We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #259 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Cancun, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

In choosing a hotel I think there are two important factors: location and beds. This hotel is very good in both, the location is great; in front of Central Park and near 3 subway stations and the bed is very, very, very comfortable. Yes, the building is old but who cares? I am not buying the building, I am on vacation and I want to rest and to go places and this hotel let me do both. I stayed 7 nights and was ready to stay 7 more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Diego C,
The Park Lane New York would like to express our appreciation for your positive review. The hotel was able to deliver the service you expect from a 4+ star location and exceed the quality and standards in the factors you outline. We would have loved to accommodate you for an additional seven nights, however we will gladly settle for the intent of a return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,427
    2,074
    964
    439
    281
See reviews for
1,970
2,040
304
979
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The location is cool, right next to the Central Park. Nothing is included in the room cost: not the Internet, not a coffee facilities at the room. Nothing.
Other than that- they charged us 140$ for breakfast we didn't eat. I was in a jet lag and couldn't find nothing to drink, and the atmosphere and the staff wouldn't even let me think about asking for a cup of coffee.


The view in the room was great

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ifat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear lfatG,
The Park Lane Hotel New York thanks you for your valued business and follow up with feedback from your visit last month. Our apologies on the delayed response to your review. We wish to reconcile any outstanding billing issues and issue an immediate credit. Please contact me directly with the details of your reservation. I look forward to your response.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I live near NYC, and had business in the city, so my husband and I got a room for 1 night. Since we are experienced travelers and know NY well, we took a chance on one of those websites that lets you pick a price and star quality, but they don't share the name of the hotel until you agree to pay. So, for $125/night we got to stay at a "4.5 star" hotel, The Park Lane Hotel (formerly Helsmsley) which is in a fantastic location: across the street from Central Park and between the Plaza Hotel and The Ritz Carlton. But don't get your hopes up; this hotel is nothing like those hotels.

Positives:
1. Upgraded room right away
2. The bed was nice and clean, big, comfortable.
3. Beautiful location, truly magical
4. The lobby had beautiful flowers
5. Service as generally pleasant, there just wasn't much service needed/provided

Negatives:
1. Although I asked for a room that had already been refurbished, (I read pervious reviews), the bathroom was pretty dingy, gross tiles, incomplete tiling. It was clean enough, but I wouldn't have put up with it if I was staying for more than one night
2. No pay per view movies
3.No mini bar
4. The big restaurant with the great views of the park is only open for breakfast
5. No room service after breakfast
6. Noisy kids running the hall after 11 PM
7. As for service it was pleasant, but no one went out of their way to help with bags, or dinner reservations, etc. Definitely not 4/5 star service.

Some tips for tourists: The breakfast buffet is 35$/per person. It does have those Central Park views, but if you go next door to Sarabeth's, it's a well known local breakfast/brunch spot and you can have breakfast for $35 for two people. NY is expensive, but you can save a little cash that way.

Also, The Plaza has a FABULOUS upscale food court--great place for a casual but delicious snack or lunch.

The Ritz Carlton has great restaurants and is 2 doors down. Also exquisite public bathrooms and an amazing spa.

This hotel is very conveniently located to many shops attractions such as Central Park Zoo, Columbus Circle Shops & restaurants, The Frick Museum, FAO Schwartz, Apple Store, etc. Just go in knowing it is ok, but it's not why it used to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missbuilding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear missbuilding,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York and sharing your insight with the Trip Advisor community. We are very appreciative of the outlined notations, especially coming from astute travelers such as yourselves who share valued input that can be utilized towards service improvement. The hotel is currently in the process of installing a television data service for all guest rooms and will offer the options you seek. The hours of operation for room service and the Park Room are limited to breakfast and lunch. Harry's Bar is open through the late evening and serves dinner. Again, we thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My sister and I stayed here when celebrating our birthdays from July 16-20, 2014. I had read several poor reviews and was concerned. I am so glad we didn't switch our reservation! I don't understand why this place gets any bad reviews!

If you have read the reviews you know it is an older hotel. If you don't like the "old school charm" don't stay here. Otherwise, it is FANTASTIC!!!

We had a room on the 27th floor with a speculator view of Central Park! We did not have to wait to check in at all. That really surprised me because I travel quite a bit and am used to having at least a short line, not the case for us here.

We walked into the large room to find a cold fruit tray with souvenir coffee mugs, key chains and maps of the city along with a personal note from Gina Antoine, Director of Guest Services, wishing us happy birthdays and offering her assistance if we needed anything. She and Joseph Falco, Operations Analyst, both emailed me within a few hours of check-in to see if everything was suitable.

I was thoroughly impressed with all of the staff from the front desk to housekeeping with one exception. Juan in the bar could use a brush up on customer service and smiling but he was the only one out of the entire staff that didn't seem happy with being employed at the hotel. LOVED the view, location and service. I would choose the Park Lane any time I visited New York! I highly recommend them!

A special thank you to Gina and Joseph for making our stay extra special!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diggerdog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Diggergod 1234,
Wonderful to hear from you following your departure. We had some contact throughout your stay as you outlined in the review. I am glad we were able to make your stay a memorable NYC visit for you and your sister. Gina and the entire Front Office team send their regards and we hope to welcome you and your closest in the near future!

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great Location for a classic New York Hotel. If your plans are in Midtown NYC the Park Lane is a perfect choice. Stayed this past weekend, and yes, it does look like it is going a rehabilitation of sorts under its new ownership as I am told. Check in was efficient and courteous and special requests were honored. The location can not be beat direct access to Central Park and convenient access to either UES and/or UWS. Park Views will cost you a little more but are worth it, Convenient deli next door is helpful. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room on a high floor with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear NYCCP,
Thank you for sharing guest feedback from your recent stay at the Park Lane New York. The hotel continues to move at fast past towards renovating structural and aesthetic characteristics of the building and improving guest service. Our intentions are to do so, while preserving the rich history of the building. Many of our return guests see the positive results and appreciate that Management shares the same sentiment as they have for the Helmsley tradition of the hotel. We thank you for engaging in a post-stay evaluation since we utilize this to help facilitate improvements. We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager-Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We had a beatifull stay at a great hotel.. We have to thank greatfully the manager on duty Ewelina who attended us with such devotion and kindness. She made all the difference at our arrival, and later during our stay..Service was excellent. Room very spacious and location the best.
Breakfast is excellent with a breathtaking view of Central Park..
Definetely looking to comeback to the big apple and stay at The Park Lane Hotel being attended by Ewelina.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Morris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Pauline S,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane New York and for sharing your recommendation with the Trip Advisor community. We feel our service and proactive staff elevate our service above the competition. Ewelina is one of our strongest Managers at the Front Office and she is well received by our customers and fellow colleagues. We are fortunate to have her as well as our other Front Office team members that play a vital role in operating the hotel day in and out. The team looks forward to your return visit to New York and the Park Lane Hotel.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for four nights in the Park Lane Hotel. The room was pleasant and spacious. Competitively priced for the quality. Pleasant staff. Well located for Manhattan visitors. Well worth a stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you John W for choosing the Park Lane New York. We are delighted to learn of your pleasant experience at the hotel. Please continue to spread the good word and recommendation of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,538 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
1,249 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#251 of 467 in New York City
1,742 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#216 of 467 in New York City
439 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#100 of 467 in New York City
4,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Property: Park Lane Hotel
Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing