We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel- great service”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great hotel- great service”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This was our second stay at the Surrey and it exceeded all of our expectations. Our room was beyond great . We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was spacous and very romantic. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We loved the bar which was very intimate. Even though the rooftop bar was closed we still went up and enjoyed a great view of the city on a great clear night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great hotel in a top neighborhood.

EPR- MBR Little Silver, NJ

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epr306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 20 November 2010
Dear EPR306,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and for posting a comment.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am glad to see you enjoyed your experience and could even sneak up and relax in the garden. I hope you can come and stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you again and Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    292
    103
    47
    36
See reviews for
378
841
125
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I was nicely surprised by this hotel. I lived in Manhattan for 10 years and actually never heard of this hotel.

Location: great! Right off Madison avenue, my windows were facing the street and I found the room surprisingly quite. Close to midtown and all shopping, 1/2 block from the park.

Rooms: amazing. Very large, beautifully decorated, marble bathrooms, great interiors. I tried several hotels in NYC but this one is my favorite now.

Food: you have one of the best NYC restaurants in the hotel and plenty others to choose from around.

Service: amazing custome services. the concierge was FANTASTIC! I had to prod off a package and was asking where to find the closest UPS drop off box - there was none withing 10 blocks. Concierge INSISTED he takes care of it for me and he did! They checked me in for a flight, even double confirmed a gate and waited 15 mins outside with my luggage to catch me a taxi in a rush hour. Can't beat that for a busy biz traveler!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMLondon_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear MandMLondon_NewYork,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Surrey and thank you for posting your comments.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager.

I am very happy to read your observations and happy to know that we have exceeded your expectations. My team works very hard to provide the best in service. Although we are far from perfect, our staff is 100% focused on continually improving. Your feedback is a great motivator for us. I will gladly share with my team.

Please let us know when your travels bring you back to New York. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Thank you very much to the staff at the The Surrey. They made us feel very welcome and looked after. It was a great touch to be recognised coming down the street, as residents, and the door opened well in advance. The room was fantastic and the lighting system great for mood creation. The superior fittings furniture linens shower and overall style of the room made for a great refuge from the bustle of the city. Well done, all your hard work paid off for us.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeesideTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Dear Deesidetraveler,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and for posting your comments.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager.

I appreciate your comments on our service levels, we have an amazing staff and its great to see that they could create a memorable experience for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Surrey in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

But in this case, 95% is just too LOW!!! This business trip, my wife asked to accompany me to New York for her first trip ever to the Big Apple

So, thinking where would be a good location where she could walk, be close to museums and great dining, shopping etc....I went to Trip Advisor and found The Surrey...which also happens to be part of my favorite group of hotels .... Affinia. (normally, I stay at the Dumont when on business alone).

In the course of my reservation, I inserted a one line note that this trip would be my wife's first visit ever to NYC. WOW....did this hotel respond...and respond BIG. The upgraded room was AWESOME.....but the class of service from the front desk, to the bellman, concierge...and the lovely housekeeping staff is what really made this stay PERFECT. Then, the staff arranged for us to dine at the wonderful Cafe Boulud....and this food was a culinary delight!

Thank you so much to the ENTIRE SURREY STAFF - WE TRULY APPRECIATE THIS FINE AND AMAZING SERVICE - SEE YOU SOON - Alan & Bibiana

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klondikeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear Alan and Bibiana

Well as the GM reading the subject line, I must say, if you goal was to get my heart racing, it did. Very clever.

Thank you for posting a comment and for choosing to stay at the Surrey.

My name is Spencer Wadama.

I am very happy to read your comments and am especially happy to see your comment on our Housekeeping staff. They truly are an amazing group of Ladies and Gentlemen that love the hotel and enjoy taking care of people. I trust that Bibiana's overall New York experience was unforgettable and you can't wait to return.

i do look forward to welcoming you back to the Surrey. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london U.K
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Overall we loved this hotel, Its style and location. Its quiet and has nice spacious rooms for NYC! We had a twin bed room but there were NO blackout curtains at the windows? Only blackout blinds? So light would come into the room at either side of the blinds! If like us your used to staying at 5 star properties with total blackout curtains and thats what we have at home too this can be somewhat annoying! Also it was hard to get the temperature just right in the room as on one side of the room was an airconditioning unit (quite loud too) blasting out cool air and on the opposite side of the room a big heater blowing out hot air?! So even though we set the temperature to 72 degress it never got to that and felt cool on one side of the room and hot on the other! Would consider staying here again though would speak to them about these two issues prior to booking to see if all rooms are the same! Also food from room service not great!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonlondonU.K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Dear SharonLondonU.K.,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and for posting a review.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am happy to read that overall you enjoyed your experience and left with a postive impression. I thank you for your comments you shared on what needs to be improved.
i will discuss your comments about the blinds with our design team, althought we do have blackout blinds, i will look into the particulars of your room to see if there was a flaw in the installation. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can get more information on this. i will ask you look at our website to find my contact information since I cannot share it on my response.

i will also share your comment on In Room dining with my Chef. Please contact me directly so i can better undertsand the details.

Thank you again for your response, I find it very valuable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed for a weekend night and loved this hotel. Its elegant, trendy and sophisticated all at the same time. Best Concierge in the city, his name is Andrew. If you want some great hospitality make sure you stay here. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junoman973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Dear junoman973,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and thank you for the wonderful comments.

My name is Spencer Wadama, and I love Andrew as well. He is fantastic and, probably hard to believe, new in his role. Andrew is a natural and the positive comments on his service and personality keep coming in. Thank you for noticing.

I am very happy to see you enjoyed your Surrey experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best.

BTW, I love the picture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. This was one of the best experiences in NYC, from the moment we arrived the Service* was amazing - the attention to detail was perfect. The rooms were large, clean perfectly appointed, no detail overlooked, the bed was so big I could barely reach my wife! A nice view was requested online and delivered. Cafe Boulud is attached to the hotel and the standard of service flows freely between the two*, lightest Belgium waffles I've had. I look forward to returning often. Thank You.
* I gave 4/5 for Service for the following: The Bar - wait staff not at the same level as Hotel and Restaurant and a few mistakes by the Concierge - I was told 2 incorrect closing times, one for the Guggenheim (not 530 on Sat) the other for Bloomingdales (not 830 on Sat) which caused a lot of wasted time.
Sorry no pics, was so relaxed that I forgot!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandinmyveins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 467 in New York City
727 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#264 of 467 in New York City
783 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#53 of 467 in New York City
1,459 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing