We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Hotel”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #209 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bexley, Kent , United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday Hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel for a week as part of a package deal and we were not disappointed, on arrival we were greeted by a lady named Virginia who I called Vanesa for the whole week, sorry Virginia.
All the girls on reception that day were tolerant and helpful to us who had not visited NYC before, they helped with directions, maps, eating areas and they laughed and smiled a lot with us which set the scene for our weeks stay.
Quite a few business people as well as holiday makers were staying at e time however this mix was just right.
The room was large and the beds were very comfortable, cleaned daily as expected and good ambience.
We had as part of the deal breakfast which was the same each day, however a decent choice was available so rotation of choice was good for a weeks stay.
We found a Italian restaurant two doors away (turn left outside main doors) which was really fantastic and the manager was a very friendly lady and one the waiters Genario is areal character worth a visit.
We would stay here again as it is close to all areas worth visiting although plenty of walking is an expectation on this type of holiday.
Ground zero is a must too visit and is very moving (hanky chiefs at the ready).
The city is a wonderful busy city which is full of life all of the 24 hours per day.
Shopping, sites to see, friendly (except the yellow cabs) and safe, will definitely will be going back but it's very busy and I found a week is enough per visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,008
    2,377
    605
    210
    119
See reviews for
1,759
1,413
140
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oneida, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A friend and I stayed here Aug 1-5, 2014. The 2 double room on the 11th floor was quiet, immaculate and well-furnished, with comfortable beds as well as a small fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, and extra sink. The AC worked fine during the hot August days…room was always cool and comfortable. Bathroom was small but serviceable, with abundant hot water, and the toiletries are lovely! The location is excellent -- midtown -- right in the heart of the theatre district and a couple of blocks from Times Square…it was an easy walk everywhere we wanted to go. But the standout feature of this hotel is its staff -- helpful, professional and very friendly. Chris and Stefani at the concierge desk found same-night theatre tix, dinner reservations and the tour tickets that we were looking for. Bellmen Eric, Pete, Eduardo and Jose were prompt, efficient and also gave great advice re: restaurants. Ryan and Margaret at the front desk took care of us and got us into our room before the promised 4:00 check-in time. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bajeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Belvedere for 1 night on 8/2. Overall, we were happy enough with the experience, but there were some gaps.

We arrived around 10 AM and checked in, not expecting a room to be ready - we wanted to drop our bags and start our day. We were "guaranteed" a room "by 4PM" according to the person who checked us in. They took my cell number to call if it was ready sooner. We arrived at 4:45, and were told the room wasn't ready yet. We waited in the lobby for nearly 25 minutes before the room was free. They said the delay was due to us being in a group. We were NOT part of any group. That was curious. At no point during that gap while we sat in the lobby wasting time was our ticket passed to the bell staff for retrieval. That was annoying. It added an additional 10 minutes to our down time.

Because of these delays, we missed our dinner reservation, which nearly made us miss our Broadway show!

I take issue with the use of the word "guarantee" -- if I'm given a guarantee, I expect it to be delivered. For these reasons, we will find a different place to stay next time we're in the city.

On the upside.... The beds were comfy and the toiletries were great! The fridge came in handy for water bottles, and I'm sure the microwave would have been very useful for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a microwave, mini fridge and extra sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubbyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The service here was great! I asked if they could upgrade us to one of the higher floors. The girl at the desk found one that had been remodeled recently on the 10th floor. It was nice and my family and I loved it. The beds were very comfortable and the room was surprisingly large. The location was excellent! The room was very clean. We will definitely stay here again_!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonjaredjoe37312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our first stay at The Belvedere, and having gotten a great price, were not sure if it was a "bargain" hotel or not. We were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and clean the hotel was being kept, and we found our room to be spacious, and the King-size bed one of the most comfortable on which we have ever slept. The room had a small kitchen with a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The only downside we had was we felt the air conditioner (we visited in July) was having a hard time keeping up with the temperature and humidity of Manhattan in the summer! The location, in the heart of Hells Kitchen, is great because of its convenience to theaters and so many great places to eat. They have a great staff, and they did a wonderful job making sure we were happy and well served. Definitely a great place to stay for our Anniversary. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If it is just the two of you, get the King-size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice room, excellent service, close to everything including subway, restaurants, time square, shows. They were very attentive and very quickly responded to requests. I liked the fact they had a microwave and fridge (handy if you travel with kids). Just a short subway ride to Penn Station

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DCMattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revere, Ma.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent three nights at this hotel and would return again no problem. Its location is fantastic, just a two minute walk from the Theatre District, Times Sq, 30 Rock, The Empire State Building and countless eateries. The hotel staff was very nice and the rooms were clean. It was built in the 20's with an art deco theme which it retains to this day. Its primarily a business hotel, there is no pool or arcade for the kids. It had a fridge and coffee maker, blow dryer, iron and an in room safe. We would return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pokershark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 466 in New York City
5,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 466 in New York City
9,448 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,484 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing