We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #221 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We managed to get a great price for our room as we booked months in advance. Our room was on the 10th floor with a king bed and a view towards 49th St. The room was a lot more spacious than we were expecting (this is NYC after all) and it was very comfortable and warm. The shower was also a lot better than others we had used in a while. We were there during the 'polar vortex' in early Jan, and it was nice to have somewhere to peel off the many layers of clothing and relax in the warmth! The room got very hot at night (had to sleep on top of the covers), but that's a lot better than being bitterly cold.
The location is superb for a tourist, with a bewildering number of great bars and restaurants very close by. It was an easy walk to Central Park and the Met museum of art. Theatres are all close by, and of course Times Sq is a short 5min walk away. Plenty of subway stops are very handy too.
I had read a lot of reviews complaining about the elevators having long wait times, but we stayed for 6 nights and not once did we have to wait for what we would consider to be too long. The coin laundry in the basement was like a gift from the heavens as we had been on the road for over a month and we were very close to running out of clean clothes! I only wish more hotels had this service!
The staff were very nice and helpful, in particular the concierge/s who were always happy to offer some great advice. Next time we are in NYC, we would definitely look at staying at the Belvedere again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,705 - 1,711 of 5,549 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in January for 4 nights. We were given a room on the 4th floor with double aspect and views to Times Square and the Hudson River. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The location was excellent, a walk to Central Park and Times Square and a subway station. If location is key and value for money this is a good choice. The only downside, the elevators were slow as they were so busy. Staff were efficient and courteous. There are plenty of coffee shops locally for breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JammyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nothing special about the hotel, kinda dated but kept up well enough. It's in a good location for tourists and cheaper then staying midtown or on the east side. Bottom line is the hotel does it's job as an adequate place to stay on a budget

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I apparently had the second best room in the hotel could of got the best but really didn't need 2 double beds being alone haha anyway did expect more as the pictures when booking were different from the room :/, anyway room was quite small but modern stylish and clean anyway would recommend :)

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Usernametaken90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Its not very clean. Not very comfortable. But if you only stay their for one night. Its fine. At least it has two double bed in two different 'room'.It just near the street so it is noisy. It needs 15 minutes walk to the subway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicezengyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We chose the Belvedere for a long NYC weekend in January, and could not have been more pleased. There were three people in our party, and our executive double/double room on the 12th floor accommodated us perfectly - the complimentary wifi is definitely not typical of a NYC hotel. The location and price of this property cannot be beat - each of the two Broadway shows we saw was within a two block radius of the hotel. Our package even included full breakfast for each night of our stay! It wasn't your typical complimentary breakfast, but a full hot breakfast with pancakes/waffles, eggs, meat potatoes - I could go on and on! The housekeeping was immaculate, and every staff member I encountered was just wonderfully hospitable. They even allowed us a 4pm check out on our day of departure at no charge, due to a member of our party being sick - they definitely consistently went above and beyond to make sure we had as pleasant a stay as possible. Thanks, Belvedere staff! We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a really good location.

Some of the staff on the front desk weren't that friendly, but that doesn't really bother me - I'm not there to have a chat.

The concierge guys were nice however.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,462 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,941 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#158 of 471 in New York City
5,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#313 of 471 in New York City
10,094 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 471 in New York City
4,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Address: 319 W 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belvedere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing