We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views ”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #260 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic views ”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

A surprise 40th for my wife, I upgraded at the hotel to have Central Park views rather than the city for $50 per night, a good choice! Views were spectacular. We arrived at night and we were on the 42nd floor, we deliberately left the curtains open to catch the sun rise over the city... Fantastic. The beds were really comfy. Downsides were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, no welcome pack explaining things and an extra charge for wifi when your spending £240 per night, even MacDonald's don't charge for wifi!!
It has to be one of the best located hotels in Manhattan but make sure you get the park views!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Appleshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,386
    2,048
    954
    434
    275
See reviews for
1,924
2,018
301
971
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel because it had some good reviews and seemed a good price. I was in room 2307. Whilst the room is clean it is dated. The bath/shower is a classic difficult to set the temperature other than ice cold or take your skin off hot.

The lifts can clearly be heard going up and down and if you are a light sleeper this may prove difficult.

The biggest and worrying problem I had was when I went to plug in my phone I got a large electric shock and shorted out my entire room. The plug was hanging from the wall and I sure this could have gone much worse for me.

I reported it to the staff and they repaired the plug the following day however despite ampul opportunity no one said sorry or enquired how I was!!!! Would not return however cheap the deal may appear.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gelsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Gelsmith,

We apologize for the serious issue you experienced with the electric outlet in your room. We hope that you are alright after the shock. Thank you for sharing your concern so we can assure all is corrected for the next guest.

Please accept our sincerest apology for failing to follow up with you immediately after reporting the issue. The safety and welfare of our guest is a priority. We have shared your comment with our staff to prevent this incident from happening in the future. We have also asked engineering to re-check the outlets in the room as well as the water temperature. Thank you again for taking time to write this review. We hope you will give us another try to alter your initial experience at Park Lane Hotel New York.

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. It is directly in front of Central Park and just around the corner is all the great shopping on 5th ave. It is also close to the subway stations so that was nice as well. The hotel itself was very clean, large room size for New York and most of the staff were friendly. My only real complaint is that the walls are very thin. Thankfully we had quiet neighbors so it wasn't an issue for us but I could see it being a problem if the room next to you had kids or disrespectful adults. Value for this hotel was great considering that it is directly next to the Plaza Hotel that charges about double. If I ever go back to New York I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandijean007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We travel to NYC during the holidays each wit punter. The Park Lane hotel is the best value we have found in all of our trips. The room is bigger than average for Manhattan at this price point, and nicely appointed. They lost our reservation, but I showed them my confirmation email and they quickly fixed the issue with little fuss. Apparently management had changed and their computer system with it. We will try to stay here again on our next visit.

The deli just outside the back entrance is great for lunch, a breakfast sandwich or hot soup on a cold day!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel was recommended to us and by a friend but when I saw some of the previous reviews I was slightly concerned.
there was no need for concern, the hotel was fantastic in every way and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone visiting the city.
the location is perfect, within easy waling distance of everything and so close to 5th Avenue. its in a lovely area so as two females on our own we always felt very safe even when venturing out at night.
the room was wonderful, clean and very comfortable with all of the amenities you could want and the maid service everyday was excellent. The beds were divine and ensure a great sleep.
only niggle for us, bring brits, was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room but to be honest there are so many cafés within 2 minutes it really wasn't a problem at all.
I really could not recommend this hotel enough and the staff were amazing.

Room Tip: High floor for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed for two nights. Great location, but plenty of small things made stay a little unpleasant.

Firstly the checkin. I arrived after midnight after long flight, and there were three potential guests at reception desk in front of me negotiating prices, trying g different room combinations etc to get a good deal. No problem with people doing that and receptionist was being very helpful, but all I wanted to do was pickup key for my prebooked preagreed room. After a while a second person came and checked me in, but it seemed like forever.

The room was lovely and big. I had room 1108. Not particularly scenic. Nicely decorated but you have to search for things, like sockets, and light switches are a bit on archaic side. Room was very cold when I first arrived in it. Not everything worked, eg phone in room didn't.

Perhaps most annoying thing was the lift. It goes all night and can be clearly heard in the room.


Having said all the above, when I checked out I was reminded of the price. So for price it's a great location and great space.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMWhelehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Park Lane Hotel is located right across the Central Park, and you 'll find several interesting places nearby, such as museums, good restaurantes, shops and the Park itself. Style is slightly dated, but the cost / benefit is great. On a negative note, I don't think they should charge for delivering boxes that come through mail to your room ($10 a box). No excuses for a Hotel at this level and category.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear TravelerChris,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. We have many great attractions located near the hotel. I suggest speaking to our concierge when visiting to learn of events and for answer to possible questions of NYC you may have. Our hotel policy is $10 per package per day, but we will take your suggestion into consideration. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,468 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#232 of 468 in New York City
436 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,638 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#255 of 468 in New York City
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Property: Park Lane Hotel
Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing