We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Large Rooms and in the Middle of Everything You Want to See”
Review of The Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lombardy
Ranked #264 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Lombardy Hotel fit our needs perfectly. The room was very large (900+ square feet), two nice TVs, a full kitchen, nice bathroom and was beautifully decorated. Living room had a very nice sofa and loveseat combination. Elevators were fast. Housekeeping was very efficient.

Hotel is a short walk to Central Park, Times Square, 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Center, Broadway and other major attractions. Jacuzzi had some issues, but other than that it was the perfect hotel.

I will return.

Room Tip: Ask for the King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woody066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for many years and it only gets better each time. The location is perfect if you want to walk to popular restaurants, shopping and Rockefeller center. The rooms are spacious and because it is a condo hotel you generally have a living area, extra bathroom and small kitchen. They recently renovated and have a new restaurant and bar area. The staff are very professional and courteous. It is sometimes hard to hail a cab from this location but they do have drivers available. The hotel is more intimate than larger Manhattan hotels.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so it is hard to recommend any specific one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussytraveler440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while attending a conference in NYC. At more than $400 a night, even in NYC, you have a right to some pretty high expectations and the Lombardy failed to meet most of those. First the pluses. My room was a good size for NYC and adequately furnished. The hotel is also very well positioned for Central Park, Rockefeller Plaza, Carnegie Hall and all midtown shopping. Internet access (free) worked well for me. The TV was a good size and had nice picture quality.

Now the downsides. First, the previous occupant of my room was obviously a heavy smoker who had ignored the no smoking rule. When I complained about this, the receptionist did not seem in the slightest bit surprised and offered to get someone to come and spray the room. After waiting 45 minutes, I called to see where the spray man was to be told that the manager who held the key to the spray cupboard had gone home and so they had no access to the spray after all. Nice of someone to call and tell me this! So my first night was ruined and I got maybe 2 hours sleep. Next day I spoke with reception and left a message for housekeeping and they did strip down the bed and spray the room, with tolerable but not ideal results.

While on the subject of housekeeping, there was a dark perimeter around the carpets throughout the room where the vacuum cleaners do not quite get there. Finally on this, in searching for an electrical outlet, I discovered a used tissue hiding behind one of the nightstands. Suffice to say, I was less than impressed with the overall housekeeping standards.

The room itself, while being of good size, was of mixed quality. It had been partly refurbished in a tasteful manner. However, the bathroom was right out of the 70's, including mirrored walls and public restroom style toilet. The mirrored walls theme was extended to the entrance area, which was just flat out weird. The air conditioner was even older and required me to move the desk to reach the controls. To describe it as noisy would not even start to convey just how disruptive this was. Strangely, every time the air conditioner kicked in, the desk lamp would momentarily dim, which was annoying. There was also curtain tracking attached to the ceiling despite the fact that there were blinds in place, not curtains. That is just lazy to have left those in place. Lastly on this point, the hotel provides a coffee making machine in the room but no coffee.

I should also mention that the Lombardy is by no means a full service hotel, which you should expect at this price point. It is not a huge issue from a practical standpoint as you are surrounded by good bars and restaurants but it is nevertheless disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CJWWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As other reviews on here have stated, this hotel is not "traditional" in that these are privately owned condos, and when the owners are not using them - they are sold out as hotel rooms. For us, this worked beautifully as we searched high & low to find a larger room in NYC with 2 double or queen beds. That is not an easy task. This hotel's location is the real bonus - walkable to everything from great 5th avenue shopping, to Central Park, subway lines and Grand Central Station. The staff was friendly and helpful. Downside, the rooms could use a little "refreshing" and we could not get the wi-fii to work but all in all, we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Call to book if you have a specific request. Room #809 has 2 large double/queen beds and it was huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AS520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First point; this is not a traditional hotel. The rooms are owned by individuals that obviously use this property as a pied-à-terre for when they come to Manhattan and hand them over to an 'administration' (masquerading as hotel staff) as hotel rooms when empty. A good business idea but this one doesn't work. It is apparent that each owner can choose to update a room at their leisure resulting in a diverse quality of offering. We had two good size rooms (one deluxe and one suite) and fortunately both had been refurbished recently. However, the owner of our room (805) obviously liked certain gadgets (e.g. electric shutters) but was clearly not interested in upgrading the wi-fi which was SLOW/NON-EXISTENT. Best signal was in the bathroom or in the corridor. Meanwhile, in our kids' room (806) the owner was obviously more enlightened and a newer modem pumped out a decent signal. With the different levels of technology in the rooms (and ZERO instructions/briefing from the bell-boy) we had the maintenance guy up three times on the first night. Not an inspiring start to the trip.
Next problem was the poor service mentioned in some of the other reviews. The front of house staff is jaded, out-of-date and uninterested to the point that it feels like you are dealing with a workers' union. There seems to be an interminable parade of these grumpy old men with doormen that refuse to open doors and front desk staff that don't look you in the eye. Come on people..get in the 21st Century! I overheard a complaint from one guest about the quality of the room which was poorly handled ('nothing I can do') while there were sniggers and snide remarks when the complainant left the lobby. These guys act as a pack of buddies that have no interest (nor indeed training I reckon) in customer service. The only exception was a Mr K Keegan who was very helpful. Clearly the fault for this abysmal state of affairs lies with the 'administration' who probably have a background in property management rather than hospitality.
Add to all this a major 24 hour construction site in the immediate vicinity and you can see why I'll never be back.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChrisandEvelynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Friendly service and an excellent location close to Central Park and Museum Mile. Coffee and croissants available next door are very good indeed. Only issue I had was that the shower was so powerful the bathroom floor became flooded, but no big deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great location - roomy rooms and suites - and always a little kitchenette, which is a nice addition, particularly for a longer stay. A few reviewers have grumbled about their rooms -- if you don't like your room -- (there's a great range of styles and quality, as they are virtually all privately owned) -- ask to see another! If you tell the desk what you want, they will try to accommodate. Really feels like the proverbial 'home away from home' - a real NYC apartment for the price of a typical room at most better hotels. My only gripe -- the front door staff need a little burst of new energy - they've just been around a little too long. Other than that - it's a delight. We've stayed there probably 10-15 times over the last three or four years, and it is always our #1 choice.

Room Tip: Tell the desk what you want -- contemporary vs. traditional, front vs. back, remodeled or not, big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelhappyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#131 of 471 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 471 in New York City
1,484 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#249 of 471 in New York City
459 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#334 of 471 in New York City
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombardy

Address: 111 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022-2600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#131 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £170 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombardy 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lombardy Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary in the bustling NYC. A short walk from New York City's leading law firms and corporate offices and moments from Central Park and Midtown East shopping. The Lombardy boasts the perfect location for business and leisure travelers and family travel with larger accommodations, most with kitchenettes or kitchens. Featuring 160 individually decorated guest rooms & suites, the Lombardy offers guests a rich experience of luxury away from home and with a warm and welcoming staff. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, WIFI, fitness room, twice daily maid service, luxury bath amenities and bottled water. American Cut Midtown steakhouse, featuring an exceptional menu, private dining, and bar/lounge, offers hotel guests a 10% discount on food & beverage. Nico Salon offers an array of men & women services on property. Ditch the standard hotel stay for a residential-style retreat to one of Manhattan's finest gems - The Lombardy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombardy Hotel New York City
Lombardy New York City
Lombardy Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing