We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #370 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were real happy in the fact that the Hotel was close to a lot of stuff we wanted to do in New York, Nice reception area , rooms are little average, no late night room service but there is a great place close called bread and butter that has a great menu. I would stay there again

Barry R Jones Jr
Lynn Rae Moore

Adventure Bums
get off the path

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurebums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    805
    377
    188
    122
See reviews for
321
769
145
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Company booked me in this hotel for business but I extended my stay to enjoy a little vacation in NYC. Great hotel: very pleasant and accommodating staff, unbeatable location, charming interiors, and delicious food from restaurant for room service. Only wish there were coffee-makers in the rooms. Given the opportunity, will definitely be back and yes, would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGirl725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
CityGirl725
Thank you for visiting the Carlton and for writing this review. We enjoyed reading your comments. Tea/ Coffee is complimentary for all our hotel guests in our business center in the lobby level of the hotel.
Cheers,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here in early March with my boyfriend over the weekend. The lobby was beautiful, the concierge greeted us with a lukewarm reception, however it was busy which I can understand. We went with the "superior queen room" which was tiny but cozy, I can't imagine how much smaller the standard rooms are. My biggest compliant was a feeling that everything in the room was a little warm. The overthrow blanket had pills on it, the white leather desk chair the leather was peeled off the sides and the shower just didn't feel as clean as i'm accustomed too when staying at a Marriott property. All in all it was a comfortable bed to sleep in which was all I was looking for on this trip. I don't think I was too bothered because we got such a great deal on the price.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go smaller then a "queen superior"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycgirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
nycgirl17
Thank you visiting us and for writing this revew. We hope that you decide to visit us again.
Sincerely,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Checked into the Carleton for a one night weekend stay. Lobby is well designed and the staff was efficient and friendly. Walked to the elevators which are pretty small but the building is older. Got to our floor and opened the door to our room - they gave us pretty much the smallest possible room overlooking a roof. Nice ambiance, but I suppose someone had to get it. A lof of the furniture and woodwork was dinged and damaged and made the place look and feel cheap. The bathroom was tiny and had peeling paint on the ceiling and the wall paper was coming apart. Overall it was clean but definitely poorly taken care of. I'm sure some of the more expensive rooms on the higher floors are more spacious and perhaps better taken care of, but not ours. They did a great job renovating this place, it's a shame they don't take care of it. The lobby bathroom was high end but again clearly not maintained. Toilet paper holders were falling out of the wall and there was no TP in one of the stalls. Countertop grout was black and looked moldy. You can definitely find better places in NYC to blow $300 a night.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Madison Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelF116303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
MichaelFed,

Thank you for visiting the Carlton Hotel and for writing this review. We are pleased with your comments about our staff and about the renovation that we did to our hotel. We do take great pride in our hotel and apologize for the issues that you encountered. Our Engineering personnel do complete preventative maintenance constantly throughout the building. We were unable to locate your booking so perhaps you would be so kind as to send me an email with the room number to vfreeman@carltonhotelny.com so we can be sure to address the concerns in the room you occupied.

Hopefully we will have the oppurtunity to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We travel to New York fairly frequently as we have a son at NYU in Greenwich Village (9th st.), We drive to New Haven and take the Metro North train into Grand Central, The Carlton Hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the train station, but even easier to get to by subway, (28th st. stop) or by taxi. It's about halfway to the village, which makes it easy for my son to meet us. It's a short walk to everything from this location: Herald Square, Times Square, Greenwich Village, The room is small but comfortable, with robes in the closet, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, safe. There's a mini bar, that was so overpriced, I wished they had replaced it with a coffee maker instead. One complaint is that there are not enough electrical outlets to be practical. For a couple showering, drying hair, makeup, etc, the bathroom is not large enough for two, but there is no where else to "plug in". Skip the weekend breakfast at the hotel, and walk across the street and uptown less than a block to a couple of cafe's that serve a great breakfast for two for a fraction of the price. For a city that never sleeps, the area is pretty quiet after 11 on a Saturday night, and we couldn't find any place for a little dessert. All in all, we will choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room with zero view, and that was fine with us. 538
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkjdwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Pkjdwalsh –
Thank you for choosing the Carlton for your weekend visit to the city. We hope that we become your home away from home when you’re coming in to visit your son.
Best regards,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel was perfect. I only stayed one night while I was in town for business, but really couldn't have asked for better. It's in a great location, the lobby is really nice, the check in was quick and efficient, bed was comfortable, and room was clean. What more can you ask for? The lobby bar and hotel restaurant were busy and very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
EmilyJT –
Thank you for writing this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This place needs some serious attention. The valet was amazing. Very polite and helpful. That's where it ends. The other team members were rude. Even though I had a "do not disturb" on my door, at 10.00am there was a knock and I was asked what time I was checking out. Then at 11.00am (DND) still on door, was told by the housekeeper that I needed to check out as she needed to clean the room. In all the years of traveling, that has never happened to me. She even rolled her eyes when I said I'll be out of there in half an hour. The rooms need maintenance. Dirty grout, Linen that's had it's day and just a general feeling of yuk. Oh, and $10.00 for a small bottle of water. Come on..

Room Tip: A tip for choosing a room: choose one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Milo O -

Thank you visiting the Carlotn Hotel. We apologize for your poor experience and regret that we were of great disappointment to you.
We do hope you decide to visit us again as this level of service is not at all the norm as we receive a tremendous amount of positive feedback almost daily.

Sincerely,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#271 of 468 in New York City
281 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,194 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#152 of 468 in New York City
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron Hotel
#341 of 468 in New York City
769 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,959 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#131 of 468 in New York City
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 88 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7412
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Green Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing