We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #347 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Having won this on priceline for 150$ for my arrival night in New York, I was very happy with the location as it is very close to my beloved Bryant Park.
Turns out, location is about the only good point of this hotel.
I knew rooms were small and rather dark…I was not prepared for this kind of dark….even at 11 AM I could hardly see anything. The same goes for the elevators, as mentioned in a previous review.
When I arrived, the doorman welcomed me by asking how I was…this made me look up and trip over the threshold. I almost said: ‘about to sue you…’ I didn’t say this, I never say things like this, I wish I would sometimes do say things like this…
It made him feel guilty, though, and he did help me with my bag, which he probably regretted as my days of travelling light seem to have disappeared.
Check in went smoothly and I got my key. Going up in the elevator….where the heck are the buttons, oh….press your nose to the board and you might see them….the room…woah, small and dark!! Bathroom: small, but efficient and clean enough. Towels? What, only 3 very small ones? What do I dry myself with???
Well, let’s take a shower first, I was all sweaty from the tiring trip. When I was about to stop into the shower, the phone rang…huh? It was reception, my credit card bounced (they want a 50$ deposit for extras). My credit card bounced??? Oh boy, this had my adrenaline level go up a few notches! The internet was down as well, and I think some phone lines….. I paid cash before going out for diner. Tried my credit card at a deli and luckily it worked fine…phew!
As it was my arrival date, I came home early and tried to watch some TV. Boy, difficult system. It will guide you through all pay TV before you get to the ‘normal’ options….I watched 2 episodes of the Big Bang before going to sleep. When I needed the bathroom at night, it turned out it had a threshold as well, and I dearly stubbed my toes…..I had not noticed this level differenced earlier….
The bed was comfortable enough, but all in all, as the title shows, I was not impressed.
I would only just consider this worth the 150$ (excl tax) I paid, only just and only considering the ridiculous hotel prices in the city and the wonderful location of the Mansfield. I would certainly NOT consider it worth the normal price.
I will most probably NOT stay here again.

Oh, I almost forgot the most important thing!!! Even though my credit card ‘bounced’, they did charge me 22$....! I was in NY for an extended period, so when they didn’t answer my email on the matter, I went by….I thought maybe I had pressed a wrong button fiddling with the TV remote and was accidently charged for pay TV…..but no, for a Chardonnay, which I certainly did not have. I would be refunded and it would show on my account within a few days. It did not, so one week later I went back again….comment: ‘ah, I don’t know what happened’….me ‘seems to go on quite a bit at this hotel.’ On both visits I asked to see the manager, which seemed to upset staff a bit….on both occasions I was offered a free bottle of water to butter me up (I refused, I don’t accept freebies from places I don’t like). In the end, the refund was done, but what still baffles me is how they could charge my cc if it bounced in the first place???

oh, but the 24/7 coffee in the library was nice and hot!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your direct feedback. I promise to look into the situation with your credit card and the other issues you pointed out.
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    644
    332
    161
    122
See reviews for
261
746
122
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Bad
- Our room, 812, was described as a Deluxe Queen with Queen bed. The room was tiny as per a lot of NY hotel rooms, but the bed was actually only a double and could have substituted for a canoe with the sagging in the middle.
- There was barely storage for one person let alone two. There is no wardrobe or chest of drawers. There was a desk which I would rather have had as a chest of drawers. The closet was miniscule.
- Bedside table on only one side.
- Bathroom doors are nonsense. They are bifold doors that are hinged on either side and would not completely close and had no lock.
- Free wifi was next to useless most of the time.
- Towels were mostly frayed and in poor condition.
- Air conditioner very noisy.
- Elevators so dark you couldn't see which floor button to press.

The Good
-Staff was good in that they did change our room to a junior suite, albeit at an additional $62 a night, on complaining about bed not being a queen.
- Location is great.
- Housekeeping kept the room spotless.
- The rooms are quiet as most seem to look into a light well.
- Good free coffee in lobby with tea but no milk for your tea.
- Liked the original hardwood floors.

Overall I don't think I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very well located, and we enjoyed the free cappuchinos in the library before heading out each morning. The staff were helpful in getting us taxis, helping with pushchairs, lending umbrellas, and they gave us late checkout at 2pm which was great. The rooms were small but well appointed, with ipod dock, flat screen TV, Aveda bath products, one of the best showers ever, and nicely decorated, although they were quite dark and there was a lack of places to put things, so our luggage ended up just inside the doorway and in the bathroom we had to put things on the floor. Our friends were next door and we found it quite strange that the rooms were different sizes although we had paid the same on the same booking. Theirs was smaller with a smaller bed, but had a bathtub and bigger TV as if by way of compensation.

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was for the complimentary Wi-fi, as we saw that many hotels in NY charge you for internet use. We were going to be working and needed internet connection. This didn't work for the entire 5 nights we were there, and the staff told us it was due to the construction going on nearby. Having read other reviews I suspect that this is what they tell everybody and in fact the internet never works. A shame, but one of the very few downsides to this hotel.

Having read reviews of many hotels in Manhattan before choosing the Mansfield I was glad we chose to stay here and would stay again if we get the chance to go back. They should sort out their internet problems though!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lichita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I go to New York 6-8 times per year. I am accustomed to "small" NY hotel rooms. Although the room at the Mansfield was somewhat claustrophobic, it was fine at first impression. However, this was the worst hotel experience in New York that I have ever encountered. The room was not clean. When I was taking a shower, I stepped on a piece of clothing--and realized it was a "soiled" thong that had fallen from the shower bar. The air-conditioning did not work properly and was extremely loud--no sleep whatsoever. The elevator(s) were out of service several times--and one of the maintenance staff members loudly expressed his frustration with the f...ing elevator for guests to hear. On one occasion, I walked five flights of stairs to my room--and twice walked down the stairs due to the elevators. I only stayed ONE night and will never return. I left a message for the general manager, Lisa Grossberg, and she never returned my call. I was not surprised. Samantha--at the front desk--gave this explanation. Sir...this is an old hotel. I have stayed in hotels much older, much nicer, and definitely much betteer maintained and managed. I would strongly discourage anyone from stayting at the Mansfield.

Room Tip: I would strongly discourage anyone from staying at the Mansfield.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reece481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and there are really lots of better hotels in the area for similar prices (The Warwick and The Chambers are two that come to mind). The Mansfield is lacking in some extremely basic hotel necessities. For example, a bath mat would be nice so I don't slip all over the floor when I step out of the shower, or failing this at least an extra towel in the room so I can improvise. The other thing that really irked me was the air conditioning units, as mentioned by other reviewers, though not because they were loud. I was truly shocked that a hotel at this price level would have window units like this, and that the open area of the window would be covered by what is essentially black plastic/foamboard, and ill-fitting to top that off. This makes the rooms really noisy, you can hear literally everything outside and a lot of air comes in from outside which is not nice when it is cold out. Additionally, while I found the bathrooms and bed linens to be clean, the rest of the room was not up to cleanliness standards. Visible layers of dust/grime in the corners and mysterious black sludge marks on the upholstery, and more luggage/other assorted marks on the walls and door frames than is acceptable at this price level. The hardwood floors, one of the main selling points of the hotel, are also not nice, they are irregular and beaten-up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a great booutique hotel.
We had two rooms for a family of 7. Both were suites with queen bed in one room and fold out in separate lounge. This is our first time in NY and yes the rooms were small but it seems that is the case in most hotels in NY. This hotel was excellant, the rooms we were in looked like they had recently been renovated, very classy rooms. The ensuites were small but had baths in them. We were on level three in rooms side by side.
The staff were helpful and freindly, they upgraded us to the larger suites at a very low fee. We had booked on priceline so they were under no obligation to do that and cld have charged a fortunue if they wanted.
Theres is a library with free coffee 24/7, a small gym and a restaurant we ate at one night which was very good - not cheap but good wines and food.
The location was exactly what we wanted: easy walk to Grand Central and Time Square, bit further to Central Park and Empire state but not to far.
If you are a family like us, coming from anohter country with no idea what to expect at NY other than what you have read on Trip Advisor, I would reccomend this hotel as one where you will feel welcome, secure and comfortable. Keeping in mind it is not a big chain but an independant boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

the biggest plus for Mansfield is the location!!! but i had never seen so small rooms!!! its impossible to open your suitcases,there are no place for the coats...and some rooms they don't have any view.there is free coffee maker in the nice common "library" room .would i recommend this hotel? yes, if i dont have any other option.if somebody expecting 4* treatment you'l probably be a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychoAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#207 of 466 in New York City
1,398 reviews
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#313 of 466 in New York City
1,752 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#271 of 466 in New York City
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#249 of 466 in New York City
2,205 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#80 of 466 in New York City
733 reviews
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#212 of 466 in New York City
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing