We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely iconic hotel in wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #187 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely iconic hotel in wonderful location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a lovely historic hotel in a location that cannot be beat. It is charming with plenty of atmosphere yet has been updated with modern conveniences. If you want a place that is rich in history and convenient to Broadway theatre, this is a perfect spot.

The room is small but much roomier than those in other big cities, especially in Europe. We did not use the complimentary earplugs for the city noise; we just turned the fan to the "on" position on the thermostat. We had complimentary bottled water and breakfast each day due to my status as a Marriott rewards member. The housekeeper who came for the turn down service was very friendly and helpful, providing me with some extra toiletries.

We enjoyed riding in the elevator, which appears authentic although I'm sure it's been updated. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The main bellman provided us with a wealth of information and went to a lot of trouble to hail us a cab to the airport, carrying our bags a half block. He also told us about a convenient deli with very reasonable prices so we made a few trips there to grab a quick bite.

If you are looking for Miranda (the cat), she eats breakfast at the front desk around 6:30 a.m.

So glad this is part of the Marriott chain - they know how to do it right!

Green Features: They go to a lot of trouble to maintain environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    687
    202
    109
    65
See reviews for
292
836
124
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were greeted by Patricia, the friendly receptionist, who explained that this was the oldest working hotel in NYC since 1902. We were a family of 4 adults and every single day we were made to feel welcome when we came in, greeted when we left and really looked after in the bar & lounges. There is a free coffee station on the 2nd floor that runs 24/7 but, to e honest, we elected to pay for a far superior product at Gregory's right across the street. The Red Flame Diner next door does excellent VFM breakfasts too.

The rooms were well appointed with a decent wet room & free wifi - not much of a view from ours on the 9th floor but that wasn't a problem. The location of this hotel is literally 2 minutes from Times Square and right in the heart of the Theater District. There is lots of memorabilia throughout the hotel of the Writer's Club (Dorothy Parkwr et al) who used to frequent here in a bygone era.

We had a great time here and I'd recommend the Algonquin as a perfect base to explore NYC.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lifts to avoid being disturbed by the chies as it reaches each floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iainmac7299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us in New York City! We are happy that you received excellent service from our front desk team, and I have passed along your feedback to Patricia.

It is nice to hear that you appreciated the history of our property and I am glad that our staff were able to explain our rich past with you.

Thank you again for your lovely feedback.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to NYC!

Sincerely,
Emma S

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The first thing you need to know it's is an 'older' hotel......Updated, but structurally older so the rooms are small and the elevators are small/slow, but any hotel of this era is that way......The property itself is in a great location, 2 blocks off Times Square, service is excellent.......and overall it's a great stay.....One hint, if you're a light sleeper ask for a room in the back, on the higher floors, or ask for earplugs at the desk....I sleep pretty hard, but my wife was woken up by activity on the street below (4th floor room on the front of the hotel)..........

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a high room or one on the back of the hotel.....The street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear JBWilkins,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! You are correct we are an older hotel with a wealth of history so sometimes architecturally rooms and elevators are not the ideal size but I am glad you managed to enjoy your stay with us regardless!

I am glad to hear you found our location to be convenient for everything NYC has to offer and that you found our staff courteous and helpful!

I am sorry for the noise problem that your wife had. It is one of our biggest complaints, and unfortunately is the price we pay for being located downtown. On your next stay, we can offer you a room that is located on the back side of the hotel, farthest away from the street.

I hope you stay with us again and give us the chance to wow you!

Sincerely,
Emma S

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I love the outside of the hotel. The lobby is full of chairs and tables to sit. Matilda, the cat, holds court in the lobby. A hundred years is a long time to be around as a hotel without someone getting the wrecking ball. I'm glad the Algonquin was spared and remodeled. It is so interesting to stay there compared to a modern hotel. It has such character.

The front desk staff was always very nice and the bell men were especially friendly and helpful. Elevators were pretty fast actually.

Yes, the room is small but you are not in it much. Our air conditioner wasn't cooling so the maintenance man came up. He popped a new battery in the thermostat and the cool air started to blow.

The Blue Bar was great for a drink. No more expensive than most NY places that are that nice.

I hope they have the special rate again so I can stay there. I would upgrade to a suite next time just to feel pampered.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysShopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Loved charming lobby and bar areas here! Our room was small but comfortable and didn't feel cramped at all. Very nicely redone bathroom and cushy bed. We never did see the resident cat Matilda, but loved the postcard with her photo on it. Spent a nice evening just around the corner in Bryant Park and found it very easy to get around town from this location. Looking forward to returning sometime!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor on the street side and there was a decent amount of outside noise. Earp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a New York City Classic. For accommodations, dinner or just cocktails and an appetizer this should be a must if you want to experience New York City at its finest. This place is steeped in history! Great place to stay, great location, excellent dinners etc.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are my preference for being quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmaccine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent last weekend at the Algonquin and were very pleased with the renovated room, which although small was perfectly designed (plenty of mirrors, very nice lighting) and a lovely well equipped bathroom. Toiletries were lovely (Occitane). It is located ideally .. We walked to the theaters, etc. All of the employees .. Bell men, front desk, and bar waiter ..we're top notch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - I am glad to hear you feel as though we utilized the space well. It's great to hear that our efforts throughout the renovation were worth it.

I am pleased to note that you had a pleasant encounter with our staff as we pride ourselves in providing exceptional customer service for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Emma S

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,583 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,195 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#114 of 468 in New York City
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 468 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 468 in New York City
6,374 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#209 of 468 in New York City
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing