We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #365 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

It was a good stay at this small hotel. It is well located in a quiet and safe area with a Subway station a few meters. Room was very clean and comfortable.
There are several points that require attention: the breakfast service was not very good, cappuccino machine was broken throughout all the week, the elevator was broken several times during the week and the WiFi service was lousy. Also they expected to charge $50 dollars per day for a roll bed for our 8 year old daughter and another $50 dollar per day for a mini fridge.

Room Tip: Our corner room had very very bad WiFi coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jairo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jairo_lopez


Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly;

Best,
Lisa Grosseberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    256
    116
    49
    51
See reviews for
105
269
98
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A very nice clear Euro-style hotel. Loved the continental breakfast and the wine bar in the evening. Nice staff, clean rooms, close to subway and art museums and Central Park.The staff was also knowledgeable on locate stops, shops and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Tom H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Franklin Hotel. I am pleased to learn that our location and amenities were to your liking. I would like the opportunity to invite you back the next time you are in NYC. We look forward to seeing you.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is a true find for any museum-goer because it is literally situated only a few blocks from the Metropolitan on a quiet, safe street. The hotel has the character of a European boutique hotel with small common areas, but a lot of old world charm yet at a value price which is astounding for upper East side Manhattan. We enjoyed the breakfast as well as the complementary wine-and-cheeze happy hour. Since we were in the city to visit museums and Lincoln Center (not to hang out in the room) we took the petite room which had a super comfortable Queen bed and my wife & I had no trouble negotiating the tight quarters because we've stayed in cozier spaces while vacationing in Europe. The staff were friendly and warm and tried hard, though not necessarily armed with great recommendations. This didn't bother us because we knew Manhattan but I could see that someone visiting the city for the first time would need better support than we did. That said, the hotel did have its quirks, like the guest computer (an old laptop mounted way too high on a wall in a corner of the cramped lobby) or terrible TV signal in our room. But don't hesitate to stay here because you will enjoy great value in a fabulous location in a warm and comfortable ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constant_Discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Constant_Discovery

Thank you for staying with us here at The Franklin and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Franklin . It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our breakfast, rooms, and bar throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!!


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Location, location, location! We were in the city exclusively for the Museum Mile, and we didn't have to use a bus or cab at all during our stay. From reading previous reviews, we knew that a King room was an absolute must. Ours was a "suite", which meant it had room for a desk. Our room was very, very clean; the bathroom was modernized; the rain-type shower head was mounted high enough for even the tallest guest; the bed was super comfy. There was a small but sufficient closet, and plenty of room for our luggage. A very fancy chandelier.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. Continental breakfast was fine, and afternoon wine and cheese was enough for dinner one evening.

Again, accessibility to Central Park and museums was awesome. Lexington and Madison Avenue shops were right around the corner.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: AARP and AAA discounts available. Choose a King room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Texas_Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

best,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksburg, va
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Small, friendly little hotel in the Upper East Side. Not too far from Central Park and near a lot of nice little restaurants. The rooms are small, but nice. The fixtures are minimal but functional. The staff is very friendly, nice and helpful. Hot water in the shower, very quickly. Very nice room maintenance, clean sheets and towels. Supposedly, free wifi, but signal not strong enough to stream a TV show. Safe in the closet and the closet is cedar lined. Close to the subway, and a Starbucks on both ends of the block. The breakfast was minimal but OK, the afternoon wine and cheese was better. Some very good wine and nice sit in area to talk and meet people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamsDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Blaksberg_vahokie

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Franklin. I’m glad you found our rooms were cleaned to your satisfaction and our amenities were up to your standards. We value your comments and we will take your feed back in order to continue to provide quality service. Our location is one of the key features that makes our property special and a true hidden gem! My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

What did I like? I liked the location. The staff were helpful when I needed help. The doorman opened the elevator door for me when he was present. The breakfast saved me some money. The maids cleaned the room well. The room had two nice photographs and a cool chandelier for those of you art lovers out there.

Why am I only rating the hotel with an average rating? The elevator broke one evening and was still down the next morning. The window air conditioner was very loud. It is too loud for light sleepers. To improve the place --the manager needs to have the breakfast attendant "attend" to the guests - that means saying hello and NOT wearing ear buds on the clock.

In conclusion, the Franklin has a top location, they are lucky to have many dedicated & pleasant staff, and their interior designers did a fine job. Does the Franklin want to take it up a notch? If so, I think all of the guest feedback is out there to tell them how. Some of the improvements to go from "average" to "very good" would cost money; some would not. I'd love to return again and see a few bits of improvement; it is a beautiful, old structure - and really - why not?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear DelphineD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that you enjoyed our rooms and front desk team. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Franklin . It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. Please feel free to contact me directly; we’ll do our best to offer you the best available rate and regain your confidence in us.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This stay was satisfactory and the location (near the Met, near mass transit) was perfect. In choosing to stay on the Upper East Side on a relative budget, I knew we would be making some sacrifices (like room size). The room is on the smaller side and the bathroom is especially small but I was not disappointed. As other reviewers mentioned, the older elevator does move slowly so we often took the stairs. The air conditioning units are a bit loud but again it wasn't a deal breaker. I called to confirm the reservation 48 hours in advance and it was as promised. The free wifi was also a godsend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tenwaymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Tenwaymom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear our location was convenient for you and that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll accommodate you the best we can. Feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#282 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128-2206
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing