We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian Oasis in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #44 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

For the past few years my husband and I have celebrated our Wedding Anniverary at The Michelangelo Hotel - 51st at the corner of 7th Avenue. If you wish to visit Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway theatre, fantastic restaurants, this hotel boasts a prime location. In addition, rather than feeling the hustle and bustle of 7th Avenue, immediately upon entering the beautiful, well-appointed lobby, one feels as if one might be in a lovely Italian City. The Itailan marble, sculptures, paintings....yes, it must be Italy! I travel to Italy as I lead my Weissman Teen Tour groups of students every summer and have stayed in Starhotels, of which the Michelangelo is a member, in several Italian destinations. Thus, when I learned that there was a Starhotel in NYC, I had to visit. I have been coming back ever since.

The service, although uneven at times, is generally very good and the Italian pastries and coffee served every morning is a wonderful Italian touch. The rooms that I have been in do need updating. They have been a bit dark-nothing that better lighting wouldn't take care of. Carpets need to be changed, TV's have been broken, but all in all, with a bit of sprucing up, this hotel has the potential to be magnificent.

Room Tip: More light facing the street-7th Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,480 - 2,486 of 3,685 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Everyone was very friendly,location was great. Lobby bar was great to relax and get away from the crowds.Room was clean and quiet!!! Bathroom had all the personal touches and great terry robe.Great place to stay..........

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINNY001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We spent an over night trip here many times. Truly enjoyed the stay. The Hotel speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you are searching for a nice, quiet atmosphere in mid town near the theater district, this hotel is fabulous! Large room, TV in dressing area/bathroom is fun. Nice robes, gorgeous marble bathroom, great towels. Complimentary coffee & pastries were very nice, although in the cellar. Only problem was the heat as it is in most hotels or apts in the NYC winter. ...had to turn on air conditioning, which made it comfortable. Felt very safe...alone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here on a business trip in January 2012. I found my room to be spacious, clean, quiet, and I LOVED the bathroom! Cool to have a small TV in there so I could check the weather/news as I was getting ready each morning...and having a fluffy bathrobe waiting for me was a real plus. I do agree with others who have reviewed this hotel with regards to their heating system. I finally had to turn on the air conditioning (it was running at the same time as the heat) to get the temp in my room below 70. And 66 degrees was as cool as I could get it. My room also had no view, but for me, that's the least important to me. I liked that the room was quiet, and this is why I prefer smaller hotels. I found the staff quite helpful. If you need coffee in the morning before the world wakes up, there's a Starbucks one block away. We ate quick breakfasts (breakfast sandwiches) at the deli next to the hotel because their eatery wasn't open as early as we needed to leave each day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nose4roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Perfect location, friendly and professional staff, large rooms, large bathrooms, lots of counter space! Overall very nice. However, like always in New York, it was impossible to get the room cooled down enough for comfortable sleeping.Complimentary coffee and tea were very good and a nice touch. The breakfast food pastries were not good, but Magnolia Bakery is just around the corner. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Having read some recent reviews which were not so great I can put those people that have booked this hotel minds at rest.

We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was fantastic, even had its own bar area.
The bathroom and massive bath, the huge room itself were almost spotless and to be honest, sure we didnt have an amazing view, but, who cares, Times Square is on the doorstep so go out! :)

I did have a couple of small issues, 1 being the mini bar wasnt working so i had it replaced, which was great as the next one had a freezer section.

The second issue is the maid service. Great at what they did, but so loud doing it! I couldnt see the point in having a do not disturb sign on the door if they are going to sing in Spanish, whistle and bang every door along your corridor. This was really the only negative thing I can say about our experience.

The bar, a bottle of Pinot cost almost $50.............. say no more lol

Overall I left this hotel and went to spend 2 nights at the Waldorf Astoria in a 1 bedroom suite. The constant noise of traffic at the Waldorf was so bad after 1 night we wished we had stayed where we were, at the wonderful Michelangelo.

p.s. Some people commented staff were not that friendly, surprises me a bit as we had no problems with staff on reception or at the bar. In fact helped us arrange things to do in the city................

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich5wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 470 in New York City
6,655 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#78 of 470 in New York City
3,605 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 470 in New York City
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £205 - £721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing