We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #341 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent experience & staff! Hotel very nice & clean, excellent location! Coffee machine, library & free wi-if was wonderful! I would absolutely choose this hotel when I return!
The price & location were unbeatable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Kelly H,

Thank you for an amazing review for the Mansfield Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay and our hotel amenities. We would like to invite you back for more memorable stays!

Regards,
David Sandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great Staff, Great Location, Rooms need to be UPDATED. Rooms need better lighting overall and more darkness when you are ready to go to sleep, tons of light in the rooms, blinds do not provide enough darkness.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Alexandra C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Mansfield Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you had with the room. We greatly appreciate your understanding for any inconvenience caused . I am happy to read that you enjoyed two great features of our unique property, our central location and our amazing staff!



Regards,
David Sandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great location, reasonable enough priced, happy staff and very helpful. Rooms are fine, a little cold though. Only drawback was a leaky drain pipe which was hitting on top of our aircon unit creating unwanted noise. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ciaran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Ciaran K

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! Overall, we are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay . We are extremely happy that you loved our location, which is what makes our hotel so special.On behalf of the entire team we all look forward to having you with us once again very soon.



Regards,
Davis Sandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Better than expected...the pics of this hotel in its entirety doesn't capture nor compare to its decorative beauty in person. If you're looking to impress someone plus save...this is certainly the place

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rawl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Rawl S,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Mansfield on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are important for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by the hotel were to your satisfaction. My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service.

Regards,
David Sandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We are Canadian but live in Europe with our 3 year old. We took advantage of going home for Xmas to drop our daughter off in Ottawa with her grandmother and we flew to the big apple for 4 days of adult time. We got this on a cyber Monday deal and have to admit, that for the location, comfort, breakfast, it was unbeatable. We even had free wifi/truffled popcorn and drinks. The staff were accommodating and knowledgeable and it was so nice to be able to sit by a roaring fire...well done!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Jtay,

Thank you for staying with us here at The Shoreham and for providing us with feedback following your stay. I am glad to know you took pleasure in our central location and found our amenities to be of your satisfaction. I am delighted that our staff was knowledgeable to make your stay accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Regards,
David Sandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Found a deal on Travelzoo.. Read both good & bad reviews so not sure what to expect.. It is the best it could possibly be. Stayed for 4 nights & am so pleased I'm heading back to the Mansfield & have bragged to all my friends about it!!!
Rainee

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Monica R

Thank you for taking your time to write a trip advisor review on The Mansfield Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, we do our best to give our guest the best experience possible. We look forward to seeing you when you return!

Regards,
David Sandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Firstly this hotel is in a great location. We stayed for 4 nights and it was the perfect base to explore New York. The staff were friendly and service was good however I expected a little more quality and space for the price we paid. The bathroom was tiny and the room was also a bit tatty. Certainly not bad but just not the best value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Tom L,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your recent stay at The Mansfield Hotel. Great Customer Service is a key component of our hotel. I'm glad you found our employees friendly. We are sincerely sorry to hear that the visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. I ask that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us.

Thank You,
David Sandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#319 of 471 in New York City
1,887 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
1,895 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#346 of 471 in New York City
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#358 of 471 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Midtown
Dylan Hotel NYC
Dylan Hotel NYC
#369 of 471 in New York City
930 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#199 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £88 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing