We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #186 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel early May for 5 nights with my husband and 2 girls (10 and 12 years). The location is perfect, the staff really helps you a lot with ideas where to go to, umbrella's, getting a taxi, room service, etc. We really got the max. out of our visit to New York!
We stayed in the suite and it was really big fun. The atmosphere of the hotel is great, personal contact, not too smooth, really charming and the beautiful cat Mathilda!
The location is perfect for Manhattan, you can easily walk to Central Park, Fifth avenue, Broadway, etc.

Room Tip: For family with children take the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
The Algonquin is a great place for a family vacation, our suites are perfect for a family of four and with the location in the heart of New York City’s Midtown, you can not find a more central spot for public transportation, restaurants, attractions and Broadway theater. Please come back again!
Warm regards
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    682
    198
    108
    64
See reviews for
289
824
123
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

For my Nieces 21st and Cousins birthday they wanted to go to New York. We booked the trip through Expedia and the Hotel its location and everything about it was lovely. The Cat made its appearance sometimes like lord or lady of the manor which I thought was a lovely idea.
The Bathroom with a Shower to die for was superb it really was.
Location just a couple of streets from Time Square also proved great too.
Comfy beds too. The only thing I did say to the receptionist was Foot Spas to hire would be a great idea as our feet were killing us after a couple of days. Or at least a bowl that you could fill to soak you feet in. We did not eat there so I cannot comment on the food, however my cousin did get a piece of cheesecake for her birthday with a card, fizzy water and some fruit which was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuck22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us to celebrate the birthdays and best wishes to the family in the coming year!
Warm regards
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for five nights, May 1-6, and it made our NYC trip very enjoyable. Lovely, charming, relaxing, quiet, cozy and with a very accessible location. We walked to Central Park, Columbus Circle, Times Square/Broadway, Fifth Ave., Macy's. Our room with king sized bed was well appointed with pleasing art deco touches. Room was very livable with a desk, arm chair, small bureau and closet. Bathroom was small, but glass shower was nice and we managed! We had breakfast every morning, and especially enjoyed the elite member breakfast. Staff were friendly and very responsive. This is our new "home" in NYC!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommodoreJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello, thank you for taking time to share your comments on your recent Algonquin visit, we appreciate your business. We’re pleased to know you found the hotel to be the perfect venue for your holiday in New York City! We are especially proud of our team of associates who go above to create memorable guest experiences for our visitors. We look forward to your return visit to our hotel.
Warm Regards,
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The Algonquin Hotel is excellently located. I say so because the hotel is very close to Broadway yet removed enough to be at a much slower paced atmosphere from what I call the business and congestion of the theater district. The Blue bar was fun. The rooms are nice and very well designed to give maximum comfort and functionality. My only regret is that we had a room with no view at all. We feel we got a good value for our money. I recommend the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 482850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
The Algonquin Hotel values guest feedback and appreciates the time you took to comment about your visit. We are positioned in the heart of Times Square which makes it convenient for our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your time at the famous Blue Bar. If your travels bring you back to The Algonquin Hotel please contact us for assistance with room accommodation and we will be happy to appoint you a room facing 44th Street
Warn regards
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went to see a friend but did not want to encroach on her hospitality so stayed at the Algonquin
service was good food was excellent value was pretty good. definitely worth a visit and near to shows etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your business and your remarks about the Algonquin, it is a really great place for a family to stay with our suite and connecting guest room configurations, and who has a better location in the heart of Midtown Manhattan?
The team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Warm Regards,

Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel last week along with our girls. Everything was perfect, from the curbside greeting to the moment we left, the service was beyond compare. I especially want to thank the Concierge whose attention to detail and knowledge of the city's many attractions and dining choices helped make our stay perfect. The atmosphere of this historic hotel is wonderfully preserved and you feel like you are stepping back into a gentler, and more refined time. Location was perfect, only steps away from Times Square and less than a 15 minute walk to Central Park. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone,

Room Tip: The Family Suite was great for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans_Kristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After a poor night at a competitor, Algonquin made it easy to switch hotels, gave me a clean updated room and had a fantastic front desk and lobby bar.

The front desk lady(Jennie) was beyond polite and very helpful. The room was small but clean and modern. The bathroom was updated and very clean. The bar staff was fantastic and makes great custom drinks. And the hotel is 50 steps from Bryant Park, ideal for business travelers.

I will be coming back when I return to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Greetings and thank you for taking time to share your impressions on your recent Algonquin Hotel visit. While it appears we were not your first choice of hotel in New York City, we hope after your visit with us that we will be your first choice on all future visits!

Thank you for your business,
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing