We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #198 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was third time staying at this hotel. It is so historic witha very comfortable lobby and welcoming staff. We were greeted by and helped in the prompt check in process by Patricia and helped to the room by a friendly bellman Manny. Everyone we came across during our stay was courteous and helpful. Being historic does suggest old so the rooms are smallish but very comfortable and well appointed. The location is perfect for attending the theatre or anything in midtown.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

On our way back from Foxborough, we stopped at time square to sight see. Ran into this great hotel as a last minute stay. Located one block from the heart of time square. Very nice, elegant hotel with the Old Née York flare. Great friendly staff. The bell man was very helpful and knowledgeable about things to do and the area. Parking wasn't bad, the garage is directly across the street for $30 with no in and out, valet was $50. That very reasonable for time square. The room was small, but expected. Very clean, and nicely decorated room. We enjoyed our stay, and site seeing. If you've never been to time square be prepared to walk in tight crowded space.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank datninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My 16 year old son and I went on a three night adventure to New York City! trying to use points caused us to move around each night...so we have a great comparison of three different hotels and areas. This was by far the most friendly and professional staff we came across! The hotel itself is old but with very modern amenities in the rooms - and the lobby just reeks of charm!
Great location and if you want to be close to the center of town and have a car - great parking facilities across the street. The lobby bar is so classy...just enjoy a drink and people watch.
This is where I would stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The are a few things to mention about this hotel that stood out. The first and foremost was the sleep quality on the excellent beds. I found the beds to be really good! Soft sheets and pillows. The bathrooms were modern and the toiletries lovely. I had no issues with the noise, except a general hum that one gets in any city and from the air-conditioning units I suppose. Everything was just comfortable! The only thing to mention is the size of the room, wish it was a tad bigger. The service was great, very friendly staff. I would stay again without a doubt or hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beatbox_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Algonquin- opened 1902- is the oldest continuously operated hotel in NYC but is still a great place to stay. Operated by Marriott as one of their Autograph Hotels, it is very convenient to Times Square and the Theatre District. The rooms are small but we were upgraded to a King since we are long lime Marriott Reward members.
We had an interior room, 409, and had no problem with the noise which can be a factor with the street facing rooms. Ear plugs being provided is a nice touch. Try traveling with a small sound machine to "mask" hallway traffic, etc.
Matilda, the house cat, comes and goes as she pleases in the reception area. Ask where she is and maybe they will bring her out. The breakfast was good and there is a great coffee shop across the street if you want a coffee and pastry etc. Coffee is provided in the lobby during breakfast hours.
The Blue Bar is connected to the lobby and a nice place for a drink at NYC prices.

Room Tip: Interior rooms. Try for the King size bed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjlusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

For us, we'll just pay a little more next time, for a little more room. This place is just a bit too old and funky for us.
Now, if you are into the older more unique properties, go for it.
Front desk service and room service both very good.

Room Tip: "Queen" really means "a double we call a queen" xx17 is a room you can barely op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannyIR, Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Greetings
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments; we appreciate your candid and honest feedback. Our rooms are not large in size however they are comfortable, very well appointed and nicely decorated. We take pride in the service we provide to our guests I am glad that you had a pleasant experience. We do hope you consider us for a future visit and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely
Ms. Abeer Soliman
Sr. Operations Manager Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in a suite which had room for the boys ( 10 and 13) to sleep in one room on a good sized sofa bed and us in a separate bedroom . Hotel staff were very helpful and we were within walking distance of Times Square, grand central , Central Park, Rockefeller centre and broadway. Really nice 24 hour diner next door which was reasonably priced for breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#45 of 469 in New York City
3,742 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#119 of 469 in New York City
2,165 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#269 of 469 in New York City
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#186 of 469 in New York City
2,411 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,578 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £179 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing