We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel with exceptionally small rooms”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #344 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Requested for 2 beds , 1 month, then 1 day and finally 3 hours in advance. Was able to get two beds, but they both felt like (and probably were) rollaway beds. I also had to pay $60 for having two uncomfortable rollaway beds.
The bathroom was exceptionally small. Hard to fit a normal sized person in the shower area. The room was exceptionally small in comparision to $250 nightly charge and nowhere close to the star rating it states.
The only thing visible outside was ongoing construction.
No coffee maker in room.
The TV was probably the same size as an ipad.
The AC was was too loud.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mona M,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel. The team and I were disappointed to read your stay was not to your liking. We appreciate the feedback as it enables us to hone in on the areas which our guests feel needs improving. We would love it if you gave us another chance as I know the team would love another shot at making your stay more memorable. We hope you decide to come back again.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Mansfield was wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location was ideal. I would definitely recommend. Staying in more of a "boutique" type hotel rather than a chain hotel really added to the whole NYC experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jon B,


Thank you for such a wonderful review – I am extremely happy to read that The Mansfield left you with a positive first impression. We strive to provide all our guests with a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations. I am delighted that you were able to find a comfortable stay in our hotel, and to learn that our staff treated you exceptionally well. We look forward to welcoming you back and truly appreciate your feedback.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I dont do modern plastic hotels - so thank goodness for hotels such as the Mansfield. Such character but extremely clean and welcoming. I cannot praise the staff highly enough who went out of their way to ensure my stay was a happy one. Free freshly cooked cookies arrive in reception around 4pm so managed to get the receptionist to give me a 'cookie call' so I could pop down and enjoy them warm. Get the idea..!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RoydonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear RoydonTraveller,


Thank you staying with us here at The Mansfield and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the ambiance of The Mansfield. It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our freshly baked cookies- They are amazing!. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just spent Memorial Weekend at The Mansfield, NYC. We unanimously agree to rate it 3 stars. Major pro is the location. Between 5th & 6th ave, on 44 st., it's not only walking distance, but provides a good relax & refreshing stop from our shopping spree. A short taxi ride away from Penn Station, our getting there and coming back home journeys were quite smooth. However, the stairs and elevators are very tight, hall and room too dark, and our room facing the back alley was very noisy. Btw, the expresso / latte / tea / etc coffee machine is awesome. All guests loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Daisy365,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I’m disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your room.. Our team has been made aware of the key issues we can improve on. I am very happy that you enjoyed our superb location and that this was of great convenience to you. We wish you will reconsider staying with us in the future for all of your New York City stays. Please feel free to contact me directly; we’ll do our best to offer you the best available rate and regain your confidence in us.



Regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Though the staff was friendly and helpful, the hallways, elevators, rooms, and especially the bathrooms are so uncomfortably tiny that I would not return to this hotel or recommend it. Also, many of the outlets were inconveniently located for charging devices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Dana F,

Thank you for taking your time to write us trip advisor review on the Mansfield Hotel. We appreciate all guest comments as they are crucial in us providing the best customer service possible. I am glad that the staff were helpful throughout your stay. I would like to invite you back and give you a complimentary upgrade based on availability to change your mind about the hotel. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Enjoyed my Stay at this small Hotel. I had a Queen Room and found it quite Spacious. Not sure if they have done something for the lighting--but I found it to be Great. Though I must Admit I have dimmer switches in every room of my house. Some lights are Flourescent and take some time to warm up.

The bathroom door is kind of narrow--so if you are a little bit broader you may have to go in sideways. My room had a Bay Window with a nice window Seat.

I got a Super Rate on TravelZoo and could not ask for a better Value for the Price.

Lobby Bar has does a Great Happy Hour Business. The small library has complimentary Expresso. There is always a nice Jar of Cold Water with Lemons at the Front Desk.

Both The Desk Staff and Housekeeping were very nice. Special notice to Chelsea and Steve at the Front Desk. Always Happy to Help.

The only thing I would question is the Tub Drainage was not very good--as has been mentioned on here before. But VERY Fast Hot Water.

If I got a similar rate in the future--would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The inside Courtroom Rooms are very Quiet--unless you require more Sunshine to your day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottsacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Scottsacto,

It makes me so glad to know that our room exceeded your expectation. Our team works really hard to make every guest feel special, and I’m thrilled to know that we accomplished this with you and your group of friends. I’ll make sure that the engineering department does a thorough check in the drains of all the bathrooms.

Warmest regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Mansfield is a beautiful boutique hotel in an excellent location for shopping on fifth avenue, visiting the famous New York Public library and then grabbing a sandwich in Bryant Park . Or venturing a few blocks to St. Patricks Cathedral or walking to Times Square! It is charming with marble stairs and a sweet library to relax in and a fantastic bar - The M Bar. The staff is excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Audrey D,

Thank you for leaving us a review on the Mansfield Hotel. It is indeed an oasis in the midtown area and we are truly pleased that you found our prime location and accommodations to be top notch. I am also happy that our staff was able to give you the best guest service experience possible. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in New York.

Warmest Regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#318 of 471 in New York City
1,885 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
1,895 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#348 of 471 in New York City
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#204 of 471 in New York City
1,607 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#357 of 471 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#349 of 471 in New York City
4,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing