We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new go to hotel in Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #195 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is quaint and new--just went through a major renovation. The rooms are large by NYC standards, and comfortable. Very clean and modernized. Loved the staff and the friendly nature of the hotel--it's large hotel amenities with the boutique feel of a small ny hotel. I'd definitely return especially for the amazing breakfast--pricey but doable if you have it included in your room price.

Room Tip: I'd recommend self park and use your 24 hours that is allotted.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
There are newer reviews for The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I must start this review by saying that my expectations for this hotel were high since I had a better impression of the Autograph Collection. I was wrong and here is why:
1. Lobby looks, feels and smells old
2. Staff must be some of the senior union members, because their attitude and behavior shows they don't care about the guests.
3. AC unit at room didn't go below 72 degrees in-spite of manually lowering it many times.
4. Iron had two temperatures super hot and barely warm. It almost ruined my shirt.
5. Tiny bathroom, even for New York standards with shower that didn't allow me to raise my elbows.

There are better places in New York, so fortunately I won't be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent visit to The Algonquin and thank you for your business.

The Algonquin was closed and renovated in the first part of 2012. The Lobby wood paneling and ceiling detail work is original dating to 1902 when the building opened as a hotel. The hotel has had many favorable remarks regarding design and décor and we know everyone is entitled to an opinion.

We are surprised by your remark about the team. The Algonquin associates are typically described as engaged and very caring.

Regarding Algonquin guest rooms, many are modest in size and most guests tell the hotel that the design and décor in the room and bathroom too make up for the smaller room size.

As a suggestion, when something is found to be deficient in a guest room, whether at The Algonquin or another hotel, the best way to resolve that matter is to contact the hotel and ask for a replacement item.

Thank you again for taking time to comment on your visit to The Algonquin, please come back again.

Gary J. Budge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was well appointed, had everything we needed. Room wasn't huge but it's NYC! Great hospitality, clean, close to great shopping, dining, shows. Even on a rainy day they offered me an umbrella to use for the day! Has the charm of old New York and you can just imagine award winning novelists having coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

When breakfast takes 45 minutes to deliver and is the same price as "the Peninsula" uptown in a nicer atmosphere ,that gets delivered in 10 minutes- why would you have breakfast here? The doorman and the head of housekeeping where great! There is no lounge bar scene and we had to ask for extra towels .
Probably not on my list of repeats.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Greetings and thank you for taking time to comment on your recent visit to The Algonquin Hotel. Your time is appreciated in providing the hotel with feedback.

We are pleased the housekeeping team and doormen on duty seemed to delight you and we apologize for taking longer that anticipated to serve breakfast to you during your stay.

The Blue Bar is actually known for its convivial atmosphere through the cocktail hour into the evening. Perhaps your visit was on a less busy night or your expectation was of a venue with higher energy.

After some time, please consider a return visit to The Algonquin. Thank you again for your remarks.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wisited the Hotel with my tenegeers son, in April.
The Hotel is very centraly located , well appointed rooms with quin beds,althought for US standards the rooms were on the small side, coming from Europe that wasnt an issue as for us is normal size room. Bathroom was decent size too. Very clean and i loved the bedding, such a luxurious feel!
Only huge dissapoitmant was the breakfast, again althought well presented was measy and not enough.
OK we booked Special discounted deal via TravelZoo.com but i didnt expected few tiny pasteries, few slices of fruit,Butter, jam and Orange Juice +Coffe to be considered breakfast! They were trying to get buisness during their Slow months, but that doesnt mean you cut on your breakfast if you offer cheaper bed.
There was this Oldie-worldie feel to the hotel which was appriciated, imaculately clean, but the breakfast spoiled the experianced. Every morning we had to get out the Hotel and fend for our breakfast .
Otherwise the Hotel staff was nice and friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: I guess any room is good, we were on the 3rd floor overlooking the entrance to the Hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just got back from one of many trips my wife and I make up to the Big Apple and I feel compelled to share our experience with the Algonquin Hotel Times Square. The location is great for theatre and many other attractions in the Times Square area and the architecture of the building and its interior is really cool, it is hard to believe that a hotel built in the early 1900s is still in service. Unfortunately that was where it stopped, the room that my wife and I stayed in (305) had a terrible sewage smell coming from the bathroom. I brought it to the attention of the front desk and there response was "they would send somebody up to freshen it up" needles to say that didn't work. Also the rooms are amongst the smallest I have ever seen in my multiple visits to the city. That was just one of many examples of the lack of customer service skills portrayed by their front desk, they really need to be coached on what it takes to deliver a great customer experience that you become accustom to in the Marriott properties. Upon check out, I was never asked anything about how my stay was, so I mentioned the sewer smell again to the front desk clerk and he had zero response...absolutely incredible, I couldn't believe that he didn't even acknowledge the issue. It goes without saying I will never stay at this property again and would advise others to do the same

Room Tip: Not sure what to say but definately if you must stay here hope you don't get room 305
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zavman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Greetings and thank you for your candid comments regarding your recent Algonquin stay. On behalf of the Algonquin team, the hotel apologizes for the inconvenience that was caused to you and your wife.

The hotel appreciates the positive comments that you have offered and notes the critical ones as well.

The hotel suggests to guests who may have experienced a service lapse or problem that they contact the hotel directly with the specific information that is required in order to remedy the situation. Please consider taking this step regarding the situation described.

Thank you again for your candor.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very nice staff, one of them even took me to a back room to meet MATHILDA! (She likes being petted under her chin, btw). The only thing I have to complain about is that when l told the (Marte'd) it was my last nighjt and did he have a nice table for me, he gave me a table with an excellent wiev into the kitcken. Is that how the Alvgoiqin yreats female guists?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,675 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#268 of 468 in New York City
2,228 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#122 of 468 in New York City
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#184 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
6,530 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#115 of 468 in New York City
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £196 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing