We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but lacking facilities.”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #262 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First the good bits. The hotel is directly opposite central park, so you can't beat the location. The rooms are a good size and the bedding etc clean even if the bathrooms have seen better days. But it has no gym (as advertised) so we were issued with guest passes to a nearby health club; the club was great actually, but a walk away, which in our busy schedule we could have down without.

We paid extra for a 'City view room' - note that this is a misnomer, as it overlooked the walls of other buildings to the side, would ask for a park view room if I would come again.

Reception staff seemed disinterested to help with anything; we had several extra items appear on our final bill which we had not used (e.g. room service, extra days of WiFi...) so I would encourage everyone to check their bill carefully.

Would I go back? Not sure. The location is super, as we loved being so near Central Park, but it felt rather perfunctory for the price.

Hardly any facilities either, and paying for WiFi also seems unnecessary in this day and age. When we arrived, the corridor for our room had used food trays on the floor, they were still there two days later, and only cleared up when we asked. Not a sign for a great customer service....

Note that eating out in the immediate vicinity is pricey even by NY standards, so best to go a bit further afield for better value.

Room Tip: Ask for a Park View room - City view rooms might just be overlooking other buildings to the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Almuth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you Almuth M for your recent review. We greatly value your business and time reserved out of your daily schedule to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. Hotel guest rooms accommodate views extending over 59th Street Central Park views and 58th Street Manhattan City views. Certainly views of Central Park from our Executive and Premier rooms are our more popular inventory; the City view rooms are equipped with the same amenities and decor. The hotel fitness center is currently under renovation through mid-July, however when complete will host a brand new facility with state of the art equipment. In the interim, we offer daily guest passes to a wonderful facility two blocks walking distance New York Health and Racquet Club. We appreciate your understanding and apologize if the information was not communicated at your booking date. The gym renovation and completion date was recently finalized. Any disputed or incorrect charges posted to a guest folio are thoroughly investigated, honoring our loyal customer’s word. I am confident our Guest Service Agents were able to correct the billing blunders prior to departure. Any items in question feel free to contact our Accounting department or myself directly. Contact information is available on our web site. We hope you will consider the Park Lane Hotel New York in future travel to NYC.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,351 - 5,357 of 6,796 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great location - central park south, yet the bathroom was disgusting, vent had over a month's worth of dust on it, and the toilet looked like it had not been scrubbed in months as well. I would expect such filth if it was a lower class tourist hotel. The rate was $500 per night, I expect to have a clean room, with dust and allergy free air to breathe.

Room Tip: Do not settle, leave time in your schedule to change rooms if the first room you receive is not up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deb2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good hotel, though a bit dated. friendly staff at the desk. The beds sleep very well! And the view over Central Park...It is a joy to wake up and the first thing you see is a park covered in snow. Close to 5th Avenue and more tourist attractions. Definitely a place to come back to!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scheuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you Scheuver for the review of your January stay. We are estatic to hear of your New York City winter wonderland experience, overlooking the snow encovered Central Park area from the comfort of your guest room. The hotel staff and management team greatly appreciate the positive recognition. Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel new York.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I like that it's right next to the central park. Get the room on high floor and you'll see the view of the whole park. It's also close to 3 subway stations and Columbus circle. The room was very nice but the hall way looks so old and dark. The staffs are very sweet to me too.

Thank Ploylada S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you Ploylada S for your recent review. Your acknowledgment of the guest room views and staff pleasantness will be shared with the team. Please join us again on your next visit to NYC.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel and the park view rooms are amazing thats the only upside of it.
The service and the aminities provided are not as good as it should be.
First of alll there are no breakfast buffet in the hotel, no free wifi, no minibar and good luck oredering a water kettl, 6e called 6 times in two before they areange to get us one.
The staff werent the friendliest and getting someone to get our bags from our room took 30 minutes asking diffrent people after calling the front desk.
Nice hotel just need better people to run it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Fatma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Fatma M,
Thank you for your June visit to the Park Lane Hotel New York and reserving the time to voice your feedback on the Trip Advisor platform. In despite of some of the challenges faced during your stay, we are happy to hear of the upside and positives notes in your review. Executive and Premier room categories boast a spectacular Park View. It is wonderful you were able to experience these accommodations. Buffet breakfast is served daily and weekend brunch in the Park Room Restaurant. Wi-Fi internet service is available at a daily surcharge, with optimal speeds and connectivity throughout the hotel. Your suggestions and notation of staff interactions will be addressed with the team for service improvement. We hope you will consider the Park Lane Hotel New York in your future NYC travel needs.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Park Lane Hotel while doing a brief appearance on the Rachael Ray Show. My accommodations were very nice. You could tell that it was an older hotel, but they have done a great job of keeping it maintained.
The continental breakfast was very crowded. We didn't allow enough time for us to really enjoy it as we had to get to the studio. But it was a nice spread.
I had a room without a good view except into some apartments. But the hotel is located just on the edge of Central Park, so I'm sure some views were probably pretty amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDZ0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you KDZ0510 for your recent review of a previous stay. We greatly appreciate your recognition of the hotel room size and quality. We would love to welcome you back for a true dining experience at the Park Room Restaurant. Breakfast and weekend brunch are served on the regular, while overlooking dynamic views of Central Park South from floor to ceiling windows. We look forward to welcoming you for a return visit at the Park Lane Hotel New York.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spent two nights there, the service and staff was excellent. However, the rooms air conditioning did not go below 75 degrees, even after a service call. The television channels were obscure with no local channels aprox 12 less 4 Arabic stations. The signal was standard definition only. I expect this in a YMCA but not in the heart of the city. And finally the toilet seat was broken presenting a interesting change. One got the distinct impression that this property is in trouble

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomMa02481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear TomMa02481,
Thank you for your recent June visit to the Park Lane Hotel New York. On behalf of Hotel Management, we apologize for the temperature discomfort experienced in your occupied guest room. Since a service call was placed, I am confident our Engineering team was prompted to inspect the A//C unit and repair as needed. If the temperature issue arose once again after the service call, the A/C unit may require more intricate time and attention for repairs while unoccupied. Please feel free to contact me directly at the email listed in the below signature and I will personally see to it that appropriate recovery is extended for your inconvenience. In regards to the in-room television programming, the hotels service provider is scheduled to implement High Definition programming and On-Demand viewing service to all guest room televisions this summer. We thank you for your patience during the process time and in the interim selected local and cable television is available. Again we thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you for a return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
jfalco@parklanenewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#274 of 471 in New York City
4,993 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#112 of 471 in New York City
4,516 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#249 of 471 in New York City
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 471 in New York City
3,001 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#244 of 471 in New York City
1,850 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 471 in New York City
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £130 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing