We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not for people allergic to pets”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #382 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
“Maybe not for people allergic to pets”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in late August and loved everything about the hotel - well, almost everything. The bed was the most comfortable in the world and the pillows were excellent quality . The bathroom was very clean. The breakfast of fresh baguettes and French pastries, prosciutto, jam, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee bar was fantastic (a little fruit would've made it perfect). The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The free WIFI was a classy touch. The location was perfect: 1 block from subway lines 4,5,6; many buses; shopping around the corner; Jamba Juice; Best Buy; Barnes & Noble; a pharmacy; the Metropolitan Museum of Art within walking distance; a movie theater around the corner; and an excellent French restaurant, Cafe d'Alsace, about 3 blocks away.
The hotel often has specials which can be found on their website, like the "3 nights for the price of 2".
What we didn't like about the hotel was the size of the rooms (tiny), the loud air conditioners (at least this blocked any possible noise from the street, elevator, hallway or adjacent rooms!) and their pet policy. We didn't know that pets were allowed and my son developed a terrible allergy during our stay. He was congested and sneezing all the time in the hotel. Thank goodness for the pharmacy across the street. Since the corridors and rooms are so small (and there is very little space between furniture and walls), it must be hard to manoeuver an industrial vacuum cleaner around the hotel. If we go back, I'll ask if there are any rooms that are pet-free.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigis_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    256
    118
    50
    55
See reviews for
106
272
99
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GREENWOOD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Rooms are teeny-tiny, but comfortable and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. It is very quiet. Close to the subway.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawmom555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I was in NYC to help my daughter move into her new apartment on the Upper East Side and needed a hotel in that neck of the woods. Having traveled and stayed in NYC a gazillion times, I have my favorite hotels but wanted to try something new and hadn't previously lodged quite that far away from Midtown. But now, I'm a complete convert! I absolutely loved the Franklin Hotel and doubt I'll every stay anywhere else. It's a lovely little gem in a wonderful neighborhood with easy access to everything - park, restaurants, shopping, cabs and subway. I stayed there for 4 days and so I had plenty of opportunity to experience the staff and every person I encountered was pleasant and helpful. My room (no. 65) was very well-appointed (small but so nicely arranged) and had modern touches which added to its clean feeling but was then cozied up with things like a small, crystal chandelier above the bed and a throw that may have been a cashmere blend. The breakfast was simple but of high quality (wonderful croissant) and I enjoyed the coffee and tea bar which was open 24/7. Wireless connection was consistently strong. If you're looking for a large room and a big closet, don't stay here but if you want a welcoming spot to return to after enjoying or working in the city, this is an excellent pick.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollieboog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The Franklin has a lot going for it: Clean rooms, friendly staff, a good breakfast and wine and cheese in the evenings. It has free wireless. It's in a great location. The 4,5, and 6 train stop is around the corner and Central Park is only a few blocks away. The downside is the size of rooms. They are tiny. There were two of us in the room. One person placed a suitcase on the desk the other was on the floor and had to be stepped over to move around the room. The bathroom is not well ventilated. I would absolutely stay again if I were traveling alone. If I were not traveling alone I would look around for a better deal in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fearlesschickgoforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valencia, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I had a very last minute stay in NYC. My daughter had walked by this small hotel often, and called and booked a room for me the same night. They were offering a summer special, stay 2 nights, get the third free. What my daughter and I hadn't counted on: free European breakfast every morning, wine and cheese every afternoon, and outstanding service from the staff. The rooms were quite small, but fine for the time we spent in it. It was located 1 block from the 86th station, and walking distance to the park. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank littleshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Went to visit my new grand daughter in April and wanted not to stay in a crowded one bedroom apartment on the upper east side. My daughter, a long time NYC resident found this little gem one block from her apartment!
There was wine and cheese every afternoon and a nice little breakfast every morning included in the price. The rooms were very small, opening the bathroom door meant losing my closet door, and the bed took up most of the room. However, it looked newly decorated and very clean.
Nice staff and price for NYC.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bris Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

On arrival I didn't expect much from the small opening off the street but the service was excellent and I was escorted to the room and given all the information regarding their services.

The room was small and I think you can get a better deal elsewhere - see my other review on the Hilton Garden Inn at Times Square - but all in all I was satisfied.

Located on the upper east side, there offer a complimentary gym pass to a very fine gym, complimentary breakfast, and although no room service from the hotel itself, they have a connection to a restaurant near by.

It's clean and cute but unless you can find better deals.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chavi2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128-2206
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing