We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowell Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$472
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
279
35
15
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
35
15
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspembroke roomupper east sidewood burning fireplacedeluxe junior suitenew yorkhome away from homesmall hotelcentral parkroom servicefour seasonsclub roomboutique hotelperfect stayfavorite hotelbell staffrooms are spaciouswe've stayed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We checked in at the The Lowell after a dismal night at Le Parker Meridien. We were looking for a comfortable, elegant, up-scale hotel room in a small hotel and we found just that The Lowell. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and hospitable....far from snobby as another reviewer mentioned. This is a special place where one can escape the busy city outside its doors.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmclerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

The Lowell is a beautiful hotel in the heart of New York's exclusive Upper East Side. We have just returned from a one-night stay in a junior suite there and were incredibly impressed. As we entered our suite we were quite simply blown away by its sheer size and the attention to detail. Complimentary champagne and a fruit bowl awaited us and there was a fully stocked mini-bar. The bed was amazingly comfortable - one of the comfiest I have ever slept in - and we were made to feel like a king and queen with the level of service we received. In the marble bathroom were Bulgari toiletries, two washbasins, a huge shower room and a bathtub with a flatscreen television embedded into the wall. We could not have asked for more. The hotel is mere moments away from all of Park and Madison Avenue's designer stores and is an ideal base for exploring all of New York's sights. If you're looking for luxury, choose The Lowell.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

The Lowell is one of my favorite hotels in New York. Having also stayed at the Carlyle and the St. Regis, the Lowell is certainly in this category. While hidden off Madison Avenue and in the low 60's, the intimate hotel has a great staff and my favorite parts, the suites and Pembrooke Room. The suites are newly renovated, tastefully decorated and extremely spacious. They feel like apartments with their little kitchens and gorgeous bathrooms! And now my second favorite part, the Pembrooke Room. It is the ultimate setting for breakfast in New York. Afternoon Tea is also served fantastically. The room is hidden on the second floor at the back of the hotel and is decorated in lovely light spring colors and mirrored. There is tons of daylight on a sunny day. There are not that many amenities within the hotel because of it's size but the Post House. A Smith and Wollensky operation, it is just as good as their signature restaurant or Park Avenue Winter/Spring/Summer/Fall. A lot of celebrities like the bar because of it's privacy and charm. I absolutely love this hotel, there are not that many other hotels in New York like it. Even the Carlyle and the St. Regis can offer the same amount of luxury but not the same amount of intimacy.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank afficionado92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Depending on your tastes, you will either love this hotel or hate it. I stayed here for 3 nights a few months ago. It was a good stay, but definitely not worth the price in my opinion.

This Lowell Hotel is pretty small and low key. The location is great, it's 2 blocks from Central Park in the upper east side. The neighborhood is very residential and not as touristy as other areas of Manhattan. The hotel is right in the middle of a residential street.

The lobby is small and pretty dark. So are the hallways and the elevators. The front desk staff is nice, but a bit snobby which I will elaborate on later.

The rooms are very nice. We got the cheapest one, so it was pretty small. The bed was big and comfy. The kitchenette is stocked with snacks and drinks but they're pretty expensive. ($5 for a little bottle of water). The bathroom is amazing and probably my favorite thing about the room. There isn't much of a view, just the apartments across the street. This hotel isn't a high rise so you won't get a pretty view of Manhattan like other hotels.

What I didn't like was how snobby the staff and other guests were. My boyfriend and I being 21 years old definitely got some condescending looks. It's kind of hard to explain through typing but you'll know when it happens.

So if you're a bit older, like low key, non touristy 5 star hotels, then you will love the Lowell Hotel. If you're younger and want to be in the hustle and bustle of Manhattan this isn't the hotel to stay at.

It's a good hotel but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mee2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

This was our first stay at The Lowell and we won't be back. We like trying 5-star hotels around the world (for example, in NYC we've previously stayed at the Trump twice and The Carlyle, and enjoyed both) and based on reviews we've read both here and elsewhere, we had high expectations of The Lowell. Unfortunately, we went away disappointed.

We had booked a Lowell King room through the American Express FHR program and we were upgraded to a Junior Suite. It was pleasantly decorated and fairly spacious, but overall there was nothing special about it. There was no view (in fact, we were looking straight into surrounding apartments and thus had no privacy unless we kept the curtains closed), no fireplace, no terrace. It just didn't "wow" us (unlike the 1-bedroom suite we usually get for less money at Trump, with fantastic views of Columbus Circle).

We didn't like the Pembroke room, where breakfast and tea are served. It is in a dark, semi-basement location with heavy draperies and an overdone decor (tassles everywhere). We found it dismal. The food was okay but the service was only so-so.

In fact, the biggest disappointment about The Lowell was the service. At such a small hotel, with a tiny lobby, guests should expect to be greeted personally by the front desk as they walk by on the way to the elevators. During our entire stay, we were NEVER greeted. In fact, they didn't even make eye contact. There always seemed to be several people behind the desk, but they were all busy talking with each other. Our one request to the concierge was handled pleasantly but impersonally. The most personable people on staff were the doormen, and even they were not all that friendly. We've had much nicer experiences elsewhere.

In short, we just didn't enjoy our experience at The Lowell.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank free101girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews