We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Oasis in the Middle of Midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #37 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Luxury Oasis in the Middle of Midtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Michelangelo is a small hotel located on 51st street in the bustling midtown west area of Manhatten. The hotel advertises itself as an Italian themed property but I found the room itself to be more styled in the mode of elegantly contemporary. The staff treated me with an upgrade to a suite upon check in. The room was very large for NYC standards, nicely appointed and very functional. Although my room was located right off the elevator, I heard no noise whatsoever. I arrived late on a Labor Day evening and decided to eat at the bar off the lobby and I found the food to be top notch. The Michelangelo offers a complimentary continental breakfast which was a tad disappointing as it consisted of merely coffee and small pastries.

Among the hustle and bustle of this part of Manhatten, I found the Michelangelo to be a luxury oasis and I would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,214
    828
    168
    61
    33
See reviews for
698
1,485
132
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel is fantastic!! We loved the great location, beautiful room/suite and could not believe how friendly and polite each and every staff person was. The turn-down service, complete with chocolates, at night was a wonderful bonus after a long day of sightseeing. The concierge, James, is a gem! Our only suggestions would be to offer free wi-fi in the rooms, have a coffee maker in the room, and offer fruit or juice along with the pastries/coffee continental breakfast. We highly recommend staying at the Michelangelo!!

Room Tip: We liked the rooms that faced south/west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Michelangelo is conveniently located on 51st street, sitting between Central Park & Times Square. It is a small boutique hotel and a nice departure from the larger chains. Priced reasonably, it includes "breakfast" which is simple pastries and coffee/tea. Not a full breakfast, but a nice perk.
Conveniently located just down the street are two small deli/cafe shops which were great for drinks, snacks and even a full meal at reasonable prices.
The rooms are large by New York standards. Great for couples with the toilet & shower enclosed and separate from the sink & bedroom. The room had a desk & two chairs. Not quite a suite, but two people could be comfortable without tripping over one another.
The rooms were clean and attended to twice daily. The staff was very polite and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a great hotel with an unbeatable location at 51st and 7th. Around one corner you are looking at Times Square, around the other is Radio City Music Hall. We had a Junior Suite, which was very large for NYC standards. It has all the amenities with the look and feel of a boutique hotel. While being surrounding by several busy streets, the interior was amazingly quiet and relaxed. The only negative, albeit a small one, is the maid service was very noisy each morning around 8:00 in the morning. Additional plus - there is a small market about 100 feet down 51st, which is good for drinks and snacks. Great "hole in the wall" Italian restaurant, Bella Napoli, two blocks due south from the hotel on 49th. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in the Theatre District.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtwogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very nice hotel for minivacation with my wife. Convenient location, rooms are very well appointed and convenient location. Good value for the quality of hotel. Friendly service.

Improvements: would be nice to have coffee in the room, and complimentary breakfast is a bit skimpy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pf2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a lovely small hotel. The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms are very convenient. There is no view but the flip side is a deliciously dark and quiet sleeping environment. Very comfortable bed. Great location for the theater district and subways. The staff was congenial and all requests were taken care of promptly.

Room Tip: The studio king is a good value as it is spacious and has a nice sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rgrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here for my first time in New York primarily because of the reviews, but was really disappointed. The 'executive' rooms we were given had just about zero daylight with the windows looking into some sort of service shaft. I wasn't expecting a window overlooking Times Square, but I would at least have liked to be in the room without having the lights permanently on and you could sort of tell h time of day without looking at the clock Great location and staff, but make sure you get confirmation tha you room is not at the back when booking, especially for the price.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing