We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing repeat(several times) visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #171 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wayne,pa
Level Contributor
278 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“disappointing repeat(several times) visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I will begin that I still think if you want a small one bedroom suite with living room with sofabed and need to be in theatre district, this is still your best bet, especially if you get a package with breakfast (they do continental but let you add on regular items at a small fee) and drinks. That said, I would not stay here again unless had to. Service has really declined. I was here before and after Marriott, and even my last stay- under Marriott- was better . Housekeeping is hit or mess. There is generally no doorman, and half the time you need to find a cab on your own. Room service is fine, as are drinks in the lobby. We stayed because we were seeing shows, but the "protesters" almost disrupted that Sat night. Taxis in NYC are still awful and decide if they want to take you depending on where you are going. The rickshaws are also scamming people by charging exorbitant rates. If in the area, try the Lambs Club for drinks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simmie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    665
    196
    103
    62
See reviews for
288
803
120
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Nicely situated, but somewhat pricey($450). Unable to get room until about 4pm, which was a huge inconvenience. The elevators are inadequate for the size of the accomodation. Nice resident cat!!

Room Tip: Go high to obtain as quiet a room as posible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterthePilot080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I got this hotel on a deal through Priceline for £101 for 1 night and to be honest even though the location is great the room was tiny!!! I just hope the people paying regular rates of $500 plus get value for money because even for £100 i feel like i stayed in a broom cupboard a very clean one but tiny. I can only imagine you only get this room if booked through a discount hotel site. Didn`t really take much in about the history of the hotel as was very tired from a long days travel. Probably would not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickWelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We are a family of five and had a suite (2 adjoining rooms) for a 3 night stay. Rooms are small but given the amount of time you spend in them, they were a fair size. We really enjoyed the history of the hotel which was well preserved. The location was also great, close to Times Square, great restaurants - all within walking distance. I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: On 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Original decor- must be haunted. Room very small, bathroom very small. Great location you can walk to anything! There is a parking lot right across the alley so very convenient. Staff super nice. You may have to wait your turn to park in front of entrance if you want to check in before you park. But the doormen are very helpful in watching your car. Room service messed up my breakfast so manager gave us both meals free. I would defintely stay there again. PS You can walk to NBC to wait outside all night Friday for tickets to Saturday Night Live - we did and got in to see the show!

Room Tip: The king bed is really nice but the room was really small. Not sure if it would be a larger room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyttle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I considered The Algonquin amongst a few other Midtown properties for using Marriot points, and some of the negative reviews, here, had put me on edge. But I figured that it had only been a year since it became an Autograph Collection hotel, and I was richly rewarded for my choice, as I had a very pleasant two-night stay. I encountered none of the problems reported by others. My room was clean and well-appointed, and the staff was friendly. It was clear they had put some money into the rooms, recently. The room was decently-sized for a hotel of this age, but I still wouldn't suggest it for more than yourself or a couple. The historical ambiance of the hotel was very cool, and the location is nearly unbeatable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hotel has a very cool art deco retro feel. As you walk in it's like stepping back in time. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was small but the bed was huge. Bathroom and shower were a good size, TV had loads of chanels. View of the fire escape didn't cause a problem as we were in New York to see the sites and shop, not sit in our room. You could hear the air con from the building next door, although this sent me to sleep more than anything else. Alll in all a lovely hotel. Bar drinks, as with most hotels were expensive. Cocktails were $20 each but were not mixed very well so avoid these. Hotel has a pet cat as well, Matilda.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing