We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good size rooms but starting to fade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are clean and well appointed with comfortable beds but as others have pointed out, things are starting to go around the edges. Overall it's a fine boutique hotel. There's no 'WOW' factor and there's no bar or cool resto to hang out at or invite people to meet you at but if you're only in town for a few days then this is a decent choice. Personally I prefer to go through Tablet for my new york stays in boutique hotels or go with chains such as Parker Meridien where you can get better value for money if you book ahead and take a promo rate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please feel free to reach out directly should you need any assistance. We would love for you to stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,580)
There are newer reviews for The Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 3,581 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

My wife and I travelled to NYC for a mini 4 day weekend break ! We loved the location which was so close and walking distance to Time Square and The Rockerfeller centre and 5th Avenue. The room was a good size and Bathroom clean and tidy ! The room was quiet and the service was excellent . The complimentary breakfast ( coffee,tea , muffins and croissant ) was good for Italian visitors ! We will definitely stay there again at this smaller boutique hotel !

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Watermelondreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for the review! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I have stayed at The Michelangelo at least 4 times for work in the past year. Each time, I've been pleased with the size of my room, the bed, the towels, bath and the overall location of the hotel. It's close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and shopping.

On the flip side, however, I have had a few issues. First, I had virtually no cell service at all in my room this week. This probably had to do with the fact that I had a view of a brick wall. (Meanwhile, my boss who checked in at the exact same time directly beside me, was told that they had given him a lovely 7th Ave view room. Ummm... I'm pretty sure that we were paying the same amount for the room.)

Anyway, I also had one room (the first time I stayed here) that was terribly loud with what sounded like carts being rolled across the floor above. (Maybe I was below the laundry??) I've not had that problem since, but still it was an issue. If I do again, I will ask to move.

The staff is hit or miss. Most everyone has been fairly helpful. However, when I called downstairs to tell them the iron in my room was broken, I received a fairly condescending description of how to use an iron. I even humored the guy by trying again, but ended up having to call downstairs again before I ruined any of my suits. Thankfully, a lady picked up and sent a new iron up right away.

Overall, I do recommend this hotel. Don't expect perfection and you'll be fine. The location and room size alone make the hotel worth staying in, but try to find a deal on the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not look out to a brick wall.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyskiesabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take these reviews seriously and will share your feedback with our team. We would love for you to come back soon and experience the seamless experience we know the Michelangelo can deliver. Please feel free to reach out directly to reservations@michelangelohotel.com so we can help plan your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this Hotel and could not fault it apart from the expensive drinks at the bar. We had a deal through Secret Escapes and the rooms and ambiance were really well presented although no real view but what do you expect in a very large city. The room we had was a great size and plenty of room for the two of us and very clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly and always happy to do what they could for you. We had pastries, tea and coffee included into the price for breakfast which is a real bonus and set you up for the morning until lunch. In a previous review we had read that the pastries where never replenished but we saw them being topped up most mornings of our stay with fresh ones. The location of this hotel is just the best, right in the heart of Midtown very near to all the theaters and literally just around the corner from Times Square. There are loads of places to eat and drink nearby from affordable to expensive which again is a bonus! Perfect Hotel for a stay in New York and easy access to many locations and attractions. Even a chill out in Central Park!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DizzyDi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you very much for the very nice review! We look forward to helping you plan your next trip and visit to Michelangelo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Very convenient for theater district, shopping and other attractions. Facility and rooms were clean and spacious, but I would not recommend interior room due to lack of outside light. Lobby restaurant serves a nice selection of breakfast items and fresh coffee and pastries are served on the lower level each morning. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Also attended a catered evening function that was well done

Room Tip: Request exterior room when booking.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 772grgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for the very nice review and for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We have stayed five times at the Michelangelo and would never consider another hotel. The Michelangelo's perfect location, excellent staff, and large luxurious rooms keep us coming back time and time again. It has the perfect contrast between the hyper stimulation of the City and the relaxed, elegant, peaceful feel of the hotel. Wonderful place to come back to after a busy day.
For the best experience ask for an exterior room. Interior rooms are dark and have no view. Also ask for a room on the upper floors to mitigate street noise. They do have a continental breakfast included with the room although it only amounts to pastries, coffee, and tea. There is a prepared food store a few steps down the street from the hotel entrance for low cost snacks and food.

Room Tip: Upper floor exterior room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJLERC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel had no view what so ever, you just see wall from your windows.
room was small.
furnitures in the room was classy or more like outdated? i am not sure what to call it.
the lobby area have same theme, classic .
recommended for people who are not looking for typical modern room/hotel.
location was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Owner at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for the review. We would love to see you again. Please let us know prior to your next stay and we will give you a room with a view of 7th Ave or 51st Street. Please note a lot of our guests prefer the courtyard view which tend to be a little quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,808 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,900 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £228 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing