We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expect poor service if you purchase on the internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #189 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“expect poor service if you purchase on the internet”
Reviewed 18 November 2005

I was there for three days. They have some very...very small rooms. I stayed on the bed so my Husband could dress. When I asked for a bigger room the next day. I was refused even though I was staying for three days. I explained it was my 50th bithday and I was in the city to celebrate. I thought that would maybe exlicit some postive response, but no . My thought was that I was refused to be accomodated because I paid for the room from expedia. Some hotels do note that discount, and provide poor service accordingly

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    695
    206
    111
    67
See reviews for
298
845
128
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2005

Just arrived back from an 8 night stay at the Hotel Algonquin and would recommend it highly.

During our stay we found the staff to be very helpful and always friendly, with the concierge being especially knowledgable of local and reasonable bars!

The location is fantastic only a few blocks from Times Square and on the corner of 5th Avenue and the hotel was spotless, with the rooms being cleaned to a very high standard daily. The decor is lovely with New Yorker cartoons on the wallpaper in the halls with the hotel being incredibly homely with the bar also being very classy but still friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble for any of the staff.

If we had to pick any 'faults' the tv wasnt great if you plan to use it a great deal and the bar in the hotel was on the pricey side, though their cocktails were very strong!!!!

If you plan to spend your time seeing the sights of New York and dont want to waste time travelling around then this centrally located hotel is perfect as the large majority of sights are well within walking distance.

We have been to New York on several occassions and i know that we will definitely be staying here again!

Look out for "Matilda" the hotel cat who is absolutely beautiful and very friendly!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jo1979UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 November 2005

Warm, friendly staff who seem to know everything about the hotel and the surrounding areas. Super generous and polite. We loved our 2 night stay there and would definitely recommend it to those we know. Was also great having Time Square just a couple blocks away. There was a bit of construction across the street when we were there (late October 2005) which was a bit annoying but didn't change our great impression of the hotel and its knowledgable staff.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2005

This place was fantastic all round and the only thing it missed was a quiet area downstairs to relax in but other than that I cannot fault a thing. The location was excellent; being centered nicely between all the major attractions (Times Square, Empire State Building, 5th Avenue, Broadway and transport centers), the staff were helpful and friendly at all times plus they never failing to hail me a cab within minutes of leaving the front door. The bed was also the most comfortable I have ever slept on and makes mine at home pale in comparison. Overall the Algonquin was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hamish72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 October 2005

If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful hotel with excellent service, the Algonquin is perfect.
* The rooms are on the small side but actually above average for NYC. Ours had a desk, window seat, flat screen TV and the most comfortable bed ever!
* The beds and linens are supremely comfortable - on par with the Ritz in Chicago which is fabulous!
* The hotel staff is wonderful - friendly and helpful.
* As noted in another reiview, the clientele is on the older side (mostly late 40s and up). If you're looking for a place where the young, hip and trendy hang out in the lobby/bar, then this place is not for you. However, I don't go to a hotel to hang out with the other hotel guests and the nightcap we had Saturday night in the lounge area was perfect nice as we could actually hear each other talk!
* Location is perfect - just a couple blocks or so from Times Square.
* The one detraction from all this excellent was the lack of coffee in the room or the lobby area. I can understand not having it in the room as space is somewhat at a premium, but nothing in the lobby that you can take back to your room either? That's just unacceptable. Your options were to sit down in the restaurant and have a cup there (not something I want to do when I've just woken up), order room service ($$$$) or walk a couple of blocks to Starbucks and bring it back. I ended up going to Starbucks but was not very happy about it. Hopefully they will change this practice and set up a morning coffee/tea bar in the lobby. When you're paying this much for a room, I think that's the least they can do.
* Overall, I absolutely loved this hotel and would return in a heartbeat...I'd just be prepared for the morning coffee hike!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 October 2005

Cancelled flights resulted in our staying in NYC for 2 nights this past week. Hotel we normally stay at was booked, but we were able to get a last minute reservation at the Algonquin.

Staff is the friendliest we have encountered in years. From the doorman, front desk, bellman, wait staff in the restaurant - everyone was extremely pleasant and professional. We really must commend the Romanian born bartender who was not only friendly, but who made the best martini I have had in years. He STIRRED it without having to be asked - what a treat in this day of shaken everything. When I complimented him on this he stated "This is the Algonquin where the martini is always stirred." Definitely my kind of place.

I will admit to being over 50 but I also know that I would have been pleased with this hotel had I been 20, 30 or 40 years old.

If you find that your tastes are not mature enough to enjoy the Algonquin do yourself a favor and come back when they are.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2005

Stayed at the Algonquin for 3 nights in September for my first time in NYC. Hotel was lovely - and very very classy. Only really 2 complaints - the room we had was very very small - nice, but small!! Oh and the concierge who initially appeared very helpful was offering tickets for Broadway around 200 dollars each - i walked up to the Ticket Booth and got 2 tickets for 100 dollars for mamma mia. Then when asked to book us a table at a particular restaurant we had asked about - she recommended somewhere else - when we stated no we wanted "Smith and Wollenskys" - she came back to us to say no reservations.....strange that an hour later i walked to the restaurant and got a table immediately. That said, very comfortable hotel which i would be happy to stay in again. Oh and if you love cats - Matilda is a gem!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,643 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#255 of 466 in New York City
2,217 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#122 of 466 in New York City
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#183 of 466 in New York City
2,370 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing