We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in NYC!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #38 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best hotel in NYC!!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June 2012 for 5 nights during our 3 weeks honeymoon in the USA and we both loved the hotel!!

The location cannot get any better!! It is around 5-10 mins from Times square and Broadway in one direction and 5-10 mins walk from Rockefeller Centre and 5th Avenue in another direction. It was also easy walk to Central Park ( 15 mins) and Empire State building is about 15-20 mins walk away!

The hotels looks stunning inside - I absolutely loved the neoclassical style in public areas as well as rooms. I think that Michelangelo is one of my favourite hotels ever - the rooms were just beautiful - very elegant with spacious and sparkling clean bathroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable ones I have ever slept in!! The service was also excellent!!! The first night I felt really cold as I was a bit ill and after a short phone call, somebody brought me a small heater within 5 mins. The concierge and reception were also very helpful in giving us directions and advice where is the best to buy Broadway tickets etc. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as there were plenty other options to have tasty meal just outside of the hotel. (+24 hour Wallgreens with frozen yoghurt was around 5 mins walk away)

We did not try the gym in the hotel but I have used an access (for a fee) to nearby athletic club (2 mins walk) where I enjoyed swimming pool and sauna. (just a note - the pool is not too great for not very good swimmers...)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and when we visit in New York again, Michelangelo will be our ultimate choice!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Veronika for the fabulous review! We really appreciate the time you took to share your experience with others. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,290
    861
    175
    63
    33
See reviews for
730
1,530
136
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and comfortable. Marble bathroom is attractive and functional. Staff is amazingly friendly, welcoming and helpful. Location is convent to theaters, Radio City, Lincoln Center, 5th Ave.shopping and so much more. Complementary continental breakfast tastefully provided. What's not to
like?

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RShereff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond va.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We recently visited and were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was spacious,clean, quiet with a great location. Bathroom, bedding, pillows all first rate. Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was included in rate and was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snillor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have stayed at the Michelangelo several times. I love that it is close to the theatres, restaurants and yet on a relatively quiet street. I can walk to my meetings. Everyone calls me by name. I feel safe and comfortable. The rooms are larger than most NY rooms, linens are super and staff is helpful.

Room Tip: I have stayed in two bedroom suites, standard rooms and jr suites. All have been comfortable and wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper75205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for the nice review and thank you for being such a loyal guest!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was ranked number 2 in NYC when we went - I'm not surprised it has dropped way down the list. Our stay was good but NYC at Christmas - nothing special.

We turned up about half an hour before check-in only to be told our rooms wouldn't be ready for an hour or so and there were no other rooms available as everyone else had checked in before us - found that a bit hard to believe as we have a limo straight from the airport to the hotel booked. The concierge wasn't very friendly either but I guess that is NYC!

There are not tea or coffee making facilities in the room (not whilst we were there so it may have changed since last year).

The Plus - location...central to everything...right at the heart of Times Square. The bed was premium! Great sleep!

The Cons - not really many extra's...no free wifi..no in room tea/coffee making facilities.

Overall, best thing this has going for it is location and the beds are great...just don't expect any freebies as you are really paying for location.

Room Tip: Quite close to the ball drop for New Years - Central to pretty much everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your review and the feedback you provided. We appologize if you did not have a seamless stay. We appreciate your business and would be very happy for you to give us another try. We have coffee makers available for all rooms upon request and would make sure your room was set up with one. Please feel free to contacts us directly for any future needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
579 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Michelangelo is about average for NYC. The rooms are nice and fairly spaceous for NYC. Maintenance is good, but shows some wear. The lobby and lounge are a bit cramped and not very comfortable. The location is convenient and service attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for the review and your feedback. We have some new modern design rooms we are sure you would enjoy. Please feel free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com. We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bærums Verk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I had a two room suite at this hotel. Small bathroom even if their internet pages say something else, we had to ask for slippers, nobody offered a newspaper, we had to ask for a key to the minibar. The concierge arranged booking of a helicopter trip for us, which is his job, but we obviously should have tipped him. We are however not used to do that in Europe. When we were going to the airport we asked if he could book us a car, but he just answered that we could take a taxi, "that would be cheaper". The barmaid did not have time to take any orders, she was busy searching the internet. We'll stick to London, have already booked the next trip to the Grosvenor House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneB_rumsVerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Hello Anne,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and providing us with your feedback. We apologize for any challenges you had during your stay. Our goal is for all guests to have a flawless experience. We would love to welcome you back and prove to you that the Michelangelo provides the best service in NYC. Please reach out to us directly prior to your visit to New York so we can do just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,709 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,238 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
1,532 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing