We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #227 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Great location, great staff!
Loved having a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Bathroom was really tiny and water temp fluctuated greatly during shower. Beds were sort of hard and creaky but overall nice stay and would stay again for the right price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,570 of 5,442 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our travel agent recommended this hotel and despite being skeptical and looking around for better deals and locations, we settled on staying here. What a good decision. The hotel is in a quitter street, close to all the action in New York. Although older, the rooms are modern and spacious and the location could not be better. We walked to all our desired shopping, dining and theatre destinations, as well as times square on a number of occasions. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again on any future visits to Manhattan.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the lifts may be noisy (as anywhere would) but we had a large spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-YCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at Belvedere for 8 days in March and it was fantastic. The location is perfect, being in Midtown and close to Times Square(but not too close) and Hells Kitchen for great restaurants. The subway is on the same block and its really central. WE upgraded to a deluxe room which had free Wifi and certainly worth it, it was really well appointed and beds we super comfortable. The staff were excellent, especial Ed the concierge who got us tickets to the Lion King and organised and advised us on other things. Love this hotel would recommend it highly.

Thank Ange B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is perfectly located within close proximity to Times Square and lots of great restaurants, theatres and all the great things that NY city has to offer. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. If you needed to take a cab, the doorman would just get one for you in front of the hotel. The room was very nice, smaller than I thought it would be-especially since I reserved an executive suite! But overall the room was very nice. The bathroom was wall to wall marble- I would have liked to have a bigger sink area/counter to be able to put my toiletries and blow-dry my hair. This I would have to say was my only complaint. We had free wifi internet service and all the rest was wonderful. Nice hotel, amazing location and really nice service. Price was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Despina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

By NYC standards, these rooms are large and extremely clean. The bathroom was medium size, but, also, very clean. Always had plenty of towels and toiletries. Great location blocks from Times Square. Easy walk to many restaurants and theaters. The only drawback was the concierge was not that helpful and the prices he quoted were not competitive. Overall, a wonderful find. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJDGtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Pros: Location. This is within walking distance to many of the attractions, and the subways are also close by. Cons: Very slippery floors in the room, especially the bathroom - dangerous. Very slow and small elevators with long wait times. No free WiFi (in this day and age???). Very hot in room, with no way to control the heat, and the heat banged and made other loud noise most of the night. Breakfast was pretty pricey for a mediocre continental breakfast. Overall would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed February 2014 for 6 nights in an upgraded room on 15th floor. Room and view great. . With Times Square just around the corner and Central Park 20 minutes walk away, Macys, Empire State, Rockafella Centre and Grand Central Station all within walking distance and most other sightseeing musts within easy reach. New York is amazing. We used the hotel purely as a base so didn't try the restaurant but it looked nice and quite busy when we had a quick peak. We did have an extremely noisy radiator in the room which woke you up during the night but as we didn't complain we won't hold that against them! Would recommend this hotel and would use it again,

Room Tip: Possibly the higher up the less noise if any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghSightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,250 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
437 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,303 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#162 of 469 in New York City
5,500 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 318 W 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £122 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing