We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel will definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #179 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sarasota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this hotel will definitely be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Location was perfect for us. The room was a little small but we were active and not in the room for very long. Very comfortable, housekeeping staff was very helpful, room service fast. The lobby in the hotel was very welcoming as were all of the staff--reception, bellmen, wait staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhkessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    671
    196
    107
    62
See reviews for
288
810
122
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

To start things off, we stayed at this hotel for a single night only, so we probably did not have a chance to experience the most this location had to offer, especially just to soak in the history of it and it's great looking bar/lounge.

Arriving at the hotel, the service was excellent. I wish I remembered his name, but the the friendly bellboy, originaly from Jamaica, opened our door with a nice smile and saw no problem striking a conversation with us as we moved our luggage inside.

We were quite pleased with the hotel as we walked in, almost a sigh of relief when you get home from a long trip. A great feeling after spending the day in the concrete jungle that is NYC. It's a very small (by Manhattan standards) and very quaint boutique hotel. It felt very lived in, yet in great condition. It felt elegant and you could feel the history.

The location was perfect for us! The street is like boutique hotel alley, nestled in between Times Square and 5th Avenue. Pleasant walk in both directions and near subway.

Without knowing what to expect, our room as on the small side, but very well decorated (it fit the historical theme of the hotel) and well maintained. The bathroom was also small, but more than adequate; with great ameneties. Our only real complaint would have been about the loud AC, but I can see why... Having a room facing the street, the noise there would have kept us up all night. I guess sound proofing isn't the best in an old building like this (to be expected). That said, we did sleep well as the bed was comfortable - nothing extraordinary, but comfortable.

We have no problem giving the Algonquin a solid 4 star rating. It had more of an experience to it, a feeling, than pretty much any other cookie-cutter location ou there. We highly recommend for your next stay, as we will most certainly too.

Tip: Find great prices on hotwire and priceline. We did...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank degrace26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Booked this hotel through Priceline at $150 for the night because we literally couldn't afford our previous hotel's $465 a night price tag post Irene and our flights had been cancelled : (. After the ultra sofistication of our previous abode, the Algonquin felt like a 'real' hotel, hard to explain but it was strangely comforting. Room was small, bed super comfortable, bathroom tiny (and almost impossible to get into without physically out-muscling the sticky door), but the whole place was very endearing. We had a Manhatten (in Manhatten) in the Blue Bat and had a lovely chat with Mr. Cwong (??) who enlightened us about Matilda the hotel cat who I had previously thought was fictional.....she's not : )

Only downside was the hotel receptionist (Mr T- that's all I'll say) who was a bit burly and cursed a bit too much considering his job. Don't know if this is his normal demeanour or just because we were priceliners?????

All round? Comfortable (apart from the noisy AC - but Matilda does provide you with ear plugs :) :) :) ), great location and for the most part lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Reading some mixed reviews I figured that with this hotel you either hate it or love it. Yes, it does have small rooms and does not offer the typical chain hotel standard. Yet, it is extremely cosy, elegant and perfectly located in the heart of the city. Maybe not so much appealing to business travelers it has a lot to offer in terms of interesting interior design, more personal service and very "at home feeling". Rooms are comfortable, staff very helpful and you don't get crowds of people like in some other, huge hotels in the city. Free internet comes as standard feature which is a huge plus. Other than small rooms, I do not see any clear downsides and would definitely recommend it for visiting New York City.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I was a little nervous about this hotel from the other reviews. Overall I found the hotel to be ADORABLE. The room wasn't too small- I expected it to feel like a closet- but there was plenty of room to walk around- there was a closet available and the bathroom was quite large as well. The bed was great and comfy and most of all the room felt very clean! This hotel has so much charm I absolutely fell in love with it. The shower/tub was strange- but this just added to the appeal of an older hotel. The hotel is a short walk from Times Square. I felt safe in the location and we were able to park across the street with no problems. We enjoyed drinks in the lobby but they were Crazy expensive- even for NYC. We pricelined this hotel and got a great deal. Would def. recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarmstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Rest assured that if Dorothy Parker and Noel Coward were alive today they would not be staying here. Times have changed but the Algonquin has not - in the worst way - it's amenities. I've stayed at old, charming hotels both in the US and abroad but this one is so tired that I could hardly wait to check out. Other business travelers in my group knew better and stayed at the Westin and the Strand. I stayed here given its short walk to business on Fifth Ave but that is all it has going for it. A 4-star hotel - nope - 3-star. I'd say it is one step higher than the rooms at the Union League - and no more.

I stayed in both an Algonquin suite and a discounted room and both came up short for their price class. The discounted room had a small toilet stuck in a very narrow corner and lots of stained grout. The door knob to the room was only 2 arm lengths from inside the elevator - no elevator banks here. As for the suite, the couch in the living area was stained, the bathroom was huge but the AC was so SO LOUD that you could not hear the TV when it cycled on every few minutes. The AC vent was also situated near the ceiling and blew towards my head, giving me an earache from the cold. In addition, the standard Marriott bedding is used here and is as skimpy as usual - you can never get warm enough. I can say, however, that the Algonquin does not skimp on the AC like some other Marriotts. The AC is cranked up very high and I was able to turn it off on my last night and still be comfortable in this unusually cool August.

The only bright spot is the cozy but grand lobby and roaming Matilda the Cat. Forget the Blue Bar - it is deteriorating and expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boolie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We book the Algonquin on our recent stay in NYC to visit our son because it is now part of the Marriott chain and as Platinum rewards members, we get extra perks. We stayed for 3 nights and the best part about this hotel is the amazing location! Walk out either direction and you are two minutes to Times Square to the right and shopping on 5 th Avenue and Reckefeller Center to the left. Subway is also conveniently located about a block away. The check in process was efficient considering we arrived at 2am as the car service we hired was late 45 minutes. We booked a double and were upgraded to a king room. We were also given 3 drink vouchers at the Blue Bar where martinis are $19 - $21. This is one of the oldest hotels in the city and some parts of the hotel is showing its age, specially the bathroom. Our room was small but this is Manhattan. However, our bed was comfortable, and we both had a good night sleep. We loved the cozy lobby where we enjoyed our $20 martinis from the the Blue Bar before heading out to dinner. Cudos to the bartender, he fixed us some awesome martinis! The breakfast at the Round Table was quite expensive but very good and fresh! One of the best French toast I've had! Breakfast entrees $23 - $30. We definitely would not be paying this kind of money for breakfast but as Marriott rewards platinum members we get free breakfast with our room. The service was fine, nothing to brag about. We would stay here again because of the perfect location.

Room Tip: The carpet in our room looked old and dirty, bring slippers to wear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Boxerlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing