We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place... if you get a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place... if you get a good deal”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were happy to see we got such a good discount on hotwire, and even though the place was great, I wouldn't have payed anymore than that... (279$ on the hotel website). I stayed here with my boyfriend this past weekend. The rooms are tiny but very functional, they're bath products smell soooo good; the artwork that lights up behind the bed is awesome, and the queen bed was a bit of a disappointment, but comfortable for just the two of us. The room was newly renovated, and the bathroom was very clean and fresh. There is no coffee maker in the room, but you can get pretty decent coffee all throughout the day on the 2nd floor. Only ice machine is on the 2nd floor as well, but this isn't a problem as the hotel is tiny, and the elevators work well. The staff was extremely pleasant! They really made us feel welcome, and we felt the hotel staff was the best part of our stay. Hotel is extremely close (5 min walk) to times square, and about a 7 minute walk to grand central station. In a nutshell, the hotel is quaint, comfortable, and we would stay here again if we got a good deal.

Room Tip: I would say go for a king if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    682
    198
    108
    64
See reviews for
289
824
123
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have stayed here before and enjoyed the location and amenities. This time in NYC, our group stopped into have an after-theatre drink. Such a nice place to relax and talk. Traditional and historic. Sad to see that the resident cat must now stay in the back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Lovely stay, really. Historic, elegant, well appointed hotel. We are Marriott Gold Elite but our assigned room, 601, was pretty tiny. 12X14 plus bathroom (shower only) and closet. View of vent shaft. All modern fixtures and fittings, very clean and well maintained, lots of art around mostly showing the hotel's heyday in the twenties. Ice is on the second floor. No coffee maker but free coffee on 2nd or in the morning in the lobby. Breakfast was included for Gold Elite and is best ever. $24 if one had to pay. All staff was pleasant. Probably for us there are better Marriott choices nearby.

Room Tip: Maybe some rooms are bigger than 12x14 of rm 601
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
837 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Clean rooms. Typically spacious for NYC. Hotel staff was excellent and always accommodating and with a smile. Laura the concierge clearly loves her job and is great at what she does. Walking distance to all theaters and lots if great places to eat close by. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We loved our stay at the Algonquin, a charming hotel rich with history. Convenient to Times Square and subways, friendly staff, beautifully decorated rooms, a comfortable bed and big, fluffy towels. From the time I called the front desk to modify our reservations last minute due to a canceled flight to the time we left, we were met with kindness and friendliness from an accommodating, courteous and knowledgeable staff. I loved the collection of books in the Simon & Schuster Suite, and the room was nicely decorated with prints of book jackets. The back-lit photo of a long-ago NYC was cool. Elevators were small, but we rarely had to wait. Most of the time we took the steps, which had beautiful marble steps. Complimentary business center was nice, as was the coffee in the lobby and 2nd floor. Free wi-fi was intermittent. Sometimes, we had difficulty maintaining a connection in our room.

Room Tip: King suite with a pull-out sofa bed had plenty of room for our family of four.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was glad to see that the hotel had water-saving, dual-flush toilets and that housekeeping staff doesn't take towels that are hung hooks.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriBar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a quick night with wife and 2 kids in a suite. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left service was awesome. Everyone working there was extremely friendly. Lucky enough to stay in room 1210- totally worth it- big space- pullout for the kids. Staff left plenty of extra towels and soap etc.

Great location- not a huge fan of staying near times square- but the hotel is just far enough removed- 1.5 blocks- perfect. Right near 5th ave shopping, walking distance to everywhere.

If going to broadway show,etc- the algonquin is the perfect hotel. Classic nyc hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glider17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

What an amazing place to stay in New York. Not only is the location fantastic but the staff made our stay most enjoyable. There was a small hiccup on our stay (air conditioner leaked on the bed) the staff handled it incredibly well and looked after all our needs through it. And the upgraded room was phenomenal. Every employee at the hotel was fantastic. The history of this hotel is rich, I loved everything about this hotel. I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Although the rooms on 44th street are a little louder (ear plugs are provided if you are a light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing