We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive Experience, Some Reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #205 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Algonquin has undergone an extensive renovation and what was a dark dank cramped hotel is now quite a bit better. The overall room size (even in a suite!) is still small and the elevators are small, too few, and painfully slow. The passenger elevators still double as staff elevators so expect to share with housekeeping. The restaurant food and wine selection is much better than before the remodel, although typical NY expensive. The affiliation with Marriott seems very sketchy, as noted in other reviews, just point earning and not much else -- no upgrades, staff seems completely clueless about the Marriott Rewards program levels. Room furnishings have been nicely upgraded, although the location brings with it nighttime noise and lights that are hard to block out. Staff was responsive in removing an unexpected charge on the bill, although it took a little effort.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank South_Pasadena_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Matilda is the Algonquin's cat but we didn't see her on our recent trip to NYC. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and were given "one of the larger rooms" for our stay. Being a Platinum Marriott Rewards member I was also pleased to be offered free continental breakfasts.

Our room was reasonably sized but the bathroom was very small. Everything had been modernised whilst still retaining the historical feel of the hotel. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have experienced. There are some minus points though. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room, bath towels are rather small and the windows have blinds that don't completely keep the light out. We needed the earplugs that "Matilda had provided to help us in the city that never sleeps" paraphrasing the card left on my bedside table thanks to inconsiderate and noisy guests next door. We were at the side towards the back of the hotel so any background noise from outside wasn't intrusive.

The public areas are very pleasant and there is a large business facility along with gym and coffee facilities on the 2nd floor.

This was our 2nd stay in New York and whilst not disappointed with the Algonquin overall and its position which is nice and close to Times Square, Broadway and Macy's, if we ever return, on balance, we'll be more likely to return to where we stayed before.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with an inter connecting door, avoid the rooms immediately opposite the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MK1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is good quality for New York prices. It is a historic hotel with a great lobby that transports you back in time. We stayed in a very functional standard room on the 5th floor. It was "smallish" and the bathroom was "tightish" but we did not intend to stay in our room a lot so it did not bother us. The bed was very comfortable with an old New York street scene above it. There is free Starbucks coffee in the lobby until 10am or on the second floor 24 hrs. The location was fantastic. A quick walk to Times Square and the subway. Just around the corner from the theatres. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just returned from the The Algonquin Hotel Times Square and was greatly disappointed. As a longtime, loyal customer of the Marriott, my expectations were high- of course, utilizing 40,000 points to make my reservation made my disappointment even greater.

On a positive note, the hotel was clean and nicely decorated. It ends there. Upon arrival, I inquired on the Gold Member benefits and was told (rather rudely) that this was not a Marriott property and they only accept points for stay but not really offering anything special to longtime dedicated Marriott customers. When we entered our room, which was so small and uncomfortable, I called Marriott reservations to see if we could move to another property and was told no. The front desk also dismissed our request for a larger room. (my husband is 6'5") So, here we are in New York City with dozens of property choices and now we are stuck in a hotel with limited service and a shoe box for a room.

It gets better. Two requests before we finally got enough towels for two people. Most calls to front desk were ignored- just rang and rang. Then, the noise. From around 11 PM until 1 AM there was a loud band outside our window. Called the front desk (after several attempts) they told me they would see where it was coming from and call me back. They called an hour later to tell us that there are ear plugs if we needed them. Last complaint- the bed. Although the property proudly announces the renovations are complete, they must have pulled an old mattress out for our room. It was like sleeping on a board with springs. Probably the worst hotel mattress I ever slept on!

Bottom line is the Marriott should be aware that their loyal, longtime customers are treated differently at this property. (reviews on other sites indicate a pattern) One guest that checked in seconds after us was bragging about their "free upgrade" and attention to their service needs. I think us Marriott point people are tagged and treated differently here. Marriott should rethink this partnership.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank islandmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I first stayed at the Algonquin more the 10 years ago and loved it. This is a very special hotel that makes guests feel special. Rooms are beautifully decorated yet retain that very unique old world feel that only the Algonquin can do in a city like NYC. It is a very elegant hotel steeped in a lot of history and manages to retain this without feeling dated. in fact it is a truly modern hotel. Everything about the Algonquin including this review is a bit of a contradiction. The mere fact that such a hotel can be found in mid town NYC is in itself a contradiction. This really is a very beautiful hotel. It is pricey but definitely worth it especially if you can get a discounted booking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessy4jessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Let me start by saying I'm forgiving the Algonquin a few of things that would have normally made me rank fewer than five stars:

1. the bathroom exhaust vent was dirty - very very dirty.
2. housekeeping left a dirty take-out coffee cup lid and empty sugar packet on the table.
3. our room only had one washcloth when we arrived so I asked for another; the next day, housekeeping only left one washcloth again. Weird.

That said, the service and attention we received, the exceptional way the staff made my mother feel welcomed and the way they accommodated her needs, and the superb friendliness of every single person we met MORE than made up for those shortcomings.

We were upgraded to a king room, which was spacious for NYC. The bathroom is tiny, yes, but it is beautifully decorated and the shower is excellent. Our room had a bay window overlooking 44th Street - which is great. The City noise is pretty noticeable, but the hotel does provide earplugs. There are blackout shades in addition to decorative light-filtering fabric shades - which are necessary because of the office building across the street. You can see right into their windows, and the opposite is true, so be sure to use those blackout shades!

The Round Table Restaurant was outstanding, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the super-attentive service we received.

Matilda is beautiful, and is obviously well-loved by all who work there.

It was easy to store our bags prior to check-in and after check-out so we could wander the City.

Definitely consider staying here. The hotel has recently been completely renovated while maintaining its historic charm. There are two elevators to service the entire 12-floor hotel, so sometimes there is a bit of a wait... Stairs are next to the elevators if you get too impatient. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a street view if you love to see the City lights. I'm sure the "ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

A group of four stayed two nights at the Algonquin. Due to the remodel we stayed for a great price that included breakfast each morning and a drink at the Blue Bar. This hotel is a quick walk to Times Square, many Broadway shows etc. Could not find any fault with this hotel! Hope to return as soon as possible although regular price is probably not an option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ottawa036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 471 in New York City
3,894 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 471 in New York City
6,719 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#168 of 471 in New York City
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#268 of 471 in New York City
2,368 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#83 of 471 in New York City
762 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#258 of 471 in New York City
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £151 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel in NYC located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in Midtown Manhattan thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection is a historic hotel providing the allure of New York City charm, and it has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing