We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location and comfy beds!”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #224 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Allana C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,479 of 5,436 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Clean, roomy, awesome location, great staff. Would stay again if I make it to NY. I liked the fact that it was a bit older and had history behind it. Concierge on duty 12 hours a day which was helpful. We had room service one night and it was good.

Room Tip: Spacious. Price was good in comparison to others. Clean!! Location is excellent. We heard compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeneane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Belvedere is a wonderfully comfortable and excellently located hotel near Times Square, the theater district, and shopping. I have been staying here for over 10 years. The staff is professional and helpful and the rooms are spotless. They also have great seasonal sales you should check out. Our most recent trip was for our daughter's high school graduation gift, and we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: go for one of the executive rooms -- they are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First night in...AC didn't work. Told no other rooms available so the management did send in their repair man to work overtime on it. Kind. But overtime mean't we remained awake with a man using a blow torch to blow off the ice on our AC until after midnite. No compensation was offered until I requested it. And even then...it required serious requesting. I was given 2 free breakfasts. Room was nice. Bed comfortable. But the alarm clock didn't operate easily and kept alarming unless I unplugged it. And following check out, within about 12 hrs, I realized I'd left behind an item in the bathroom. Called to have it returned and told not in lost n found. Refused to actually check the room "again" until my fourth call. (The item was one I really regretted losing!). Told not in room. Nor was it placed in lost n found by the original housekeeper. I was told no other guests had been assigned the room since I departed this morning. Which means there is but one answer. Terribly disappointing. Will not return. Hotel clerk would only assert their housekeepers are honest. Never could get them to agree to actually ask the original housekeeper. Not surprising as it was pulling teeth to get them to check the actual room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzannesW2693SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Suzanne S,
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Belvedere Hotel. I’m sorry to hear you feel we are overpriced. I recognize that there are many choices of hotels in Manhattan, and we work very hard to stay competitive, not only by offering great rates and promotions, but by providing quality accommodations and service. I reviewed your account and see that you booked a promotional rate that was extremely competitive for the time that you stayed with us. You also stayed in our highest quality executive room. I am familiar with the air conditioner issue in your room. Unfortunately, we did not have another room available so late in the evening since we were sold out, so an engineer was sent to the room to fix the unit. As you mentioned, breakfast was also offered for the inconvenience.
I see in the Lost & Found log that you reported a lost curling iron in the evening after you checked out. When reported, the Housekeeping Manager checked the lost & found area and log and did not find the item. I understand your frustration about the missing curling iron, but I have no reason to believe the staff took it. We have a strict lost & found policy and any items left in the room after departure are promptly turned in and logged in case they are claimed. For valuables that are found, we make every attempt to notify our guests by phone or e-mail if provided. I will have the staff check again and we will notify you if your curling iron is found.
Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's an older hotel, but for me that's part of it's charm. Great rates for being in the heart of NYC. Staff is happy and helpful. I would stay here again! I have never been in any hotel that was cleaner. Floor was a shiny as a mirror.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Love this hotel! The Belvedere is in a great location. While this hotel is in a nice quiet neighborhood, within a short walk you will find Times Square, many Broadway theaters, tons of wonderful restaurants, and subway stops. We stayed in an Executive Room. The rooms are spacious with a refrigerator and microwave. With this room we had free WiFi, which was a great feature. The room was clean and was cleaned daily throughout our six night stay. The staff is wonderful to work with and very helpful. We will definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJustForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice art deco hotel with friendly helpful staff, well located on relatively quiet street. close to Broadway and Times Square and not far from Central Park. I called the Hotel the day before arrival and asked if there was a chance of a room with a view and we were put on the 14th floor so had a pretty decent outlook. room was a good size, clean and a bathroom although a bit small was functional and the beds are very comfortable. Aircon a bit noisy

Room Tip: higher rooms a bit quieter, south side good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 469 in New York City
7,235 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#87 of 469 in New York City
433 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 469 in New York City
5,293 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#162 of 469 in New York City
5,492 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 469 in New York City
9,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 318 w 48th street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing