We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for business & pleasure, but........”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #205 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good location for business & pleasure, but........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Good location for business & pleasure, but........ probably the slowest elevators in NYC and the most unstable WIFI network in the US. WIFI is not complimentary and it is a shame that the charge USD 13 for 24 hours for a unstable / not working WIFI connection. In addition both my college and I experienced that the toilets did not work in our rooms on the same day.

Rooms are small and a bit old fashioned according to my standard. Had to sleep with the window open as air quality was very poor.

On the bright side, front desk, housekeeping as well as bellboy are good and very service minded. But again I will choose a different hotel for my next NYC visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Runar P,
Thanks for commenting on your stay with us. I’m sorry to hear about the issues with the elevators and internet connection. We did have an issue with one of our 4 elevators last week and it had to be shut down temporarily until an elevator mechanic could fix it. We do regular preventative maintenance on our elevators but there are times when an unforeseen issue causes us to have to shut an elevator down due to safety reasons until it can be fixed. I’m sorry for the delays this may have caused.
We have a fee of $10.95/day for internet access in our standard rooms but offer complimentary access in our updated executive rooms for a slightly higher rate. We are in the process of upgrading our wireless internet system due to the increased demand with the popularity of mobile devices. We regularly have 100 or more devices utilizing the system at any given time and rarely have any complaints. Occasionally, an access point will fail and will need to be replaced. With the new system in place, we will be able to monitor all of our access points and immediately know when there is an issue so it can be addressed. The speed will also be dramatically increased with the addition of new technology.
Thank you again for your comments and I hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,971
    2,327
    590
    205
    117
See reviews for
1,713
1,379
138
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

In a word 'depressing'. Beautiful outside. Not so much inside. Dark and dingy. Plugs and wires stuffed down the top end of the bed mattress (room 420). No available power points. Had to unplug air conditioning to use. Not enough towels given. Only one per adult. Not great if you have to wash your hair. The 'Fitness room' was crap. One of the only weight's machines was damaged and alot of the free weights were missing. I would describe the staff as lethargic at best. I was told a taxi was booked to take me to the airport at 5.30pm but when I arrived to wait for it I was told they didn't book taxi's and it was a difficult time to flag one. You can hear neighbours through the walls. There must be better in NYC!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerilouise222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just come back from or first trip to New York. We stayed at the Belvedere Hotel which we cannot praise enough. We had two rooms, a double and twin. Rooms were a great size, enough room for luggage and all of those souvenirs, and very clean. Beds were so comfortable that we always git a good night's sleep. Bathroom was clean and the amount of amenities in the rooms was great. View from the room was wonderful. There was a lot of choice for breakfast - full american and continental. Food was of a good standard and piping hot. Hotel is also in a very good location - not even a 10 minute walk to Times Square. Easy walking distance to the theatres and several tourist attractions (we were able to walk from the hotel to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Radio City, Madison Square Gardens and the Rockafella Centre). The hotel is also very near several restaurants such as Planet Hollywood, TGI Fridays and the Hard Rock Cafe (which is very good!) Overall, this hotel added to a perfect holiday and we would definitely book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are much bigger than a double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comedyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed at the Belvedere over Thanksgiving weekend. The convenience for Broadway shows, Times Square and seeing the Rockettes was exactly what we were looking for. I stayed with my two grown daughters. The room was big enough for us and nicely appointed. We weren't looking to be in room other than to freshen up and sleep, which is what we did. They held our luggage for us before our room was ready and again on our checkout day, they held our luggage so that we could go out and enjoy our day before heading home. We were on the 14th floor and had a lovely view of the tall buildings. The previous reviews I read stated that the elevators were terrible. I didn't find that at all. We never had a wait longer than two minutes for an elevator. I would highly recommend the Belvedere when in New York City.

Room Tip: Definitely request the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just finished our. Thanksgiving getaway with the kids. All Nice and helpful staff but one bellman maybe he's having a bad day. I agree with other reviewer as far as room temperature control. Otherwise it was a nice place to stay. We are family of 5.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaqRNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We didnt know the Belveder.
We made an order through Hotwire. The price for the double executive room was 229 $.
Its a big room [we are 2 parents+3 boys]
Kitchenette with Refrigerator + microwave + coffemaker
Very good location. subway 2 blocks away. of broadway but not noisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yudcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia md
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is a solid 3 star based on the AAA or Expedia type ratings. The location is fabulous if you plan on going to the theatre and Times Square. The walls were very thin, as we heard our neighbors on a regular basis. We could not control the temperature in the room so I suggest bringing PJ's for hot or cold.. we were hot. The elevators are extremely slow and in demand, so allow extra time when going in and out. There was no "quick stop by the room". Seems that the hotel offers many discount packages for many different prices so check around or even call the hotel to find the best deal you can get. (Some rates include breakfast... ours did not). Bring your own extra hangers. The Concierge and Bellman were very helpful and provided accurate information. The front desk provided accurate information if you asked the right detailed question, so I would suggest asking one of the Bellman or the Concierge. I might stay there again, if the price is right, but will compare other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Up and away from the elevators seemed ok, but the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,817 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,849 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing