We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #190 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I spent a few nights in NYC for our anniversary. We stayed here on a Sunday in July. As soon as you walk in the door, you can feel the history of this establishment. The staff was warm and welcoming. They even had a room waiting for us even though check in was a few hours away. Staff asked if we needed help with broadway tickets, dinner reservations, anything. The room was very clean. Small, but you have to expect that in NYC. It had everything we could possibly need, and more. They even provide ear plugs in case city noises bother you. I did not however see Matilda the cat. Everyone speaks about her, and there are postcards of her. She is the resident hotel cat. Oh well! Maybe next time!! Try this hotel for yourself, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: If noises are an issue for you, ask when you make reservations for a room not facing the street. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fabulous hotel. The room was pristine, first class, but we could hear street noise, although this didn't affect our sleep. Free hot drinks at any time of the day, which is a bonus and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is brilliant for sight seeing. I would recommend this hotel and we wouldn't hesitate in returning in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doylie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is the oldest hotel in NY. However, it is a very nice place to stay. Our room was small but it looked like it had just been redone. It felt very high end. The lobby area has a lot of old character, but again felt and appears elegant. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The location is great for getting around and seeing things. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank 406Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Algonquin hotel is a first class NYC experience not to be missed. Soak up the surrounding charm - from the well appointed rooms - to the fabulous lobby and excellent staff/service.
Only downfall? I heard a lot of stree noise/construction at night in my room. and watch for the cat. She bites:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysunnyinphl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

For a number of years I thought about how much I would love to stay at the Algonquin Hotel. I was quite familiar with and fascinated by the history of the Hotel, the lunchtime meetings that Dorothy Parker, Robert Benchley, Alexander Woollcott, and other literary luminaries had in the Hotel in the 1920s, and which led, among other things, to the birth of the New Yorker, one of my favourite magazines. When planning my most recent excursion to the Big Apple, I decided it was time to indulge myself and stay at this historic, landmark, quintessential New York hotel and I am pleased to report that I wasn’t disappointed. The Algonquin is a marvelous hotel, and the recent renovations have not only produced lovely accommodations, but have helped to highlight the hotel’s rich history.

There are, however, some things that could be potential issues for some guests at the hotel, and I mention these at the end of my review. None of these potential issues affected me, though, and my six night stay at the Algonquin at the end of June 2014 could not have been better.

From the very moment I arrived at the Algonquin the service I received was exemplary. I arrived early, about 8:45 am and naturally assumed that there wouldn’t be a room ready at that time; I was fully prepared to leave my suitcase at the hotel while I went about exploring Manhattan and return later at the regular check-in time of 4:00 pm. Much to my surprise and delight, however, there was a room immediately available for me and I was checked in very efficiently by the lady at the front desk.

I don’t know what rooms at the Algonquin were like before the recent renovations, but they are wonderfully furnished now. I loved my room and its décor, especially the old photo of Manhattan above my bed. The bathroom was very clean, absolutely spotless in fact, and I was very pleased that both the shower’s water pressure and temperature were able to meet my uncompromising standards and high expectations! I also liked the nice touch of a framed photograph of Matilda, the Algonquin’s resident cat, on the outside of my door, containing a funny quote by Robert Benchley. And, given how people sometimes complain about how small Manhattan hotel rooms are, I have to say that I was very impressed with how well the limited space in my room was used.

I should mention that, during what was a very hot and humid stretch of weather, I found the air-conditioning in my room to be very good. Housekeeping services at the Hotel are also impeccable.

One perk provided to guests, and which I especially liked, is free coffee from Starbucks, available from 6:00 am to 10:00 am on the ground floor close to the elevators. I was especially pleased to discover that the Starbucks coffee offered is the Pike Place medium roast, which is my favourite Starbucks blend. The other perk that I really liked was the free copies of the New Yorker left in every room each week. This provided some good bedtime reading during my stay, and some good reading on my journey back home.

One of my main reasons in choosing the Algonquin was its proximity to the Theatre District. On this trip to New York, I planned to attend more Broadway shows than I had ever seen before and the Algonquin’s location is ideal for this purpose. The only drawback to being so close to the Great White Way is that you do have to contend with all the noise and cacophony, and the hordes of people, that are an intrinsic part of midtown Manhattan. As much as I loved the Algonquin and give it my highest praise, I doubt that I would stay there again unless I was seeing a lot of Broadway shows, simply because I really can’t stand the crowds and the noise of the Times Square area.

Speaking of the noise of midtown Manhattan, I should mention that I was lucky enough to get a room at the back of the hotel, Room #403, which proved to be very quiet. Although earplugs were provided in my room, I certainly didn’t need them. Judging by comments from some of the previous reviews, you are likely to hear a lot of clamour and commotion from traffic if you get a room facing West 44th Street, so if that is a potential issue for you, you may want to request a room at the back when making your reservation.

Again, regarding noise, it must be noted that the doors to the rooms require a really good pull (or push, if you are inside your room) in order to close the door properly. This means that you will hear a lot of doors being slammed shut throughout the day and evening. Also, the walls between rooms are not particularly thick so, if you have noisy neighbours, you are likely to hear them. Fortunately for me, all of my neighbours on the 4th floor were very quiet and, apart from the occasional sound of a door slamming shut and the muffled sounds of a conversation from the room next to mine on one night, I had absolutely no complaints about noise.

Another potential drawback that prospective guests to the Algonquin might want to consider is the fact that the two elevators in the Hotel can be rather slow. This wasn’t a problem for me since I was only on the 4th floor and used the stairs virtually all the time. The sluggishness of the elevators is something that guests at the hotel should keep in mind, though, if they are in a rush to arrive on time to a Broadway show or other, similar event.

Anyway, I feel that the issues I have identified above are relatively minor, and I consider the Algonquin to be a hotel worth choosing, especially if one is planning to see a number of Broadway shows, or if one simply likes being close to all the buzz and excitement of midtown Manhattan. I have no hesitation in giving the Algonquin five out of five stars, because its rooms and service are truly exceptional, and the ambiance of its storied past really does make it a very special place to stay when in New York.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter since they don't face West 44th Street. On the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Johannes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay after a cancelled flight resulted in us extending our stay in NYC and our hotel was overbooked. We wanted to stay at a similarly rated hotel and The Algonquin more than met our wishes and to our pleasant surprise accommodated us into a suite at very short notice. The staff were so welcoming & responded promptly to our every need & made us comfortable.

The history and charm of this hotel really was the icing on the cake & it was like stepping back into time to a golden age of travel. We were on the 11th floor which was a little noisy at night due to traffic/building work going on outside in the distance but the earplugs provided certainly helped & the sheer comfort of the room and the beds more than made up for the noise !

Would definitely stay here again and indeed would feel privileged to do so. Thankyou to all the staff again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 781Pinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

As a native New Yorker who was born and raised in NYC, I can't say enough about the Algonquin. I now live 25 miles away from downtown NYC and stay at the Algonquin everytime I visit the City. The ambience, location, staff, rooms, food and drink are the best the City has to offer. I have stayed at many hotels in the City and the Algonquin is by far the best! It is a quaint boutique hotel with fabulous rooms, great location and the restaurants are impeccable! The Blue Bar serves the best libations on Broadway and the hotel staff is the friendliest and most accommodating staff I have ever encountered. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting NYC! Make sure you day hello to Matilda, the resident feline!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 473 in New York City
3,929 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,766 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#273 of 473 in New York City
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#167 of 473 in New York City
2,475 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#306 of 473 in New York City
944 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#83 of 473 in New York City
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £161 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond hotel in NYC located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in Midtown Manhattan thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection is a historic hotel providing the allure of New York City charm, and it has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing