We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #223 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed August 2014 for 5 days. I booked the executive king suite. It featured free wifi, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, desk. The bathroom was marble and the entire room looked recently updated.
The only con was they do not have a restaurant. Room service provided by local restaurants, which I tried and were pretty good. The hotel serves a continental breakfast that looks brought in by a caterer in the morning (for $20 I cannot recommend the breakfast), but many restaurants and shops are near by. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 5,488 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed at the Belvedere a couple of weeks ago, but hadn't been there in four years. I am happy to say it's still a great little hotel that is within walking distance of all the theaters. It's located on a quiet side street. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was nice and reliable. There is a great fridge in each room, which is essential for keeping up one's fortitude with cold drinks and snacks when visiting hell's kitchen in the summer! The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The only thing I would change is the worn carpeting - nice hardwood floors would be a great improvement :-) But overall, I love this little oasis in the the heart of the theater district.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for a week as part of a package deal and we were not disappointed, on arrival we were greeted by a lady named Virginia who I called Vanesa for the whole week, sorry Virginia.
All the girls on reception that day were tolerant and helpful to us who had not visited NYC before, they helped with directions, maps, eating areas and they laughed and smiled a lot with us which set the scene for our weeks stay.
Quite a few business people as well as holiday makers were staying at e time however this mix was just right.
The room was large and the beds were very comfortable, cleaned daily as expected and good ambience.
We had as part of the deal breakfast which was the same each day, however a decent choice was available so rotation of choice was good for a weeks stay.
We found a Italian restaurant two doors away (turn left outside main doors) which was really fantastic and the manager was a very friendly lady and one the waiters Genario is areal character worth a visit.
We would stay here again as it is close to all areas worth visiting although plenty of walking is an expectation on this type of holiday.
Ground zero is a must too visit and is very moving (hanky chiefs at the ready).
The city is a wonderful busy city which is full of life all of the 24 hours per day.
Shopping, sites to see, friendly (except the yellow cabs) and safe, will definitely will be going back but it's very busy and I found a week is enough per visit

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A friend and I stayed here Aug 1-5, 2014. The 2 double room on the 11th floor was quiet, immaculate and well-furnished, with comfortable beds as well as a small fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, and extra sink. The AC worked fine during the hot August days…room was always cool and comfortable. Bathroom was small but serviceable, with abundant hot water, and the toiletries are lovely! The location is excellent -- midtown -- right in the heart of the theatre district and a couple of blocks from Times Square…it was an easy walk everywhere we wanted to go. But the standout feature of this hotel is its staff -- helpful, professional and very friendly. Chris and Stefani at the concierge desk found same-night theatre tix, dinner reservations and the tour tickets that we were looking for. Bellmen Eric, Pete, Eduardo and Jose were prompt, efficient and also gave great advice re: restaurants. Ryan and Margaret at the front desk took care of us and got us into our room before the promised 4:00 check-in time. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bajeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Belvedere for 1 night on 8/2. Overall, we were happy enough with the experience, but there were some gaps.

We arrived around 10 AM and checked in, not expecting a room to be ready - we wanted to drop our bags and start our day. We were "guaranteed" a room "by 4PM" according to the person who checked us in. They took my cell number to call if it was ready sooner. We arrived at 4:45, and were told the room wasn't ready yet. We waited in the lobby for nearly 25 minutes before the room was free. They said the delay was due to us being in a group. We were NOT part of any group. That was curious. At no point during that gap while we sat in the lobby wasting time was our ticket passed to the bell staff for retrieval. That was annoying. It added an additional 10 minutes to our down time.

Because of these delays, we missed our dinner reservation, which nearly made us miss our Broadway show!

I take issue with the use of the word "guarantee" -- if I'm given a guarantee, I expect it to be delivered. For these reasons, we will find a different place to stay next time we're in the city.

On the upside.... The beds were comfy and the toiletries were great! The fridge came in handy for water bottles, and I'm sure the microwave would have been very useful for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a microwave, mini fridge and extra sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tubbyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The service here was great! I asked if they could upgrade us to one of the higher floors. The girl at the desk found one that had been remodeled recently on the 10th floor. It was nice and my family and I loved it. The beds were very comfortable and the room was surprisingly large. The location was excellent! The room was very clean. We will definitely stay here again_!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannonjaredjoe37312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our first stay at The Belvedere, and having gotten a great price, were not sure if it was a "bargain" hotel or not. We were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and clean the hotel was being kept, and we found our room to be spacious, and the King-size bed one of the most comfortable on which we have ever slept. The room had a small kitchen with a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The only downside we had was we felt the air conditioner (we visited in July) was having a hard time keeping up with the temperature and humidity of Manhattan in the summer! The location, in the heart of Hells Kitchen, is great because of its convenience to theaters and so many great places to eat. They have a great staff, and they did a wonderful job making sure we were happy and well served. Definitely a great place to stay for our Anniversary. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If it is just the two of you, get the King-size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 469 in New York City
4,872 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 469 in New York City
11,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#84 of 469 in New York City
464 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 469 in New York City
9,829 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#139 of 469 in New York City
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 318 W 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £109 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing