We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Loved this hotel. Small room but everything you need. Free wifi, free bottle water, robe, safe, nice sheets, comfortable bed. It is an old historic hotel but very charming. They had little notes around the room on how to turn on tv, work the tub drain, the radio I loved that. They have a resident cat. The staff was great. The bar and restaurant were to expensive for us, but lots of food available nearby. Locations was perfect, two blocks from Time Square, about 4 or 5 blocks from Grand Central very easy walk. Subway nearby. Stayed in 5 hotels this trip and this was are favorite. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltimeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is an old hotel, so I didn't expect much, but at least the customer service could have been better. The morning of my departure, I asked the front desk where I could print my boarding pass, and they told me, very rudely "There's a business center, but you need a key, and good luck because the printer doesn't work." They gave me no other options.

The room next to ours was very loud and the walls are very thin...they were playing loud music until very late, smoking pot which smelled up the entire hallway as well as our room, and the walls were so thin that we could hear every word they were saying. Forget about the street noise, the adjacent room noise was much worse.

The front desk people were cold and rude and if you stay on a higher floor, be prepared to wait for a while for an elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a very small historical hotel. Our room was on the corner and one of just a few with twin beds. Beds very comfortable and exceptional clean. Staff friendly and very helpful when making suggestions for local restaurants. If you are looking for little noise stay away because you can hear every passing car siren and trash truck from the street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jphillips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We spent three nights at this old hotel. The main part of the hotel is very atmospheric. The staff were ok, not too helpful. Our bedroom was a reasonable size for New York, but the lighting was terrible. The bath in the bathroom was too high as was the mirror in the bathroom (I am 5ft tall). Not much room to put anything. Be careful if you are making a telephone call from the room, we made three calls (short ones) and were charged $60!!!. When we complained we were told by the front desk that the hotel doesn't make the charges it is a company!!! We were really horrified by this amount. Situation of the hotel is good, but I don't think we will return, it is very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egreen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Arrived at alqonquin on 9/11 after making a very late booking, met by very pleasant and welcoming front desk no probs on checkin, a very oldfashioned feel to all areas did not realise how historic the hotel was it felt like being back in the 1930s you could sense at any moment douglas fairbanks walking through the front door. it was really close to times square and bryant park, a few mins walk and you were at all the tourist spots, a very nice comfortable hotel, if you get the right price you cant go wrong

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thurles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Had high hopes this hotel could cater to a business traveler. So disappointed to find its charming ambiance meant I'd spend first hour of my stay trying to figure out wireless access. Charm can only go so far without the basic amenities. Won't stay here again.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
Thank rem a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Even though this is a hotel with lots of history and in a great location, the atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired. Upon check in we were greeted by a woman who apparently does not like her job, or else is tired of telling everyone their room is not ready. Granted, we were 30 minutes earlier than their posted check-in time, but, in a very monotone, unfriendly voice, she told us our room was not ready, and that the housekeeping staff had a different timetable than the rest of the hotel. When we finally were able to get into our room, we had to wait quite a while for our bags to be brought up. They finally were, after having to make a phone call to the front desk to ask where they were, and then receiving a phone call 5 minutes later, asking what our bags looked like. This was after having left our claim check with the front desk - the bags person said he never received it. We finally received our bags soon thereafter, and they were delivered by a very friendly man - one of the few we encountered. The room itself was ok - supposedly it had just been redone, but apparently the only 're-do' was adding pretty colors - nothing practical about it. We were in a suite because we had met our adult son there and we wanted to stay together. The bathroom was located inside the bedroom, so if our son (who slept on the pull-out sofa in the living room) had to use the bathroom during the night, he would have disturbed us sleeping in the bedroom. The bathroom was very small with virtually no vanity space to put our things, and the bathtub was so high I had trouble stepping into it to take a shower (I am 5'). Anyone with even slight mobility issues would not be able to use the tub/shower. The lighting was horrible and I was unable to put on any makeup because of that, but also because the mirror over the very high sink (again a problem for me because of my height) was also very high and I could not see into it. When we arrived back at our room after an evening out, we were greeted by a very strong smell of marijuana from the room next door. The walls are very thin, and the music and conversation from this same room next door was very loud - we could have joined their conversation if we were so inclined. Our suite was in a corner at the end of a hall, so this one room was the only adjacent room. I am guessing that if you are in a regular room, you would be treated to the voices and conversations on both sides. More surprises in the morning - the new drapes covering the windows were decorative only - the morning light poured in as soon as the sun came up in both the living room and in the bedroom. No black-out curtains here! Upon check-out, we asked where my son could print his boarding pass. He was told by a woman at the front desk (a clone of the woman the day before, personality-wise) that IF the printer was working, we would have to pay for it, and the point was moot anyway, because she told us we needed a room key to be able to use the computer, and we had already checked out. Absolutely no interest in helping us out - none of the friendliness and 'go the extra mile' we have seen in other Marriott hotels. Needless to say, it was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aruba76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,797 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 469 in New York City
2,424 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#278 of 469 in New York City
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,615 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#68 of 469 in New York City
721 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#250 of 469 in New York City
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £164 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel in NYC located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in Midtown Manhattan thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection is a historic hotel providing the allure of New York City charm, and it has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing