We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible birthday surprise” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #365 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montclair, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Horrible birthday surprise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband booked The Franklin Hotel for a birthday gift for me so we could enjoy a day at the Met and on the Upper East Side of Manhattan. We had a confirmed reservation and were told we could even leave our little suitcase there earlier in the day before official check-in time. When we arrived at 11, we were told there was no room and it didn't matter that we had a confirmed reservation. They offered to move us to a hotel in the 40s but that would have meant miles of walking to the museum and back. Though we were there first and were told by the front desk that 14 other people were checking in that afternoon, they refused to allow us to be one of the 14 though we had booked weeks earlier. Rude, awful and not willing to pay the difference we had to spend on another hotel. Don't book this hotel and expect to get a room. Front desk told us that they ofter overbook and you will not know were you are staying.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel. Awful, rude, would not honor a confirmed reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Maryann,

As we strive to ensure all of our guests have complete 100% satisfaction it upsets my team and myself to hear that it caused you a great inconvenience. I hope that when we brought you to another close by hotel that was to your satisfaction. Again our deepest apologies for your inconvenience and we hope you change your mind and come back to our hotel again!


Regards,
David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    256
    116
    49
    51
See reviews for
105
269
98
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent location. Walking distance from the Met, Central Park, the Guggenheim, and shopping on Madison Avenue. Clean, comfortable beds made up with clean, crisp white duvet coves. No scary floral print bedspreads here! Elegant colors and decor in bedrooms. Fantastic staff, and (I have to say it again because it is so important!) It is VERY CLEAN!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Jennifer H,

Thanks for picking us- I’m so glad we exceeded your expectations and that you loved our location. I am more than happy that you placed a great emphasis on how clean our rooms are; Our staff works hard to make our guest's experience as pleasurable as possible. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.


Warmest regards,
David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My DH and I stayed 4 nights which we booked for 2 people a month and a half ago for our 4th trip to NewYork
PROS: great location, around the corner from a Metro stop
Very clean
Comfortable bed with nice linens (4 pillows but very tired and flat)
Satisfactory European style breakfast: juice, coffee, tea, milk, yoghurt, cheddar cheese, cold cereal, store-bought baked goods
CONS: Room is very, very small - hotel does not differ in description between "guest room" and "petite guest room". Our reservation confirmation did not specify that we would be in a "petite guestroom". Bathroom door opens only part way due to heating register. Not so bad in itself but the opening is compromised on the otherside by the corner of the sink vanity which is butted up against the bathroom door frame. You literally have to turn sideways to squeeze through the opening and we are average size people. Yes, the sink is in the bedroom. We actually don't mind this as it allows someone to shave/put on makeup while the bathroom is occupied if you could only see!
There is no lighting for the vanity mirror, probably because it is in the bedroom. Very poor lighting from the ceiling light behind you or the low level bedside lamps also behind you.
Website describes beds as "European-style antique beds". They are not antique. Bed has no antique frame. Bed has a common steel support that fits under the box spring only. The headboard is as shown on the website however it is only a mock headboard bolted to the wall above the bed. Very narrow space to access bed on one side due to above mentioned register.
Our room had a small window with only tired brown blinds - no lovely drapes as depicted in the photo of the "petite guest room".
No dresser. No closet to speak of. Just a narrow box, 6"deep which opened awkwardly from the end up against the wall mounted TV. Only 3 hangers provided. The only other hanging space available was a single hook on the inside of bathroom door. No towel racks. No luggage rack nor space to put it anyway. Totally not suitable when there are 2 adults staying for several days. Upon arriving in the room we called the desk to inquire about moving to another room. We were told there was not an available room for 2 more days. The hotel never followed up on this.
We had to ask for a second washcloth 2 of the 4 nights - they left 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels - why only 1 washcloth?
We had to ask for the iPod compatible clock radio as listed in the room's amenities. A partially functioning one was delivered. It only told time - no alarm, no radio.
The smoke alarm started chirping at 3:00 a.m. My husband took it down but was unable to get the battery to release and did not want to force it so he took it down to the desk. Someone came at 11:00 next morning to replace it. Told it needed a new battery. Really!! Obviously the hotel is employing an unsafe practice of letting the batteries run down rather than replacing them at regular intervals.
Would we stay here again? Certainly not in a petite guest room! A small room is one thing but when the functionality of the room is severely compromised that is quite another. It is unfortunate the hotel does not acknowledge this. This combined with poor service (having to requesto basic amenities - nothing beyond a verbal apology for the interupted night's sleep); and misleading info on the website is quite off putting.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a petite guest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kasonhill1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Kasonhill1547,

Thank you staying with us here at The Franklin and for providing us feedback about your stay. I do apologize that there were issues with your room, and that the front desk was unable to move you.
We pride ourselves on our guests having the best experience possible, and would welcome the opportunity to give you an experience that exceeds your expectations. I'd like to offer you a complimentary upgrade, subject to availability during your next stay. Please contact my assistant, Crystaline Ramos at email: cramos@shorehamhotel.com to make the necessary arrangements. We look forward to seeing you in the near future and thank you once again for your feedback.


Regards,
David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

CLEAN! beautiful rooms yet small. no views but staff is so helpful, friendly. I give up ammenities for a clean room and perfect staff
close to many nice restaurants shopping museum row and central park. a must stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Laura C,

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to contact me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!


Regards,
David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location for easy access to Upper East Side museums. Feels like a European hotel - and that is both positive and negative. On the positive side, it feels small and homey. Rooms are nicely decorated. Staff is generally friendly. On the negative side, rooms are very small, even by New York standards. I also find the added "resort fee" off-putting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Flashfish,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We are truly happy that you felt in the comfort of your home in our rooms and that you enjoyed our location. We know how important location can be when it comes to planning a trip, and we promise we aren’t going anywhere. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in New York.


Regards,
David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Franklin is for the price the hotel most within walking distance of major NYC art museums. Stayed a week, daily immersed in art. My room was perfectly quiet. Liked the breakfast and cheese and wine freebies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Charles R,


Thank you for taking your time and leaving us a Trip Advisor review on the Franklin hotel. I am delighted that the hotel was to your satisfaction and our amenities were up to your standards. Our location is one of the key features that makes are property special and a true hidden gem especially all of the ART surround us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again.


Regards,
David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128-2206
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing