We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and view”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #258 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel location is superb, just behind the famous Plaza Hotel. The view in the central park facing rooms are fantastic. The hotel is charming, though outdated a bit. Staff is very helpful. We did not try breakfast, there is a deli nearby where we bought coffee and bagel - a new york experience. When you check-in ask them to check the highest floor room they can give you - it is worth it.
Recommend the hotel for view and location (not for amenities or design). Complimentary New York times is a nice touch, it is next to concierge, not so easy to find.

Room Tip: the higher up is the better, park view is a must
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisztina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Krisztina P,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. We greatly appreciate the positive review and recognition of hotel staff. We recommend dining in the Park Room Restaurant upon your next visit. The views of Central Park from floor to ceiling windows and gourmet breakfast & lunch menu deliver a one of a kind experience.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,429)
There are newer reviews for Park Lane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,926 - 4,932 of 6,430 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great location! Central Park is right across the street, the start of all the great shops on 5th Avenue is just one block away, and Columbus Circle and Lincoln Center are only a few blocks in the other direction,

The front desk was quick and courteous though they could use a few more bell men for the busy times of day.

The room was super spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jelajela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Jelajela,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. We greatly value your business and the time reserved to share your positve experiences. Please consider the Park Lane Hotel New York for future NYC hotel accommodations.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights and although the hotel was very nice, I have an issue with the integrity of their staff. After I checked out and arrived at my next destination, I realized that I had left a gallon ziiploc baggie with 2 phone chargers, 2 super chargers, camera charger and a tablet charger. We were rushing to get to the airport early in the morning and I forgot to pack the ziploc and mistakingly left it on the desk.

When I called the hotel, I spoke to someone in security who informed me that no one had turned it in. I spoke to the head of security who said he would check into it and call me the next day. Instead of him calling me back, he had someone from security contact me to say that no one had turned it in. I find it very, very hard to believe that housekeeping did not see the baggie full of chargers. It would have been easy to find out who cleaned the room after we had checked out. I'm very disappointed in the hotel's staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hhaarrlleeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear hhaarrlleeyy,
On behalf of Hotel Management, we can assure you our Housekeeping team turns in all items left behind from previous occupier of guest rooms to Security lost & found during the turnover process. We will follow up with the in-house team and send a direct message to your T.A account with any updates.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stay here for work everything I am in NY and used to stay in a city view room. I am in real estate and love architecture so a NYC view centered around the GM building was always nice. My last few stays I took a Central Park view room on the 21st floor WOW. It doesn't even seem real. I could only imagine living in a condo with that view. I woke up early everyday and had breakfast in the room just watching the sun rise.

Although the rooms are a it dated they are still well put together. The management recently changed and they have really stepped up the service levels

Can't wait to go back and see that view!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roryg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Roryg13,
The Park Lane Hotel New York greatly values and appreciates your recurring business. The pictures from your guest room are exceptional and the Park view is truly breathtaking! Your experience of watching the sun rise, while enjoying breakfast from a Park view room is a one of a kind experience that we recommend our guests reserve the time to enjoy. Again, we thank you for choosing the Park Lane and look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is very good value for it's location. Due to our itinerary, we had reason to stay twice on our trip. The first time the room was great - spacious, and with good views. The second time we were put into a smaller room, and it was a little tired - a few minor things needed fixing. Check-in needed sorting out - they were understaffed and had a large queue of people checking out and in. The female concierge (not sure of name, sorry!) was lovely to deal with and very knowledgeable Considering Park Lane's very good location, I think it was definitely value for money, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Tracey H,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. We are glad to read of your overall pleasant experience through two visits. In the future, please inform our Front Office team of your room preference and the team will do its best to provide these accommodations, baring availability. We apologize for the unexpected que time at the desk and hope this did not affect any important scheduling. We eagerly anticipate your next visit!

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our room was great! I had booked a room with a Central Park view and were were upgraded to a junior suite with the view of Central Park. Room was very clean, quiet, and, again, the view!. The location is perfect; close to Central Park, of course, and Times Square, Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue, Lincoln Center. We got free WiFi by using their Facebook offer. Safe, nice area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Michael B,
It is wonderful to learn that you took advantage of our Facebook offer and received complimentary Wi-Fi. We are glad you enjoyed the hotels accommodations in our Junior Suite and that the hotel was able to deliver a special service touch with a complimentary upgrade.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent location!!!
Fantastic service, great amenities and it was a good value for NYC!!
Room was much bigger then I expected and our view was OK but for a 'city view'.
The staff was very friendly and helpful...looking forward to another visit to the big apple!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geberbener1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear traveler,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. We greatly value your business and appreciate the positive feedback. Please consider our hotel with your intent to return to NYC!

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#264 of 468 in New York City
4,735 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,815 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#255 of 468 in New York City
1,780 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#235 of 468 in New York City
443 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#99 of 468 in New York City
4,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £156 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing