge from the noise city.

There was not much to show that this hotel was luxurious (an adjective that is thrown around a lot these days). Luxury to me means that the hotel can meet a guests needs before the guest knows the needs are there. The Surrey did not make sure of this for us.

Room Tip: Book online for the free wifi special- otherwise you will pay $16+ a day. High level rooms are quiet, of course, as are Central Park facing rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank orah24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This property is in a lovely neighborhood on the Upper East Side close to the Metropolitan and Central Park. The subway is a few blocks away or it's a short cab ride to Times Square. The AC works great here and the room noise level for a NYC hotel is low. Use of better soap product is about all I can say would have made for a nicer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We've stayed many places in the world and tried a number of hotels in New York City. This is a fantastic hotel that we'll now come back to over and over. Beautiful rooms, terrific roof garden, great staff who are very service oriented, excellent location on the Upper East Side. I can't think of one downside to it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jeffr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews