We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bogus minibar charges”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #344 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Bogus minibar charges”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were checking out and were told that we had a minibar charge of $13 for candy- I think reese peeses. My wife and I never even opened the minibar throughout the entire time and vociferously argued against it which the night manager removed. However this spoiled the whole experience and we will NEVER return.
Additionally the day before I went to the front desk and there was a blonde young woman with an attitude. Normally I always go to the front desk the day before to make sure everything is in order and I did the same thing with you guys.
She had an attitude problem and snottily told me that I had to do it in the morning. Absolute nonsense.
I also noticed on some of the travel websites that this issue with being charged on minibar comes up quite a bit and I will most certainly write about it on orbitz etc. This is some scam you guys have going on. Maybe NY AG needs to know about this.
SO far no charges but who knows. Maybe next week there will be some mysterious charge and I'll have to fight you guys again. Not a problem since I work from home and have the time and energy to do this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear G N,


Thank you for taking time to share the details of your stay.I was disappointed to learn that your recent visit did not exceed your expectations I take pride in our Front Desk team but rest assured I will speak to them regarding your experience. We want all of our guests to depart with a positive memorable experience and regret that you did not feel that, we hope you give us a chance to show you a true Shoreham experience, feel free to contact me directly ,as I would like to discuss further.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    646
    336
    164
    123
See reviews for
263
750
124
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were thankfully provided a crib not a Pack-n-play, which my back appreciated not having to bend all the way down into. Our Jr. Suite was perfect for the 3 of us, lots of room to have the crib in the 'living room' and a couch to relax on. GREAT location for our first time in NYC, doing all the touristy things. We only needed to take the subway to Battery Park and the Brooklyn Bridge, we easily walked to everything else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Meredith M,


Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you enjoying the amenities the hotel has to offer, our friendly staff, and the location. The next time you are in NYC we hope you choose to stay with us again.


Regards,
LIsa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel has a lot of character. It's a great value given the prime location. The staff is fantastic; very welcoming, friendly, and perceptive. Just as important, this hotel is very clean and comfortable. I'm not sure whether it'd be considered small, but for what's the norm in NYC, it was very appropriate and we did not feel cramped. I'd recommend it and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joyner P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Joyner P,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear that our service was to your liking. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll accommodate you with a room that better suits your needs. Feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very welcoming and loved that they accommodated our toy poodle! We arrived at the hotel at 7am after our red eye from Seattle and they stored our luggage and invited us to relax in their lounge (with a free cappuccino bar) which was very nice of them. They had a room ready for us by noon and the room was lovely. Nice big bed, modern decor and a charming window seat. The staff were very courteous and the location can't be beat. A great location when traveling with a pet since Bryant park is just 2 blocks away and is also where we easily caught the Newark Airport Express coach to and from the airport. Great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TiffanyLC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear TiffanyLC7,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Best,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I only stayed for one night and I do not think I could have stayed for much longer. It was nice enough and the staff was helpful. The bed was comfortable. The problem was it was SO small. I only had a carry on and it was totally in the way. There was basically no light so it felt like being in a dungeon. There was a window, but it was into an area about 6 or 8 feet across, like an alleyway, but covered so it was dark. Very dark. However, it was relatively inexpensive so if it's just for a night or two, I would recommend it. But only for one person in a room. (Note: I think I may have been in one of the petite rooms, so maybe the others are better.)

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear K L,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. The team and I were pleased to hear you felt the service was good. We are happy to read you enjoyed the location as well as the hotels amenities. We hope the next time you are in the states you will make the Mansfield your choice of hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My room - 1004 - was the most depressing hotel room I have ever stayed in. The lighting was horrible, just a couple of small lamps and a bright white fluorescent ceiling lamp that made the room feel like a warehouse. It wasn't as tiny as some of the rooms described here, but equally miserable. It had two small windows facing the street but there was some kind of metal grate outside as well as scaffolding covering the entire hotel, so good luck getting any natural daylight. I asked for a room change and they told me this room had better lighting than most. There is no central air, just a cheap Home Depot-style wall unit. The bathroom was tiny and cheap with a clingy shower curtain. Overall, a completely disappointing and depressing experience. Could not wait to check out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Andrew K,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you. If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time, and have a great day.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beside a very good location, we had a suite. One queen bed and a sofa-bed. The sofa bed was just horrible, the mattress was so old and so uncomfortable. Considering the price of the suite and the so-called "luxury" of the hotel, this was unacceptable.
Told to the team whom have down nothing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Carine B,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you. If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time, and have a great day.

Best,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#311 of 467 in New York City
1,769 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#204 of 467 in New York City
1,433 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#268 of 467 in New York City
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
2,216 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#99 of 467 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
The Roosevelt Hotel
The Roosevelt Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
8,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing