We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #204 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wisited the Hotel with my tenegeers son, in April.
The Hotel is very centraly located , well appointed rooms with quin beds,althought for US standards the rooms were on the small side, coming from Europe that wasnt an issue as for us is normal size room. Bathroom was decent size too. Very clean and i loved the bedding, such a luxurious feel!
Only huge dissapoitmant was the breakfast, again althought well presented was measy and not enough.
OK we booked Special discounted deal via TravelZoo.com but i didnt expected few tiny pasteries, few slices of fruit,Butter, jam and Orange Juice +Coffe to be considered breakfast! They were trying to get buisness during their Slow months, but that doesnt mean you cut on your breakfast if you offer cheaper bed.
There was this Oldie-worldie feel to the hotel which was appriciated, imaculately clean, but the breakfast spoiled the experianced. Every morning we had to get out the Hotel and fend for our breakfast .
Otherwise the Hotel staff was nice and friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: I guess any room is good, we were on the 3rd floor overlooking the entrance to the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just got back from one of many trips my wife and I make up to the Big Apple and I feel compelled to share our experience with the Algonquin Hotel Times Square. The location is great for theatre and many other attractions in the Times Square area and the architecture of the building and its interior is really cool, it is hard to believe that a hotel built in the early 1900s is still in service. Unfortunately that was where it stopped, the room that my wife and I stayed in (305) had a terrible sewage smell coming from the bathroom. I brought it to the attention of the front desk and there response was "they would send somebody up to freshen it up" needles to say that didn't work. Also the rooms are amongst the smallest I have ever seen in my multiple visits to the city. That was just one of many examples of the lack of customer service skills portrayed by their front desk, they really need to be coached on what it takes to deliver a great customer experience that you become accustom to in the Marriott properties. Upon check out, I was never asked anything about how my stay was, so I mentioned the sewer smell again to the front desk clerk and he had zero response...absolutely incredible, I couldn't believe that he didn't even acknowledge the issue. It goes without saying I will never stay at this property again and would advise others to do the same

Room Tip: Not sure what to say but definately if you must stay here hope you don't get room 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zavman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Greetings and thank you for your candid comments regarding your recent Algonquin stay. On behalf of the Algonquin team, the hotel apologizes for the inconvenience that was caused to you and your wife.

The hotel appreciates the positive comments that you have offered and notes the critical ones as well.

The hotel suggests to guests who may have experienced a service lapse or problem that they contact the hotel directly with the specific information that is required in order to remedy the situation. Please consider taking this step regarding the situation described.

Thank you again for your candor.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very nice staff, one of them even took me to a back room to meet MATHILDA! (She likes being petted under her chin, btw). The only thing I have to complain about is that when l told the (Marte'd) it was my last nighjt and did he have a nice table for me, he gave me a table with an excellent wiev into the kitcken. Is that how the Alvgoiqin yreats female guists?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I come into the city often. Every now and then stay for an overnight . The Algonquin was a nice stay for us . Queen room not to big , but ok for one night. Staff very friendly. Bathroom updated, with a good shower. Prices for drinks in lobby bar were a shock, even for us. However I still like to sit in that wonderful space. Marty Gordon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This historic hotel is idea in many ways--the historical significance, the convenient location, and the service. The rooms are on the small side, but this is NYC after all, and it's an old hotel; so it seems like a small sacrifice for accommodations that offer so much else. The Algonquin has been restored to it's natural essence, so stepping into its lobby feels like stepping back in time. The Marriott has done an excellent job with this location. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiiBound1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights. With limited time, we wanted a central location that was great and safe. The Algonquin was perfect! Minutes to Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Times Square and great restaurants and shopping. We had excellent service from the bellmen, front desk and restaurant wait staff. While the bathrooms are small, we loved the way they were decorated and the art deco feel of the hotel. We will definitely check here first for our next visit to the Big Apple!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundysWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Silver Elite (which doesn't appear to mean much). Love Marriott - typically my favorite hotel chain.

Booked a room at the Courtyard Times Square West. Flew into NY from CA for 48-hour business trip. Arrived at hotel - no rooms, hotel oversold.

1/2 hour later, was sent to the Algonquin w/ a walk letter. Courtyard graciously paid for taxi and 1st night. However, after arriving the at Algonquin, was informed this only applied to the 1st of 2 nights, and that the 2nd night would cost $444 (compared to the Courtyard that I had booked at $239/night, nearly 1/2 the price).

To make it worse, the only rooms available were one that was full of smoke (they later sent a filter up to clean the air), and another that was facing streetside in front of the 3a trash pickup.

When I asked if they could honor my original rate with the Courtyard, and if there were any other options room-wise, the Algonquin said no (despite having had 2 extra rooms available 3 minutes earlier), and that it was the Courtyard's fault I didn't get a matched rate. Didn't feel like a happy Marriott family.

I took the room in front of the trash pickup, and put on some white noise. Didn't work.

So I'm writing this review on 3 hours of sleep, headed into a full day of work and meetings, and left with serious questions about Marriott. Definitely not staying at the Algonquin again, and now not sure about Marriott either next time. I know this sounds crazy, but the midtown Holiday Inn Express has beaten the Marriott on both quality of rooms and service, at a price that's a third less.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

The Algonquin notes the unfortunate circumstances you found yourself in as you were moved from the hotel where you had booked accommodation to another location with which you were not familiar. Typically a “walk”, displacement from one hotel to another, is a one night commitment with the guest returning to the original hotel the second night. Rates quoted by one hotel or another are individual and not broadly negotiated over the reception desk, even when both hotels share the same brand family. To best resolve an issue related to guest service, consider contacting the hotel directly as each matter is handled individually. Thank you for your feedback.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 471 in New York City
3,888 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 471 in New York City
6,708 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#165 of 471 in New York City
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#82 of 471 in New York City
761 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#267 of 471 in New York City
2,358 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#258 of 471 in New York City
3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £147 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel in NYC located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in Midtown Manhattan thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection is a historic hotel providing the allure of New York City charm, and it has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing