We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Belvedere
Ranked #206 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Got a great price on Hotwire for four nights, so expected to get a non-refurbished room on a lower floor.
There are additional elevators at each end of the hall which I think most don't know about.
Location is fantastic right between Times Square and Hell's Kitchen neighborhoods. It was nice to turn into the quiet tree lined 48th after the hectic 8th avenue.
Patzeria two doors down great for breakfast, all the choices in the world for food on ninth ave both directions.
Beds a little soft without the updated white duvet covers in newer hotels. Biggest problem was the old, noisy ac unit in the window. Had to leave curtain open to use ac so mornings had the choice of temp control vs waking at the crack of dawn. Kitchen cubicle with fridge, microwave, sink and coffee maker. Had our own water kettle. No glasses, but provide paper and plastic cups. TV fine, closet and drawer space adequate. Shower curtain too short so always had water on the floor no matter how careful. Bathroom otherwise fine, one day with cold shower otherwise adequate pressure and temp.
Overall would stay again gladly for the price!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank olesiabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,932
    2,264
    577
    203
    117
See reviews for
1,664
1,344
136
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

It is in a great location for the theatre district and close to Times Square but not so close you have blaring lights and sounds all night long. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are lots of nice restaurants nearby. The only complaint would be that the elevators are small.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EatMyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Location-this is a great hotel. 5min walk to T Sq. After that, it's an over-priced Motel 6. $50 to park a minivan. Valet is $55 but they take it 10 blocks away. Cont. breakfast is $14. Had a broken TV, cold shower (boiler out), and crappy motel beds. Old window A/C. Find another hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robmx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, PA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed two nights. Hotel toe blocks off the center of time square. Convenient location for theater district as well. Nicely sized rooms with small kitchen areas to include sink, microwave and refrigerator. Small coffee pot in the room as well. Lobby coffee would be a welcome bonus. Some check in staff nicer, more informative than others but overall staff very friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this hotel mostly based on it's location. this was a weekend birthday trip for me and friends. We arrived 1 hour before check-in and to our surprise the hotel staff accommodated us right away, even though I was wearing my Red Sox gear!! Not only we were able to check in early, we were also given rooms on the 17th floor, room 1717, away from the street noise. To our surprise the room was big compared to other hotels in the area we stayed on previous trips to the city. And it was also very clean. The bathroom was also a good size and clean. It was great to have a refrigerator (to keep our beers cold), and a microwave, sink, and coffee maker.
now, the location is superb, really close to Times Square, theatres, Restaurant row, and many bars. The subway station is two blocks away, really convenient since we took the subway from the airport and carried our luggage. Will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I read reviews and researched before booking this hotel..this hotel was rated as one of the Best by all of the previous guests..the reviews are very truthful. We flew in on a Monday and checked in for one night, we took a cruise out on Tuesday. We wanted a good location to walk around and see some of the city. This was it. The room was very comfortable, the shower was wonderful in the bath...my son thought it was the Best he ever had...lol. The beds were comfortable and cozy. The lighting wad a little dark, over all the room was great...but than it should be for over $300.00 any thing less I would have been very upset for that price...with taxes almost $400.00 a night. The hotel was not at capacity...and they would not give us a higher room with a veiw..that was the only downfall..they put us on the third floor...with a view of apartments across the street..very disappointing for my 14 year old who wanted to see the city. I told them we would prefer a higher room they would not accommodate us..I have been in customer service all my life and that was poor service especially when they have availability. Our stay was on June 16th a Monday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location of the hotel is it's prime bonus! It's near everything (subway, theaters, time square, restaurants). The rooms were well kept & good sized. The bathroom was a little small, but we weren't in the room much, so it really didn't matter. There was a little fridge, microwave, & sink which made it great to put waters & reheat food. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating & gracious. All in all, an exceptional stay! I will stay here again & suggest it to friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a side view of Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,558 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#154 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,446 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#157 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#258 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing