We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lombardy is Fabulous”
Review of The Lombardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lombardy Hotel
Ranked #264 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Lombardy is Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It is my understanding from speaking with the staff that this was once a fine residential hotel. Now it is mostly a co-op hotel where “shareholders” own the individual rooms and decorate them to their liking. They all come with a little kitchenette complete with small frig, microwave, coffee maker and hair blow dryer. The hotel supplies the sheets, towels, toiletries and housekeeping. I had never heard of this place before booking four rooms here for a family get together. Each room was very unique in their own way and one was more beautiful than the next. I found the rooms to be very large, very clean, very comfortable and quiet. I love that they double sheet the beds – a big thing for me with hotels. It is in a great mid-town location. I highly recommend it and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NadineTheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    161
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
146
127
23
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I booked at the Lombardy because the rate was really good and the location too. I usually stay at Marriott hotels, but wanted to give somewhere else a try. The Lombardy is quite old and the general impression is that of another era for sure. the ground floor is under renovations and there is not much space available for use now, but my room was very nice. The staff are very helpful and, overall, the experience was nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOCOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I stayed there for a 2 day business trip. The staff is helpful. The rooms and clean and spacious. The fact that each room has a kitchen is amazing. The location is perfect because it's close to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 12th floor with a very spacious balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for five nights in early March 2011. Everything about the hotel was outstanding. The service, location, room and amenities were excellent and the price we paid was a great deal. We booked through IPrefer and could not believe the rate. The room had everything we needed - kitchenette, dining table, comfortable bed, great cleaning staff. On a rainy day umbrellas were loaned to us; we also used the lobby business area for printing boarding passes, at no charge. In-room included internet always worked well. Front desk staff was always courteous and helpful. Doormen were great sources of local information. Would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend to everyone we know traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eeeema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at the Lombardy in late November 2011 - rooms were very clean and wonderfully appointed. Central location close to the subway and Bloomingdales. Breakfast was included, which was great as we were travelling with two teenaged boys with big appetites (expensive to feed in NYC!). Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeafsNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Lombardy´s location is spetacular, close to the best NY has to offer. Hotel management (thanks, Alberto !) makes you feel home

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAccidentalTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We were given an apartment when we stayed in the hotel in March 2011 rather than the double we had booked. It was spacious and excellent in every way. There was no extra charge. The breakfast in the morning however is very small and I would therefore recommend going out for breakfast. The hotel is well situated for sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nance30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#291 of 468 in New York City
1,275 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lombardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombardy Hotel

Property: The Lombardy Hotel
Address: 111 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022-2600
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lombardy Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary in the bustling city. Just a short walk away from New York City's leading law firms and corporate offices and moments from shops including Tiffany's, Bloomingdales, and Barney's, The Lombardy boasts the perfect location for business and leisure travelers alike. A balanced blend of past grandeur and elegance mixed with modern amenities and state-of-the-art technology give the hotel its sophisticated atmosphere. Ditch the standard New York City hotel stay for a customized residential-style retreat to one of midtown Manhattan's finest gems-The Lombardy. Featuring 160 individually decorated guest rooms & suites, the Lombardy offers guests a rich experience of luxury away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lombardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombardy Hotel New York City
Lombardy New York City
Lombardy Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing