We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in Midtown”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Boutique Hotel in Midtown”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great location 2 blocks from Time Square; Concierge very friendly & helpful; Rooms updated- clean and comfortable; lovely library area with wifi available - otherwise you have to pay. Fabulous coffee bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Carol B,

Thank you for leaving us a review on The Mansfield. We are glad that you enjoyed our prime location, it is definitely what makes our hotel a hidden gem. The various tourist sites and close proximity to transportation make it very easy to get around our city. I am glad that you also liked the hotel library and our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York City.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    644
    332
    163
    123
See reviews for
261
748
122
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I would have given this hotel a 4 star rating for so many reasons but the blood on the sheets and the fact that they say they can't find my left behind Kindle makes me rate this otherwise lovely hotel a 2 star.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Rachel V,

Mr. McInerney,

Thank you staying with us here at The Mansfield and for providing us feedback about your stay. I do apologize that there were issues that prevented you from having the best possible stay with us.
We pride ourselves on our guests having the best experience possible, and would welcome the opportunity to give you an experience that exceeds your expectations. Please contact my assistant Crystaline Ramos and she'll be more than happy to make your arrangements for a complimentary upgrade next time you're in New York. We look forward to seeing you in the near future and thank you once again for your feedback.
Please contact me with any additional comments or questions.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel in total is not bad. I gave it 3 stars the stuff helpful and freindly however the hotel is too small that include the size of the rooms , bathrooms , elevatours , the lobby. Also the color of the room made me uncomfortable. It is decent but the price that i paid was too high for that hotel



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Doaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Doaa A,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Mansfierld. We are sincerely sorry to hear that the visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem. I welcome the opportunity to reach out to myself directly , and sincerely hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us.



Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Overall an enjoyable one-night stay in Manhattan for dinner and a show. Our basic room had a window air conditioner, which was a bit noisy when running. Also, in-room wi-fi is $15, an exorbitant cost for basic internet access, which should be free, included in the room rate just like water and lights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RCharles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear RCharles3,

Thank you for taking your time and leaving us a review on the Mansfield Hotel. We take in account all comments as they are vidal in providing the best guest service possible. We look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time you are in New York.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Unique building with interestinghistory. Excellant service and atmosphere! The location was ideal with fantastic dining options within 1-2 blocks.
When back in NYC..we will make every effort to always stay at The Mansfield!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Bill B,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re delighted you chose to stay with us We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. If you chose to visit us again, check out our special packages for great deals. We’ll also point you towards our favorite places to drink and dine throughout Manhattan. We hope to see you both again in the future!



Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really nice hotel, walking distance to many attractions including Empire State Building, The Rockerfella building, central square, 5th Avenue. Lovely steak house across the road and really nice bar in the hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms work was going on so not a good view but did not spoil stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Mansfield and providing us with feedback following your stay. I'm very pleased that you loved the location. It's definitely one of the major features that make our hotel so special. The tourist attractions, major shops and various subways bring a great finishing touch. It brings me great pleasure that you were comfortable in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
LIsa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The mansfield was a decent hotel for the price located in the heart of midtown manhattan. If you need a nice hotel within the most expensive parts of town, I recommend using this one. The hotel is quite old but serves free coffee/cookies daily!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Eric M,

Thank you for the great review. We strive to provide attentive, friendly service at all times. We’re delighted you enjoyed our location. We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. If you chose to visit us again, check out our special packages for great deals. We’ll also point you towards our favorite places to drink and dine throughout Manhattan. We hope to see you both again in the future!

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#203 of 467 in New York City
1,407 reviews
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#312 of 467 in New York City
1,757 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#269 of 467 in New York City
4,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
2,210 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#78 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
City Club Hotel
City Club Hotel
#265 of 467 in New York City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing