We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable As Always”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #255 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As a corporate traveler it is hard to find a sales contact that aside from being very professional radiates so much warmth and trustworthiness just by his/her presence. I've travel all over the world and I must say that in all my travels I have never met someone like the charming Ms, Manzur, who not only possesses great customer skills but radiates a sense or warmth and confidence that can make one feel that you can trust her from the moment you meet her. I have stayed at the Park Lane Hotel for years since it's Helmsley days and though the rooms are a bit out dated the staff has always compensated this with their great customer service which is essential to any traveler. I was sad to see, during my most recent trip, how much change in staff the hotel has gone through but happy to see that despite the changes the staff that remains continues to provide the same customer service experience that the Helmsley has always possess. Danny, Milja, Fernando and of course the charming Ms. Manzur are an asset to this hotel!! I will definitely be returning to the Park Lane.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Eduardo C,

Thank you very much for your kindhearted review. We are very fortunate to have Ms Manzur, Danny, Milja, and Fernando as part of our team. They have read the review and are very thankful for your lovely comments. We look forward to your return and promise to continue to provide you with the hospitality you have grown accustom to. Thank you again.

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,590 - 5,596 of 6,927 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our check-in was late at night. I emailed the hotel in advance requesting a room on a high floor, but have not yet received any response. However, upon checking in, I asked for a room and was given one on the 43rd floor which was great.

The room was very nice, but I discovered a maintenance problem in the bathroom (toilet not flushing). Upon contacting Maintenance, the engineer was there within 5 minutes and the problem was solved. I was pleased with the response time. I was, however, disappointed with the expensive in-room wi-fi rate – it was not included in the room rate and once paid, the wi-fi was only available in the room – not the restaurant or lobby. Breakfast was beautiful – the presentation of the food was of a high standard, and the view of Central Park was amazing.

I was disappointed when I asked the Concierge about an ATM in the hotel and he was unable to answer me on where it is located. Also, I received my hotel bill and there were items listed that should not have been – however, upon querying it, the matter was resolved quickly. We were able to store our luggage there for half a day at no extra cost.

I recommend this hotel – especially of you want to have a view of Manhattan. It is centrally located and the views from the rooms on the higher floors make up for the minor glitches in the service offering.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADavis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Park Lane is an elegant hotel in a perfect location, walking distance to the Met and the Metropolitan museum, MOMA, theaters and Broadway.
Park Lane Hotel is not super-modern, there are no purple or green flashing lights in the lobby, bizarre art on the walls or expanses of black marble in the bathroom. There was no refrigerator, coffee machine or courtesy water in our room either. WiFi was not free. But the room was large with comfortable bed, beautiful linens, desk, table, armchairs and a well appointed bathroom. The lighting in the room was excellent.
Park Lane Hotel is comfortable and charming, the way elegant hotels of the past were. Apart from comfort, it provides prompt and accommodating room cleaning services, a helpful concierge service and a dining room with a lovely view over Central Park. Breakfast was very good if somewhat pricey. Lunch, on the other hand, was quite excellent and not pricey at all; the service was unwaveringly good and the checkout efficient.
It is hard to imagine a nicer place to stay in New York if one is going to the opera, or a concert at Carnegie Hall, or to visit the museums. We wish it would remain the way it is.
We would like to come back. Well, perhaps, if it is not too much to ask, a little fridge or a coffee maker would be nice.

Room Tip: Have lunch in the dinning room.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Vacations aren't meant to be spent inside your hotel room, unless you're on a spa holiday of course- but yes the rooms are a bit dated- which is fine if you ask me because that's part of the charm! That being said, the Park Lane is superbly located opposite Central Park South and is a few buildings down from the Plaza's famous Food Hall, the Apple Store, Madison Avenue, and everything else Midtown New York has to offer.

Room Tip: Go for a park view room or a corner park/midtown view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSamSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The location of this hotel is superb
The decor is dated but the rate was very fair
We had a city view room and the night time view of a city that never sleeps was terrific
Breakfast was good but very expensive
Again what would you expect for a dining room with a view over Central Park
Great staff older with old style manners and service
The Irish doormen were charming and chatty
The bedroom staff did a great job and our room was perfect every time
We would love to return and hope the new management will not price it out of our range
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Deirde C,

We are very happy that you had great time with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy both the lovely city view of the skyscrapers and Central Park in the dining room. Our staff have many years of experience and love to provide exceptional service. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location in New York City....Central Park South....taxis everywhere.....restaurant in the hotel is wonderful and there are many restaurants nearby...very very safe....doorman always at door to help with anything....beautiful classy hotel...very comfy beds...love the bathrooms....everything....gorgeous lobby...I went there to practice music in the room with my music friends....lovely....park view is the best but more expensive....worth it....horses and carraiges out the window....beautiful trees.....great service....they let me and my musician friends stay in the restaurant way later than it closed...sweet.....

Room Tip: high room....park view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear JB1894,

It is our pleasure to host you and we appreciate the positive feedback. Our location on Central Park South puts us in the center of the city and minutes away from 5th ave shopping, museums, and of course Central Park! We pride ourselves on service and it is wonderful to hear that you “love staying here.” Thank you and we look forward to having you and your friends stay with us again.

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is in transition. It was recently purchased from the Helmsley estate and there are likely plans to turn it into condos (or a condo/hotel combination) which could mean demolishing it and rebuilding. The location is among the finest in Manhattan, but the early 1970s building is dated would probably pose renovation challenges in order to bring it up to the standards of today’s luxury market.

The impression I got while staying there is that costs are being cut, and this is evidenced in small ways – minibars are not fully stocked (mine only had water & Coke), Harry’s Bar doesn't offer patrons chips/nuts; and in larger ways - the main dining room was closed for dinner. Perhaps they are looking to maximize cash flow while deciding what to do with the property. They can’t charge top dollar for the dated accommodations, so perhaps they’re filling rooms at reasonable rates while eliminating amenities.

The upside of all this for people looking for a great deal is that the room rates are really quite a bargain given the hotel’s amazing location. My “Executive King City View” overlooked the Plaza Hotel and part of Central Park and I assume that rooms directly facing the park have even better views. The room was large and well appointed; the staff was courteous and professional

There is definitely the feeling here that you are in an early 1970s time capsule – but the higher end of that era. This time warp feeling can have its pleasures, but it could be a turn-off for those desiring a more vibrant, contemporary experience. My room was clean, well-maintained, and had ample lighting. The furnishings were French Regency-style and included a large desk, a long marble-topped dresser, and two lounge chairs. The bathroom fixtures were dated but of good quality; the water pressure in the shower was excellent. Quality linens, bathrobes, slippers, and toiletries, were provided. The only negative about the room was the vintage forced air heater under the windows, which was noisy when the fan cycled on.

The corridors from the elevators to the rooms are very dimly lit with flush-mount crystal fixtures on metallic ceilings above gray wall finishes, giving them a "haunted discotheque" look.

Though the hotel restaurant was closed for dinner, I was able to wander in for a look and found a grand dining room with a wall of windows offering a panorama of the snow-covered trees of Central Park. The vantage point here is very special, as the room is positioned just above street level, offering unobstructed but human-scaled views of the park. It was somewhat poignant to be standing, at 8:00 PM, in a restaurant with some of the most romantic views in New York City and no one was there.

This hotel offers great value as long as you are not expecting to get a 5-star experience for a 3-4 star price. You’re getting the final days of a once fine hotel with an unparalleled location. A few years from now you’ll have to pay millions for a condo with these views!

Room Tip: Request a high floor or pay extra for a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#278 of 473 in New York City
5,075 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 473 in New York City
4,554 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#272 of 473 in New York City
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 473 in New York City
3,057 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#242 of 473 in New York City
1,480 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 473 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Family Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £129 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing